Cannondale Beast of the East Mountain Bike Review

--
SHARES
  
AVERAGE RATING
*****
4.50 out of 5
WHERE TO BUY    MSRP: $?
Loading...
I Want One  
Rider Questions
 

0

Q: can i put a reg. mtn. bike 27.5 rim and tire on this frame.. that gives me a option depending on the terrian -Guest

A: probably could but 2 things: 1- it would need to be boost hub spacing and 2- it would probably lower your BB height. I wouldn't, I would just rock a higher PSI on the Trailblazer 2.8's that come stock if you're riding pavement or something easy going. Otherwise I ride a WTB Ranger 3.0 on the rear and a Surly Dirt Wizard 3.0 on the front.

Mateo Juez answered on February 14, 2017. Did you find this helpful? Yes | No

Answer

 
+ View more questions and answers
Member Bikes
 
Builder
34 bikes
 
on Oct 18, 2018
on Oct 9, 2018
on Sep 16, 2018
on Mar 15, 2018
on Feb 16, 2018
 
Top Rated Gear From Cannondale
Cannondale F29 6
Cannondale Judge 1
Cannondale Scalpel 29er 3
Cannondale RZ 120-1
Cannondale Grind Sock
Cannondale Scalpel
Cannondale Rush 29 1
Cannondale Rush Carbon 2
 


December 14, 2016
 
Model/Year: 2016

Pros: Tons of fun, plus tires are a blast on a hardtail. Also a great bike to learn to ride on. The big tires are very forgiving and allow a new rider to make some mistakes without consequence. Smart component spec at a good price.

Cons: I thought the stock stem was a little long on large and xl frames, not a big deal though and this will probably differ for every rider.

Recommendation: If you're looking to get into MTB, or are looking for a bike that can put a smile on your face without breaking the bank, you could do a lot worse than the Beast of the East. It's definitely worth springing for component spec 2 over the 3, in my opinion. Gets you a set WTB Bridger 3.0 tires over the Trail Blazer 2.8s, Rockshox Reba fork, Deore brakes, and a SRAM GX 1x11 drivetrain. Probably worth it for the drivetrain alone as that extra gear is definitely helpful on steep climbs where you begin to feel the increased resistance of those plus-sized tires.

ReplyWas this helpful? Yes | No




March 20, 2016
 
Pros: Good pricing, solid 27 bike. Decent front suspension, good brakes and okay shifting.

Cons: Tires and grips. The tires slid out a few times when I was riding on packed snow, other than that, not bad. Felt a little bulky, especially for a 27.5 tire, rode similar to my Framed fat bike.

Recommendation: Solid bike, recommended based on cheaper pricing. Can easily get a good upgrade by just swapping out tires plus some ergo grips.

ReplyWas this helpful? Yes | No


Cannondale Beast of the East 4.50 out of 5 based on 2 ratings. 2 user reviews.