Osprey Raptor 6 Hydration Review

--
SHARES
  
AVERAGE RATING
*****
4.54 out of 5
WHERE TO BUY    MSRP: $79
Loading...
By Jeff Barber    on Mar 23, 2010

0 SHARES | 13 COMMENTS
By Corey Maddocks    on Jul 4, 2014

31 SHARES | 2 COMMENTS
Rider Questions
 
Members' Gear
 
Owner
owners
Product Options (1)
Osprey Raptor 14
 


July 16, 2018
 
Model/Year: 2018

Pros: Plenty of space, pockets and ventilation. Will make for a great day hike pack too!

Cons: Pricey, limited color options

Recommendation: This is a great riding pack. It is narrow and compresses well. The magnetic bite valve holder is pure genius and works well. Pockets, layout and the tool kit pouch are awesome. Ventilation is better than most and the pack doesn't move around when you're hustling over rough terrain. In fact, you almost forget it's on you back until you need some of its contents. The Raptor 14 is available in blue, black and red. It would be nice to have some earth tone color choices too. This baby is awesome, but it is a bit pricey at $140. By linking from a discount links site to Amazon, I was able to cheat their algorithms and pick the "bait" color that was $105. Other than some similar stroke of good fortune, good luck finding one at a discount.





February 25, 2018
 
Model/Year: 2018

Pros: Pockets everywhere! Tool pouch Compression straps Waist belt pockets Padded phone / glasses storage Load doesn't shift while riding Plenty of storage for day long rides Well made Obviously designed by riders

Cons: Magnet a little weak No cover for bite valve

Recommendation: I ride Colorado Rockies often and you need rain layer and supplies for most repairs out there. This pack is plenty big for all day riding. Keep finding pockets I didn't know existed! This thing truly allows you to put ten pounds of s@$t in a five pound bag. Love how there are 4 cinch straps to compress the whole bag down after its packed, really prevents any movement while riding





March 15, 2016
 
Model/Year: 2014

Pros: Semi rigid bladder, hip belt, lots of pockets, magnet to hold straw

Cons: Magnet could be stronger, straw not so easy to clean as camelback

Recommendation: I'd buy it again





December 23, 2015
 
Model/Year: 2015

Pros: Lightweight, pockets & compartments.
Stays in place, can reach behind while riding and access main compartment. Phone in waist pocket, pack just works!

Cons: Not one yet, I am used to heavy cordura for everyday carry, so it seems way too light. One season of riding, about 1500 miles so far so good!





September 5, 2015
 
Model/Year: 2013

Pros: Awesome bag I love it the new models have a tool pocket on the bottom that organizes all you co2 levels pumps and tires. good ventilation.

Cons: load adjusters don't really have much affect.

Recommendation: Great riding bag recommended it to all my friends I would but the 13 instead tough if i had a choice





August 18, 2015
 
Model/Year: 2015

Pros: you can stuff more in this bag then u want to carry on your back. does great on short rides or for an overnighter.

Cons: So far there is non

Recommendation: I Love this bag.





December 22, 2014
 
Model/Year: Raptor Series

Pros: Osprey Quality
Features
Durability
Great looks
Well thought out design

Cons: None

Recommendation: I do not own one of these, but my experience with owning multiple Osprey hiking packs makes me feel qualified to comment. I have a MULE pack that is great. I've had it for years and it does it's job well enough. But, I am a HUGE fan of Osprey and their great warranty. Here's how it works....you buy one of their items. In the slim chance you ever have an issue. You call or email them and tell them about it. They will go out of their way to make it right for you. Their stuff isn't cheap, but it's the best quality that you can get. Mostly made in USA. This will be my next hydro pack...just not sure on the size yet. I have seen them in person and played with them and looked at every nook and cranny and they're very well thought out. Storage for everything...the external helmet clips are really cool.





December 15, 2014
 
Model/Year: Raptor 14/ 2014

Pros: Great size for 2 hr rides
Highly compressible for shorter rides
You'll never want for more pockets and places to stash stuff
Tool organizer that rolls up into pack and detaches if needed
Hip belt pockets for on-the-bike access
Bladder has "spine" to prevent sag when volume depletes
Magnetic bite valve
Helmet clip device

Cons: Hard to come up with any

Recommendation: Highly recommended for epic backcountry and cold rides when extra gear needed. Also great for shorter rides as it compresses nicely.





August 26, 2014
 
Model/Year: 2013

Pros: This is defiantly a prices hydration pack but it is worth every penny. The features are some much we'll thought out that a camelback. If you ride four days a week like I do you will appreciate the little features of the pack.

Cons: Just like with most hydration packs your back get insanely hot and sweaty. You will just have to get used to it because it will happen even on short hour rides. Still probably the best pack out there.





August 14, 2014
 
Model/Year: 2011

Pros: Super Breathable, confortable, well compartmentalized, good size.

Cons: Little heavy compared to a camel bak mule.

Recommendation: IMO if you don't mind carrying a few extra ounces this is the best hydration pack on the market. I would however recommend getting the Osprey Hydraulics Reservoir LT 2.5L. I hope they add the quick connect to the hydra form bladders, but till then the LT is it and the quick connect is amazing. Makes it infinitely easier to remove the bladder to fill it.



Osprey Raptor 6 4.54 out of 5 based on 25 ratings. 25 user reviews.