100 Km race to much for me??

Tagged: 

Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author

Hey everyone! Im looking for some advice from racers who are more expirienced than I am. To begin, I have never been in a bike race of any sort. I have been riding alone daily for the past 4-5 months, and ive worked up to do 60-200 miles a week depending on how I feel and where im riding. The most ive done at one time was 88 miles and much of that was on road. I can honestly say im in the best shape ive been in in years and its great…. I have been thinking all season about entering a 100 km race. I am probably 70% ready to sign up for it (its on the 22nd), however im terrified of getting in over my head here and spending the $100 for an entry fee. The long miles dont really bother me, more the uncertainty of the one continuous trail the race follows.
      My question is… is it normal to have this fear on my first race, should I be nervous about this? When do you know if you’re ready for a marathon race? Im really on the fence about this but im thinking it may be my fear getting the best of me and maybe I should just do it. Can anyone give me some "race ready" advise here??

You are ready for 100K if you have ridden 88 miles….even if mostly on the road.

Pick your event carefully. I may not pick ORAMM if I were you, but the Sumter Metric Century near where I live is perfect for your first endurance event.

I am doing it (SMC) and the Fool’s Gold 50. And the furthest I’ve ridden in a while is about 30ish miles. Gonna try to do 45ish this weekend and the FG 50 on the 21st.

The most I rode before my first off road 100 miler was a 100K. I wondered where I’d find the ability to ride the other 37 miles in the event, but did.

All that said, I’ve been at this since about 1991 or so.

A friend of mine’s first race was the SM 100 about 8 years ago. He finished. Said it was harder than Ironman in HI – which he also finished.