Novara Ponderosa Mountain Bike Review

--
SHARES
  
AVERAGE RATING
*****
5.00 out of 5
WHERE TO BUY    MSRP: $899
Loading...
Rider Questions
 

-1

Q: How much does it cost -Guest

A: $1099

bw1938 answered on June 19, 2015. Did you find this helpful? Yes | No

Answer

 
Member Bikes
 
Builder
36 bikes
 
on May 5, 2013
on May 26, 2019
on Dec 16, 2018
on Sep 27, 2018
on Dec 4, 2017
 
Product Options (5)
Novara Ponderosa 27.5
Novara 2014 Ponderosa 29er
Novara 2014 Ponderosa 29er
Novara 2014 Ponderosa 29er
Novara 2014 Ponderosa 29er
 


September 29, 2014
 
Pros: Can't get a better hardtail with this level of componentry for under a grand: SRAM x7 drivetrain, decent hydraulic disc brakes, and, in the 2014 models, a Suntour front fork that's at least adequate. It's REI's house brand, so you're not paying for a big name brand, which is fine in my book -- I don't care what decal is on the downtube as long as the bike is durable and rides the way I like.

Cons: Tires seem low-end, and rims are not tubeless ready -- but what do you expect at this price point?

Recommendation: I got the 29er, and it is a perfect beast for rolling over the rock gardens and roots of New England singletrack. This bike rides better than bikes I test rode that cost twice as much. Highly recommended, esp if you can get one at season's end. I paid $750, which to me is a steal for this level of bike.





June 1, 2014
 
Pros: The crankset and drive chain are comparable to more expensive bikes

Cons: It is a no name brand but not that important to me.

Recommendation: Great bike for the price. Durable components and a nice look. I'm am very well satisfied with the purchase. I don't think I could have done better for under a thousand dollars.





August 22, 2009
 
Pros: Great bike for the $.
Great SRAM components.


Cons: REI had some issues with the SRAM bottom bracket/crank arm combination they used on the Ponderosa. The crank arm would come off out of no where. It is a warranty issue and is covered by SRAM via your local REI.

Recommendation: I've owned two, so far. Even bought a used, newer model, at an REI Garage Sale. I installed the newer componentry onto my old frame, since the garage sale bike was WAY too big for me. It has worked out perfectly.



Novara Ponderosa 5.00 out of 5 based on 3 ratings. 3 user reviews.