120 psi with 20% sag…more like 50%

Forums Mountain Bike Forum 120 psi with 20% sag…more like 50%

--
SHARES

This topic contains 4 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  Brian87 2 years, 5 months ago.

• Author

Ok so I was corrected in my previous post about not educating myself on proper air pressure in my Fox Rythym and amount of sag.    Last night I did a lot of research and was all eager to set up my new bike.   I will mention again that I am just learning the FS ins and outs, coming from a coil fork hard tail.

After about an hour I discovered that with the guidelines posted on Fox website I’m nowhere near the amount of sag I should be.  They say that at my weight 180-190 lbs, I should be at 86 psi.   But at that psi I’m at 50% sag at least.

“Setting Fork Air Pressure

32 FLOAT maximum air pressure is 140psi/ 9.6 bar
    34 FLOAT and Rhythm maximum pressure is 120psi/ 8.3 bar
    32/34 TALAS maximum pressure is 200psi/ 13.8 bar”

And at their max posted psi, which is 120 psi, I almost bottom out the fork when I sit on the bike.

My LBS is no help as the kid told me that the max psi for the fork is 210 psi, but I have no idea where he got that number from.

Am I missing something?   Is my LBS guy right?