Specialized Hardrock Comp Disc Mountain Bike Review

--
SHARES
  
AVERAGE RATING
****
4.20 out of 5
WHERE TO BUY    MSRP: $600
Loading...
Rider Questions
 
Member Bikes
 
Builder
27 bikes
 
on Jul 19, 2014
1 week ago
on Nov 1, 2018
  Athlon
on Aug 27, 2018
on Jul 12, 2018
 
Product Options (2)
Specialized HardRock
Specialized Hardrock comp
 


October 30, 2015
 
Model/Year: 2005

Pros: Durable (had a bike rack failure on the freeway and it taco'd the wheels. I beat them back into shape as best i could and have put somewhere around 50 miles on it like that. Friggin thing is tough as nails. Newb friendly. price (bought mine used for 250$ and it was worth every penny)
Climbs like a mountain goat

Cons: fork is not awesome, but such is the case with most bikes at this price point.
Drive train is pretty worn, I hade to replace the rear cassette and chain due to chain skipping during climbs.

Recommendation: Entry level riders to intermediate riders on a budget. Upgrade the fork and pedals.





June 11, 2010
 
Pros: Durabilty, Gears, Versatility

Cons: Nothing really

Recommendation: This was my first real mountain bike and it has served me excellently over the past 4 years. Ive slammed the bike into the ground multiple times and im still riding it today. Ive barely done any maintenance either and it still works fine. Ive even taking it dirt jumping a few times and if I didnt case a jump horribly causing a bent fork, it would still be in great shape. I recommend this bike to any beginner to intermediate biker as a great all around bike.





October 13, 2009
 
Pros: I love the geometry, components, toughness, reliability, and the encouragement it brings

Cons: No cons, I'm not sure what they are called, but its like a cushion that goes under your chain on the frame that reduces the noise and scratches when you chain hits the frame. Doing a slight bunny hop is loud because the chain smacks the frame so easy.

Recommendation: I love this bike! I used to ride a Iron Horse Warrior 1.3 which had a similar geometry, but this hardrock is much more solid. I street ride and trail ride and I can't complain. This bike encourages me to ride hard, and hit jumps, ramp stairs, fly over drops, anything. Its a well built bike, that can be turned into a hard core street bike, or and hard core trail bike. I prefer both so my upgrades will benefit both sides of the field. I'm trying to break this bike, I am unsuccessful so far.





August 30, 2008
 
Pros: Duribilty

Cons: nothing

Recommendation: As said before this is a great mid-range bike. I have an 04 and it has taken everything I have thrown at it...which is more than it was intended for. You wont be disappointed





March 27, 2007
 
Pros: This bike has fairly good components on all parts. It is a great mid-range bike for people who love to ride but aren't shave-your-legs XC racers.

Cons: It has huge tires that continually get in the way of the rider. They're a pain going up hills, they create tons of friction going down, and the extra knobs aren't that big a benefit in a fix.

Recommendation: This is a great bike for riders who can't hit dirt every day but love to bike. School kids also love it because it is a great bike and not horribly expensive. It's no "Epic", but it gets the job done.



Specialized Hardrock Comp Disc 4.20 out of 5 based on 5 ratings. 5 user reviews.