Iron Horse Warrior 5.0 Mountain Bike Review

--
SHARES
  
AVERAGE RATING
****
4.25 out of 5
WHERE TO BUY    MSRP: $999
Loading...
Rider Questions
 
Member Bikes
 
Builder
3 bikes
 
on Nov 11, 2016
on Apr 10, 2015
on Jun 24, 2014
 
Product Options (3)
Iron Horse Warrior 4.0
Iron Horse Warrior Sport
Iron Horse Warrior 1.3
 


August 31, 2018
 
Pros: Durability over time

Cons: Considering how old my warrior is and how well it's performed over the years... There aren't many

Recommendation: Great Bike if you can find one used grab it up.





March 7, 2012
 
Pros: Price. Frame. Discs. Quality

Cons: Pedals. Grips

Recommendation: Awesome starter bike. Will not dissapoint you





December 16, 2009
 
Pros: The frame is an excellent piece of work for the price. Having dual disk brakes is also a plus. Shimano components are always reliable. Following what Code_Rage said the grips are very uncomfortable and upgrading them is a must.

Cons: Crank shaft feel apart on me during a serious ride. The pedals are very bulky. The Rock Shoxx Dart fork is pretty stiff.

Recommendation: I bought this bike over 3 years ago when I was starting to mountain bike. Besides a few components breaking or needing replacement this bike has held up through the constant abuse that I have put it through recently. I even brought this bike down to Fountain Head Regional Park and was dropping down on 3-4 foot drops and the bike held up. This is a good bike to get into the sport at a very good price.





November 12, 2009
 
Pros: In-destructable frame, full suspension for a great price if you can find them anymore.

Cons: heavy, brakes aren't the best.

Recommendation: great bike for a beginner xc rider.





November 11, 2009
 
Pros: Durable, Price, fast on the flats.

Cons: Little on the heavy side, brakes, crank and bb

Recommendation: Even though I had to replace the crank, bb, cassette, and chain I now have a great XC bike. I am a clydsdale so I really dont take a weight penalty ( I need to loose a weight if I want to go faster up hill). I have ridden the bike over 1000 miles this year and I have had no problems other than the drive train after 500. I now have a LX crank and bb, Sram 991 chain, and Sram 990 cassette. What a difference it made.





July 29, 2009
 
Pros: Price, brakes are great, tires provide good traction.

Cons: Too heavy, derailleurs fall out of adjustment

Recommendation: Well worth the money. Durable.





April 22, 2009
 
Pros: Almost bulletproof frame, Fox Vanilla-R rear shock, all around good buy.

Cons: Avid BB5 brakes aren't the greatest, front shock is really squishy for heavier riders, rear spring needs to be a little stiffer.

Recommendation: Great bike for beginner to intermediate all mountain, XC, and freeriders.





December 13, 2008
 
Pros: strong bike great for beginners

Cons: the front fork spring is a little soft unless you weigh 120 pounds it has a lot of up and down movment when going up hill

Recommendation: good for beginners and people getting into mnt biking





November 4, 2008
 
Pros: For the price you cant beat this bike. It has held up very well on some Intermediate/Difficult trails.

Cons: The Tektro brakes SUCK! They work well when tuned but are in constant need of tuning which can be a problem. I would recomend to upgrade the brakes to BB7s ASAP. The front fork is a little weak but it works. The 8 speed drive train makes upgrading a little difficult without having to buy a whole new drive train. The stock grips could not be more uncomfortable.

Recommendation: It sounds like there are alot of cons and that I am bagging on the bike. Truth be told there are many better bikes available. I gave it such a high rating because it is a quality bike, very affordable, and allowed me to explore this sport with out breaking the bank or upsetting the wife. and I can upgrade the bike as I need to. This is THE perfect introductory bike for those on a tight budget.





September 3, 2008
 
Pros: This bike is a great start for the money. It incorparates a really nice frame with decent components that you would find on a bike $100-$200 more expensive.

Cons: I hate the crankset. Because it wasn't installed correctly (not tightened down enough) it backed out the screw holding the left crankarm on and caused stress cracks and warped the crank arm square opening.

Recommendation: I would definitely buy this bike again. I would definitely suggest updating the crankset and bb to a spline drive (if you can find an 8-speed one). I found out the hard way that when I ordered my Shimano XT FC-M770 that it was for a 9 speed so now I am upgrading it all a little earlier then planned.



Iron Horse Warrior 5.0 4.25 out of 5 based on 14 ratings. 14 user reviews.