Crank Brothers Eggbeater sl Pedals Review

--
SHARES
  
AVERAGE RATING
*****
4.64 out of 5
WHERE TO BUY    MSRP: $120
Loading...
Weight: 266 grams
Rider Questions
 
Members' Gear
 
Owner
owners
Top Rated Gear From Crank Brothers
Crank Brothers 5050 xx
Crank Brothers multi-19 tool
Crank Brothers Multi-17
Crank Brothers Eggbeater c
Crank Brothers Stamp
Crank Brothers Cobalt Bars
Crank Brothers Smarty Pedals
Crank Brothers Candy 2
 


December 12, 2012
 
Model/Year: 2008 sl

Pros: Easy to get in and out of. Relatively easy to grease up and rebuild if needed.

Cons: No platform to hold weight of your body and the wings are open to rock strikes.

Recommendation: A good pedal if you aren't smashing your way down trails. Step up to the candys if you are doing rough technical riding.





December 11, 2012
 
Pros: Lightweight
Good feel when clipped in

Cons: Hard at times to clip in

Recommendation: I've used egg beaters for years. They are lightweight but strong. I just sometimes have trouble clipping in b/c they are so small. No platform to help guide you. But if I wanted a platform, I'd get a different kind of pedal! Ha





January 5, 2011
 
Pros: Lightweight and easy engagement every time.

Cons: No platform whatsoever. Clip tension isn't adjustable and out of the box the tension is a little weaker than I'd like.

Recommendation: Classic design that's elegant in its simplicity.





December 10, 2010
 
Pros: Grease fitting is a genius idea. Easily rebuildable with the crankbros kit. Fair amount of float so it's easy on the knees.

Cons: It eats carbon soles.
Brass Cleats wear down quickly.
Some play in the wings after many seasons of use.
One customer complained of a broken spindle.

Recommendation: My personal go-to pedal in all conditions due to ease of clipping in and out and debris shedding ability.





December 1, 2010
 
Pros: Clipping in and out seems very intuitive.
They will NOT release by pulling straight up, you must twist your foot.
It makes mud and dirt a non-issue.
Noticeably stronger than the C version.

Cons: If you miss clipping in, your foot slides right off.
They will NOT release by pulling straight up, you must twist your foot.
Can eat into the bottom of some shoes.

Recommendation: I switched to these from SPD's and I will never go back.
They are easy to clip in and out of, they are impervious to mud and other debris and they are easy to service.

I run them on my mountain bike and my commuter bike.





August 31, 2010
 
Pros: Easiest in/out clipless pedal I've tried (after only a couple rides). Seem real tough; yet to hit any serious pedal bang obstacles so we'll see.

Cons: Great looks, what's not to like.

Recommendation: If you ride alot of uphill these pedals are light and will make your pedal strokes feel considerably easier (than w/ Shimano SPD's)!





June 6, 2010
 
Pros: easiest pedal I have found to clip in/out. Great for wet, muddy rides.

Cons: Slammed into a rock and bent one of the pedals. Had to ride with one pedal 8 miles back to trailhead.

Recommendation: Great pedal system. Easy to use, clip in/out. But fragile depending on the trails you ride.





June 3, 2010
 
Pros: light. easy clip in/out, semi-adjustable, 2 year warranty, great mud shedding

Cons: none yet

Recommendation: would recommend this pedal system to anyone. Its my first clipless system and I have had no fear of not being able to unclip. Also as one site put it "sheds mud like a wet dog on a new carpet"





May 17, 2009
 
Pros: Great clip in/out mech. Light. Rebuildable. Semi-adjustable. 2 year warranty. Much looser floating feel when clipped in.

Cons: Can be fragile with rock strikes. Wish the superlight Ti4 version could handle people over 180lbs. Can be expensive.

Recommendation: A fantastic XC pedal whose only flaw is the durability of "wings" on rock strikes and the inability to totally adjust the release tension. Still, much easier to get in and out of than my Shimano 520s. Clears mud like a champ. Note: don't cheap out and buy the MXR or C versions of this pedal. The material that the wings are made out of seems to have a much higher failure rate that the SLs and higher models. Luckily, Crank Brothers has a 2 year warranty on these pedals and they are VERY good about backing it up.





November 18, 2008
 
Pros: light, loose float, but secure

Cons: Have blown bearing out of four of the early sets. They gave a new set everytime, though

Recommendation: All good! have them on all five bikes



Crank Brothers Eggbeater sl 4.64 out of 5 based on 14 ratings. 14 user reviews.