2017 Giant Talon 3 Mountain Bike Review

--
SHARES
  
AVERAGE RATING
*****
5.00 out of 5
WHERE TO BUY    MSRP: $550
Loading...
Rider Questions
 

-1

Q: is it strong? -Guest

A: Yes it is very strong. The wheels are also very sturdy. I love it!!!

Whit Peters answered on October 17, 2017. Did you find this helpful? Yes | No

Answer | See all 3 answers

 
Member Bikes
 
Builder
105 bikes
 
on Oct 17, 2017
3 weeks ago
on Sep 10, 2019
on Aug 28, 2019
on Aug 15, 2019
 
Top Rated Gear From Giant
Giant Trance
Giant Contact Switch Remote Seatpost
Giant Giant Trance 27.5 2
Giant Trance
Giant Giant Trance Advanced 27.5 2
Giant Fathom 2 27.5
Giant Anthem X 29er 1
Giant XTC 29er 2
 


May 27, 2018
 
Pros: Light and capable on the trail.

Cons: Unable to upgrade the forks (they're not tapered). Would have been nice to have a 1x11 option on this price point, but that's the whole industry not just this bike.

Recommendation: A great first hard tail for a beginner. But if you want to get serious about mtb, save a little longer and get something more upgradable.





April 15, 2018
 
Model/Year: 2017

Pros: Robust frame, light weight, quality components (hydraulic disc breaks) seems to do the work for you on the trail. A complete joy to ride.

Cons: No internal routing for drop post (I still want one). The seat gets in the way on technical downhill sections.

Recommendation: Get it.





December 14, 2017
 
Pros: Easy to ride. Handles well. Priced right. I look cool on it. :)

Cons: Doesn't come with airbags for when you run into rocks. Hurts when it falls on top of you and the pedal stabs your ribs.

Recommendation: If you are going to get into mountain biking and would rather not spend $1500 on your first bike - this is a great place to start. If you do buy this bike, have the shop upgrade your tire tubes for thorns.





March 18, 2017
 
Model/Year: 2017

Pros: Great frame and components, looks great, great value for money, brakes are good

Cons: Suspension fork is average

Recommendation: Great bike for value, would recommend it to anyone





December 2, 2016
 
Model/Year: Giant Talon 3/2017

Pros: Very inexpensive A lot of bike for the money Awesome color scheme Hydraulic Disk Brakes 27.5 tires

Cons: Only issue that's come up is the gears not shifting smoothly. Rarely happens though

Recommendation: This is the best looking bike I've seen at any bike shop I've been too. I love the features and components at the $550 price point. It's my 17 year old son's first bike and I'm glad we chose it over the Marlin 5



2017 Giant Talon 3 5.00 out of 5 based on 5 ratings. 5 user reviews.