Reply To: With so many great options on the market how is one to decide?

There are literally a 100 or more bikes you’d be stoked to have as your new ride.  The technology, suspension and refined nature of the parts hanging off the frames these days is nothing short of amazing.  I work in the cycling industry and ride a lot of bikes(both medium and high end mtb’s) and am stunned with how well so many different bike models and brands ride!  First and foremost the bike needs to fit you well, this would be my top priority.  As for demo’s, go to the various brand websites and facebook pages.  There you’ll find information on upcoming demos.  You’re likely looking at Spring before you find one to participate in though.  Some brands partner with their dealers for test rides, while others are active in regional demo events where lots of brands demo all at once.

Sounds like you like the 29er platform and based on your other comments its a good fit for your local riding scene and style.  29ers are having a bit of resurgence in that they are being built to handle a wide range of terrain(shorter chainstays, slacker head angles, longer toptubes, longer travel, etc) and riding styles.  This is not an endorsement or recommendation, but personally I’m having a blast on the 27.5+ platform.  Ton’s of traction both up and downhill with the ability to run insanely low tire pressure makes a 135mm travel frame feel bottomless when set up correctly.  Yes, they wheels and tires are a bit more sluggish than a narrower or smaller profile 29er but the fun factor goes up exponentially for my riding style and local terrain(live in Reno, NV and ride Lake Tahoe/Downieville trail systems with big climbs and big descents).  I agree that the $3-4k MSRP price point is the sweet spot for the best frames with decent enough components to enjoy the trail(think carbon frame with SRAM GX or Shimano SLX)