ZOIC Ether Short / Pant Review

--
SHARES
  
AVERAGE RATING
****
4.18 out of 5
WHERE TO BUY    MSRP: $60
Loading...
By Corey Maddocks    on Jan 23, 2015

0 SHARES | 0 COMMENTS
By Jeff Barber    on Aug 8, 2016

0 SHARES | 5 COMMENTS
By Matt Miller    on Aug 19, 2019

37 SHARES | 7 COMMENTS
Rider Questions
 
Members' Gear
 
Owner
owners
Top Rated Gear From ZOIC
ZOIC Tradesman Flannel Riding Shirt
ZOIC Milos
Women's Navaeh 7 Shorts
ZOIC Arm in Arm
ZOIC All Night Long (Women's)
ZOIC Cheeky Jersey
Zoic Valhalla Hoodie
ZOIC Downtown Jacket
 


December 2, 2018
 
Model/Year: 2017

Pros: light weight, flexible, tons of great storage

Cons: zipper seems weak

Recommendation: great shorts for the price. love almost everything about them





October 21, 2017
 
Model/Year: 2017

Pros: Very comfortable material, great movement, shorts don't get caught on saddle when getting up off it. I like the adjustable elastic sides for a perfect fit.

Cons: chamois is of mid range quality. It would be nice to have a little more pad and more durable construction.

Recommendation: Buy at REI just in case you have any problems with manufacturing and you can exchange them.





March 20, 2016
 
Model/Year: 2015

Pros: Stylish, comfortable...shorts only...not the chamois

Cons: Chamois that is included....and can be removed....just sucks. They are thin and the stiching has started to unravel one one of mine.

Recommendation: I would recommend these...very similar to Fox shorts but get a decent set of chamois because the ones that come with these are terrible.





March 14, 2016
 
Model/Year: 2015

Pros: Comfy, Durable, Stylish, Storage.

Cons: None

Recommendation: Tried these shorts after owning a few pairs of Fox, Specialized, and other brands. I like them so much, I ended up getting 4 pair. The Ether Camo pattern shorts seem to be a little thicker than the Plaid or the solid color shorts, so I use them when it's a little cooler or in the rain. The shorts shed water all day. Easy to clean and the removable liners are the most comfortable and protective I've used. The velcro side-adjuster tabs are nice and do not hinder movement, and the elastic waistband in the back allows for ease of movement. The pockets are great, and the right side cargo pocket is perfect for a folded map for ease of access. I'm 5'8", and the 12" inseam is perfectly comfortable with knee pads. These shorts don't get caught on my knees like the Fox shorts. They've held up perfectly for over 300 miles of riding and look brand new out of the wash. I highly recommend these shorts, and they are worth the price.





November 8, 2014
 
Model/Year: Ether/2014

Pros: Good look, fit. Detachable liner.

Cons: Pricey. Look for sales. ZOIC has 50% sales annually. Performance cycle also has in store clearance sales.

Recommendation: Buy. My favorite MTBing short.





December 17, 2013
 
Model/Year: 2013

Pros: Fits great. Looks good. Moves well. Great pockets.

Cons: Chamois is mediocre. Construction is mediocre. Price.

Recommendation: Yes, if you buy them from REI. I have 5-6 pairs, and bout half of them have had bad stitching that tool 3-4 washes to become obvious - you can swap them at rei. The chamois is mediocre, and I wish they'd sell them without it. Other than that, they look good, allow good movement, provide good protection, and have the pockets I really need.





December 12, 2013
 
Model/Year: 2013

Pros: Very comfortable, feel like regular cargo shorts
Good length
Well placed pockets
Chamois is included

Cons: None

Recommendation: These are a great pair of shorts, for a great price. I bought myself a second pair, and got my daughter the women's version.





December 22, 2012
 
Pros: -chamois is the best thing on the planet
-comfortable

Cons: -too short

Recommendation: You can move around comfortably in them if you don't mind the shortness. In my opinion, the chamois alone is worth the purchase.





January 7, 2012
 
Pros: Comfortable, stylish, durable, pockets, nice chamois

Cons: Nothing so far

Recommendation: Price was $74 at REI. I used a gift card which softened the blow otherwise I might not have purchased. Glad I did. Nice short.





July 31, 2011
 
Pros: comfy, plenty of pockets and padding is great

Recommendation: great short would love it if they were maybe $10 cheaper