Raleigh Talus 5.0 Mountain Bike Review

--
SHARES
  
AVERAGE RATING
*****
4.67 out of 5
WHERE TO BUY    MSRP: $?
Loading...
Rider Questions
 

1

Q: I have this bike and want a tire that is more durable and that will have better traction on dirt and rocks. Does anyone have any recommendations on what to switch to? -Guest

No answers yet.

Answer

 
Member Bikes
 
Builder
6 bikes
 
 
on Mar 26, 2020
  Ryan_D
on Jan 6, 2019
on Jul 28, 2018
on May 6, 2018
  jampr
on Sep 18, 2016
 
Top Rated Gear From Raleigh
Raleigh Mojave 8.0
Raleigh Tokul 2
Raleigh Tokul
Raleigh Misceo 3.0
Raleigh Talus 3.0
Raleigh XXIX
Raleigh Talus
Raleigh M-40d
 


May 28, 2018
 
Model/Year: 2015 Raleigh Talus 5

Pros: Pretty nice ride with good components. Strong and reliable.

Cons: My biggest complaint is the chainstays are very narrow where they meet the bb shell making it almost impossible to upgrade to a wider tire, and with stock 2.05" tires makes it impossible to go up to even 2.2" tires. You might be able to get away with 2.1" though. The stock honey badger tires aren't the greatest. Not very good tread. The stock weinmann u32 rims are impossible to find out anything about them. The seat is ok, I've rode worse.





January 8, 2013
 
Model/Year: Talus 5.0

Pros: Strong and reliable bike, light weight, handles climbing well

Cons: Saddle is weak, tires easily blown and arent't good over different terrain

Recommendation: I have had this bike for a year now and used it on roads and trails primarily. One concern with this bike is the tires. As a starter bike, the tires weren't dependable at all. Living in washington, there was lots of different riding opportunities, but the tires were always unnerving. After the 3rd blown tire i changed wheels and was fine





January 8, 2013
 
Model/Year: Talus 5.0

Pros: Very sturdy frame, light weight, smooth shifting, great for price

Cons: Clip holding cables are weak, tires were not reliable (not good over different terrain).

Recommendation: This was a very good bike and it was a greater starter bike. My only real complaint would be the tires. As an entree level mountain bike, the tires did not allow for use on diverse terrain. I had to change blown tires multiple times





March 31, 2012
 
Model/Year: 2010 Talus 5.0

Pros: Light weight, great bang for the buck, durable.

Cons: My only complaint is this was my starter, and I'm ready to move up.

Recommendation: I've owned this bike now for 2 years and have put many miles on it. In rough terrain, I was not nice to it. I did have to upgrade the drive system do to my riding style.





July 14, 2011
 
Pros: Light weight, great cornering, smooth shifting, climbs well for a starter bike

Cons: saddle, clips holding cables break off (use zip ties) pedals are cheap

Recommendation: If youre looking to get started in mountain biking...this is the best deal. I got mine for $430.00 in Scottsdales in 2011





December 10, 2010
 
Pros: Octalink crank from Shimano. Nice powdercoated rims.

Cons: Forks definitely need rebound damping.

Recommendation: Great for people looking to start the sport with a moderate budget.