Bontrager RL Mountain Mountain Bike Shoe Review

--
SHARES
  
AVERAGE RATING
****
4.31 out of 5
WHERE TO BUY    MSRP: $140
Loading...
Rider Questions
 
Members' Gear
 
Owner
owners
Product Options (5)
Bontrager Race Mountain
Bontrager Bontrager Race Lite MTB
Bontrager Bontrager Race Lite TLR Disc 15Q 29" front
Bontrager Bontrager Race Lite TLR Disc 142 Boost 29" rear
Bontrager Bontrager Race Lite
 


October 8, 2016
 
Model/Year: 2013

Pros: Had these shoes for years. They are light, breathable, and durable. Very good.

Cons: Freezing in winter. Can mildew if left wet for a night.

Recommendation: Very good beginning clip shoes.





March 17, 2016
 
Model/Year: 2014

Pros: Look awesome, great ratchet, great durability

Cons: Not super stiff

Recommendation: These aren't as big an upgrade as they should be, but they perform really well and don't let down in any respect





December 28, 2015
 
Model/Year: 2012

Pros: Secures good
Weight
Looks

Cons: Runs a little big.

Recommendation: Yes





April 28, 2014
 
Model/Year: 2012

Pros: Tightening features

Cons: Durability

Recommendation: Shoes are great. I wish they would hold up a little more considering the price but in the end I would buy the same shoes again without hesitating.





December 12, 2013
 
Model/Year: 2013

Pros: lightweight, style, comfortable

Cons: n/a - had the 2012 RXLs and they were very rough inside the heel - they ripped my feet apart in hike a bike sections.

Recommendation: I use them with egg beaters





December 17, 2012
 
Pros: -They look cool

Cons: -Super hard plastic shoe body hurts my ankles and rubs the skin raw if I have to do any amount of hiking
-The sole separated from the upper shoe body and I had to shoe goo them together after less than a year of use
-Way too pricey to be falling apart like that

Recommendation: I ended up hating clipless after riding egg beaters for 3 months and these shoes had a lot to do with that. After breaking a chain, I had to walk out 2 miles. I have scars on the back of my ankles from these shoes rubbing my skin raw and causing blisters. No bueno.





December 12, 2012
 
Model/Year: 2010

Pros: Tread is softer than others
Great cleat placements
Adjustable insoles
Mine have carbon sole
Stiff Comfortable

Cons: Price, but you get what you pay for.

Recommendation: These shoes are stiff and comfortable. Also, hiking in them is bearable when necessary. The key to a nice pair of shoes is a ratcheting mechanism to allow you to really tighten down the strap on your foot and these shoes have them. When making these shoes, I think they thought of everything with these shoes. Not the most expensive, adjustable insoles, and a bit under the strap you read every time you put them on. "Always Lead-Never Follow"





June 13, 2011
 
Pros: They are stiff and pretty light they breathe very good so they are not super hot to ride in these florida summers

Recommendation: I would recomend these shoes





April 22, 2011
 
Pros: Decent price, Look nice, walkable when hike-a-bike needed solid, comfortable snug fit.

Cons: None so far - shoes have tracking for hike-a biking, but pretty clacky if you walk anywhere regular-like.

Recommendation: New to the clipless pedals, but got comfortable very quickly with these. Can definitely feel the difference power. Great shoes- comfortable at a good price





March 31, 2011
 
Model/Year: 2011

Pros: They look and eel quality, decent price, great buckle system, feels secure

Cons: None so far

Recommendation: Great shoe for the price!



Bontrager RL Mountain 4.31 out of 5 based on 14 ratings. 14 user reviews.