Kenda Nevegal John Tomac Signature Series Tire Review

--
SHARES
  
AVERAGE RATING
*****
4.50 out of 5
WHERE TO BUY    MSRP: $40
Loading...
Rider Questions
 

0

Q: how to inflate tire -Guest

No answers yet.

Answer

 
Member Bikes
 
Builder
4 bikes
 
  Guest
on Jul 28, 2019
  Guest
on Apr 24, 2019
  Guest
on Jan 16, 2019
on May 2, 2016
 
Top Rated Gear From Kenda
Kenda Excavator DTC Tire
Kenda Tinker Juarez Dred Tread Tires
Kenda Downhill Tube
Kenda Nevegal
Kenda Kenda Karma
Kenda Kenda stick-e 2.35
Kenda Slant Six Dtc-Ust Folding
Kenda Telonix
 


May 24, 2019
 
Model/Year: 2015 27.5 folding, Tomac series

Pros: Grip in climbs, grip in turns, grip on roots and rocks, mud handling, dirt handling, dry or wet traction. Bomb proof--long lasting and never flats.

Cons: Heavy. Poor rolling resistance. Slow as heck on pavement.

Recommendation: What a great tire! This was my first true set of MTB tires, and these Nevegals were awesome, as I learned how to get through obstacles and have fun. A novice needs good traction to get through stuff that a better rider can cruise through. These tires provide crazy good traction. And a novice doesn't want to stop for flats... these never flat, no matter how much I abused them in the rocks--no cuts, no holes, no pinch flats. And I was using them with tubes. You can't race on these, b/c they're too slow, but if you're looking for a fun ride, these are great.





September 16, 2014
 
Model/Year: 2013 Kenda Nevegal DTC John Tomac 26x2.1

Pros: Good grip
Wet traction

Cons: Heavy
Rolling resistance
Tread wears quickly on pavement
Needs 40psi

Recommendation: I would recommend this tire for all off road use. The tire grips well but needs 40 psi for good handling and pinch flat protection. If you would like a slower wearing tire, try the Kenda Kinetics.





December 31, 2013
 
Model/Year: 2012, 26, 2.1 DTC

Pros: GRIP!!! These things grab, on to everything roots, rocks, mud, dirt, all of it. Really gives you the confidence to go aggressive. Good price point.

Cons: High Rolling resistance, Heavy, no tubeless version that isn't UST (way too heavy). If you ride on sharper edges rocks often the out knobs tend to rip off the tire. This took time to occur but it is a known issue with nevegals.

Recommendation: Recommended for the aggressive rider who doesn't mind the additional weight and resistance. When I rode them the grip made up for the heavy/resistance. I wonder if the new Nevegal xpros will keep the strong grip while dropping the weight/resistance.





December 22, 2012
 
Model/Year: downhill version

Pros: -Moto inspired tread grabs onto anything you put under it
-Deep tread
-Heavy duty

Cons: -Heavy
-High rolling resistance

Recommendation: I've used the DH version of this tire on my SX and it is one beast of a tire. The tread is deep and it grabs onto everything. It leaves monster truck ruts if the ground is even remotely wet. Love it.



Kenda Nevegal John Tomac Signature Series 4.50 out of 5 based on 4 ratings. 4 user reviews.