2007ish Rockhopper driveline issues

Tagged: ,

Viewing 9 reply threads
  • Author

Hello everyone, I’m a total noob when it comes to MTBs. I have a 2007ish model year Specialized Rockhopper that I’ve never properly maintained. As you might guess, 5 years with little to no maintenance has left its toll on the poor old bike. The biggest issue I have right now seems to be the rear hub/casette.

Here is the background story on the bike:
      The old chain was rusty and stretched about 1/8" per foot and the front Deore derailleur cage was a little bent and also misadjusted. I ended up mashing the cage when the chain sucked into the it and destroyed any remnants of the original cage geometry.

I went to the bike store and got the following replacement parts:
      Shimano Alivio M412 front derailleur $20
      WTB Moto 26×2.1 tire $35
      SRAM PC 951 9spd chain $23

Anyway, managed to install all of these parts and unloaded the driveline shifts great. However, the chain will skip under heavy load. Do you all think that this could be due to my chainrings being worn out with the old chain? Here are some pics of the chainrings:

I think I also damaged the rear hub. I don’t know if the bearings are adjustable or not, but I never did either way. The whole assembly wobbles quite a bit as you can see in the following video:

One more thing: a while ago I tried "truing" the wheel with no tools other than a spoke wrench and at some point after, I lost a spoke. This was over a year ago. considering the hub damage, should I replace the whole wheel?

In summary I have a:
      -Wobbly hub
      -Worn casette?
      -missing spoke
      -bent wheel (it’s not too bad)

So what should I do? Replace the wheel and or hub and or casette? Replace the bike? I do enjoy DIYing my stuff, are these repairs feasible for a DIYer with a few borrowed tools?

TIA!