Chronicle MIPS Helmet Review

--
SHARES
  
AVERAGE RATING
*****
4.82 out of 5
WHERE TO BUY    MSRP: $100
Loading...
Rider Questions
 
Members' Gear
 
Owner
owners
Top Rated Gear From Giro
Giro Xen
Giro Xar
Giro Bravo LF
Giro Gauge
Giro Athlon
Giro Pneumo
Giro Code
Giro DND
 


December 2, 2018
 
Model/Year: 2018

Pros: light, fits great, price

Cons: none that I have found in almost 2 seasons

Recommendation: my go to helmet for all my rides. would buy again for sure. great helmet at a great price





September 10, 2018
 
Model/Year: 2017

Pros: light

Cons: foam chips





September 8, 2018
 
Pros: Nice helmet

Recommendation: U should bi





August 30, 2018
 
Model/Year: 2018 Brown Walnut Medium

Pros: Fits snug and comfortable on my shaved head, no lumps or bumps. easy to adjust. Feels like a baseball cap. Looks super sylin too.

Cons: Its pricey for being just a piece of styrofoam with shiny MIPS sticker.

Recommendation: I went to my local bike shop and tried on every helmet under $100, and chose the one that was the most comfortable. Looks came second. And I literally care zero about the stupid MIPS sticker, its just a bullet point they put on the box to upcharge you. All helmets have to meet the same safety tests to be sold. The safest helmet is the one you actually don't mind wearing, because you'll be more likely to wear it.





May 13, 2018
 
Pros: Full coverage and light Good visor yet does not block view Plenty of air to cool

Cons: Sits low on forehead. Not all sunglasses will work with helmet and it can ride on the top of my ears.

Recommendation: Great helmet but you'll need to get used to it fitting low on your forehead (like a hat). It is a little larger than expected (the large almost an XL) but it's adjustable and can snug up.





March 26, 2018
 
Model/Year: 2017

Pros: Nice big visor, good fit (for me), strong tension adjustment (although the dial is a bit small), great airflow, nice price point for MIPS. Feels light.

Cons: A minor thing, the tension adjustment dial is smaller than average, but by no means a show stopper.

Recommendation: Another great helmet from Giro at a good price. Giro is my go to brand mainly due to fit and price. The Chronicle's airflow is great. Very comfortable even in hot humid weather (have ridden with it in 100 ). As mentioned above, I do like this helmets larger than average visor. Not everyone likes them, but if you do, it's there. I like the latest mat colors that don't make you feel like you're wearing a 20 color neon sign on your head.





January 10, 2018
 
Model/Year: 2018

Pros: Very Lightweight, versatile adjustment, no fogup of glasses

Cons: NA

Recommendation: I recommend this helmet





October 21, 2017
 
Model/Year: 2017

Pros: Light weight, great ventilation, eyewear doesn't fog up, very comfortable

Cons: none





June 16, 2017
 
Pros: Inexpensive, MIPS, Ventilation

Recommendation: Great protection. I'm on my 3rd one at this point. Got too squirley at Copper Harbor and went OTB landing on shoulder/head in a rock garden. Helmet was spent, but I didn't even have a headache afterwards. It includes MIPS at $100, totally worth it.





April 22, 2017
 
Model/Year: 2017 Giro Chronicle MIPS

Pros: Comfortable Well designed Sturdy

Recommendation: Big improvement from my old helmet. A lot more comfortable and looks like it will offer more protection



Chronicle MIPS 4.82 out of 5 based on 11 ratings. 11 user reviews.