Giant Iguana Mountain Bike Review

--
SHARES
  
AVERAGE RATING
****
4.33 out of 5
WHERE TO BUY    MSRP: $?
Loading...
Rider Questions
 

3

Q: what is the price -Guest

No answers yet.

Answer

 
Member Bikes
 
Builder
26 bikes
 
on Jun 15, 2019
on Apr 8, 2019
on Apr 4, 2019
on Jun 16, 2018
on Jun 16, 2018
 
Top Rated Gear From Giant
Giant Trance
2017 Giant Talon 3
Giant Contact Switch Remote Seatpost
Giant Giant Trance 27.5 2
Giant Trance
Giant Giant Trance Advanced 27.5 2
Giant Fathom 2 27.5
Giant Anthem X 29er 1
 


January 22, 2017
 
Model/Year: 2010

Pros: Frame and brakes

Cons: The suntour XCR forks and tires

Recommendation: I started off mountain biking with this bike and learnt many of the fundamental skills needed to progress to better bikes and harder trails. Overall a great beginner bike.





December 22, 2012
 
Pros: - Very light for a vintage frame!
- Giant quality
- nice and thin tubing that Giant makes look so cool

Recommendation: I just got this frame in trade. as a nekked frame it is extremely light. This might be a newer version than what the previous reviewers have tried. I have 4 quality nekked frames sitting in my basement right now and this one is by far the lightest one including 1 Kona hardtail.

I cannot wait to build this one up!

UPDATE 5/29/13:
I have built this frame up and been riding it! It's a 2000-2002 SE. I have decked this bike out with Race Face, FSA, and Marin, components I got cheeply on EBay. It has super wide bars with Ergon grips and an external bottom bracket. An A2Z DM-UNI bracket has also been installed to upgrade the frame for a pair of vintage Hayes Sole hydrolic disc brakes and a vintage RockShox Judy.

Firstly I ride hard. I ride any where from 20-30 miles after work and anywhere from 40-60 miles on my days off. I ride places like FOMBA, Bear Brook, and Fort Rock in S.NH on a daily basis. These are prime New England rocky and rooty technical singletracks and tons of snowmobile trails in between. My normal XC ride is a Giant Anthem but it has been out of comission for the past month so I have been playing on the hardtail. I have been spoiled riding full squishy for a while now so when I first hopped on, it was stiff and ewwy. Once I got back to my roots and proper techniques I have come to love this frame. This bike is FAST! it climbs like a champ and decends like you would expect a hardtail to. This bike is rigid and the smallest amount of pressure on the pedals makes it jump forward. I know a lot of this is due to the updated 9 speed drive train and other componants, but this frame is very comfy and very able.

Being a 13( /-) year old frame already and then taking all the abuse I dish out is amazing!
I had built this bike to sell it, but after playing with it for a couple months on the trail I am going to keep it! Love this frame!





October 13, 2012
 
Pros: Great entry level bike.

Cons: Tires

Recommendation: This was the first real mountain bike I ever owned and was a great way to get into the sport. I purchased it in '95 when the were still made from steel and used to ride in almost daily on the trails in Oregon where I am from originally from and later in eastern Nebraska / western Iowa. The only issue I ever had with this bike was a failure with the rear cassette and that was covered under warranty. I have worn out 2 sets of brake pads and tires (the originals were terrible and were replaced with WTB Velociraptors) . I also had to replace a chain. Thanks to regular maintenence other than normal wear this bike has been flawless. I recently went to ride it and the old RST fork collapsed due to the elastomers being so old. Even though I have built a new bike I am planning on putting a new front fork on it replacing the worn components and keeping it as a second bike or possibly using it as a commuter.





November 29, 2010
 
Pros: Solid Frame

Cons: It was awesome at the time, so maybe just weight.

Recommendation: I started off mountain biking on an old version of the Giant Iguana with a totally rigid fork. It was a solid bike though, and I learned so much riding it. Definitely not a feather weight, but if you're looking for a reliable intro mountain bike the Giant Iguana is worth some doing some addition research.





July 1, 2009
 
Pros: Reliable,smooth ride,solid feel,lightweight

Cons: Cheap derailleur,uncomfortable seat,pedals

Recommendation: Great bike for the money. Change the seat and pedals and it's almost all good. A derailleur change would help,but after all those mods, you could probably upgrade models. But hey,what do you expect for 600 bucks.





April 25, 2008
 
Pros: Nice bike with good frame to build on. Everything works well so far.

Cons: Tires were terrible.

Recommendation: Great bike for what I paid for it.