Felt Q920 Mountain Bike Review

--
SHARES
  
AVERAGE RATING
*****
4.50 out of 5
WHERE TO BUY    MSRP: $?
Loading...
Rider Questions
 
Member Bikes
 
Builder
3 bikes
 
  CBPM
on Jan 17, 2017
on Oct 16, 2013
  Shootr
on Sep 2, 2013
 
Product Options (3)
Felt Q720
Felt Q620
Felt Q520
 


October 15, 2012
 
Model/Year: 2011 Felt Q520

Pros: light weight, lockout shock, awesome paint and graphics,

Cons: uncomfortable stock seat, stock tires don't have much grip

Recommendation: A great first bike to buy. Most bang for the buck. The lockout feature on the front shock is nice for the beginner mountain biker that likes to ride on the road. The lockout shock feature allows you to lock the shock out of travel stiffening the front end from getting a spongy feeling when standing up and pedaling. Replace the seat and stock tires and you'll have a more comfortable ride.





July 12, 2011
 
Pros: Light and great geometry. The bike handles quick and steering is sharp and precise.

Recommendation: I acctually Built my Q920. I picked up the frame new and put it together. With the all my favorite components i love this bike. The bike will get a few more upgrades before im done. Looking at an X9 2x10 drivetrain to compliment the Elixir 3 brakes.





March 30, 2011
 
Pros: from the factory the frame is good and the wtb sx24 are a good extra set of wheels

Cons: shimano,handle bars, stupid worthless shimano derailers and shifter pods

Recommendation: where to start the geomtry of this frame was perfect for me. i took everything off except for the actual brakes and the bottom bracket.added fsa alpha crank and stem.all x7 9 speed drivetrain. added mavic crossrides. i 86ed the seat post and added a race face. mine is a 08 and the handlebars were steel. i replaced the bars with a truvative stylo race set for 14 bucks. i have it down to 26lbs and am counting the days till i can nix the pos fork that came on it and get a rockshox recon with remote lockout.overall a good cheap bike if you wanna solid base to build on.





March 17, 2011
 
Pros: Great frame, grips, tires, brakes work good, solid bike all over. Great control.

Cons: Saddle, heavy in large frames

Recommendation: This bike is great. Couldnt give it a five star due to its weight tho, just a little heavy in the larger frames. I had done a lot of research before purchasing this bike and the only downside seemed to be the forks according to others, however there is nothing to worry about here. It is a hard tail and is best in single track use. The forks have not bottomed out and it can handle some jumps and log hops, just remember it is not a downhill bike. Prime hardtail for versatility and control. I would deffinately recommend riding this bike.





April 7, 2010
 
Pros: Overall design, value for money, breaks, gears

Cons: Lockout knob tended to shift if i landed too hard or something, slightly heavier than expected

Recommendation: This bike is great. There are one or 2 issues, but nothing major. One of them is that little ground clearence for the pedals, so i bashed them more often than i should, but all in all a great package.





March 29, 2010
 
Pros: Sturdy, good forks, good brakes. Good bang for your buck.

Recommendation: I have this bike, its a good hardtail, especially for the price, i got mine for $500 new! Only difference i have a Dart 2 fork set up (came stock.) Not sure if they all come as they are listed so pay attention when looking at them.. But Felts are a great up and coming bike and they give you a lot for the price. I have only ridden mine on a few single tracks thus far, but it rides well. The platform of the bike allows you to make some good mods should you choose.



Felt Q920 4.50 out of 5 based on 6 ratings. 6 user reviews.