2017 Giant Talon 3 Mountain Bike Review

--
SHARES
  
AVERAGE RATING
*****
5.00 out of 5
WHERE TO BUY    MSRP: $550
Loading...
Rider Questions
 

0

Q: is it strong? -Guest

A: Yes it is very strong. The wheels are also very sturdy. I love it!!!

Whit Peters answered on October 17, 2017. Did you find this helpful? Yes | No

Answer | See all 3 answers

 
Member Bikes
 
Builder
105 bikes
 
on Oct 17, 2017
on Sep 30, 2019
on Sep 10, 2019
on Aug 28, 2019
on Aug 15, 2019
 
Top Rated Gear From Giant
Giant Trance
Giant Contact Switch Remote Seatpost
Giant Giant Trance 27.5 2
Giant Trance
Giant Giant Trance Advanced 27.5 2
Giant Fathom 2 27.5
Giant Anthem X 29er 1
Giant XTC 29er 2
 


May 27, 2018
 
Pros: Light and capable on the trail.

Cons: Unable to upgrade the forks (they're not tapered). Would have been nice to have a 1x11 option on this price point, but that's the whole industry not just this bike.

Recommendation: A great first hard tail for a beginner. But if you want to get serious about mtb, save a little longer and get something more upgradable.





April 15, 2018
 
Model/Year: 2017

Pros: Robust frame, light weight, quality components (hydraulic disc breaks) seems to do the work for you on the trail. A complete joy to ride.

Cons: No internal routing for drop post (I still want one). The seat gets in the way on technical downhill sections.

Recommendation: Get it.





December 14, 2017
 
Pros: Easy to ride. Handles well. Priced right. I look cool on it. :)

Cons: Doesn't come with airbags for when you run into rocks. Hurts when it falls on top of you and the pedal stabs your ribs.

Recommendation: If you are going to get into mountain biking and would rather not spend $1500 on your first bike - this is a great place to start. If you do buy this bike, have the shop upgrade your tire tubes for thorns.





March 18, 2017
 
Model/Year: 2017

Pros: Great frame and components, looks great, great value for money, brakes are good

Cons: Suspension fork is average

Recommendation: Great bike for value, would recommend it to anyone





December 2, 2016
 
Model/Year: Giant Talon 3/2017

Pros: Very inexpensive A lot of bike for the money Awesome color scheme Hydraulic Disk Brakes 27.5 tires

Cons: Only issue that's come up is the gears not shifting smoothly. Rarely happens though

Recommendation: This is the best looking bike I've seen at any bike shop I've been too. I love the features and components at the $550 price point. It's my 17 year old son's first bike and I'm glad we chose it over the Marlin 5



2017 Giant Talon 3 5.00 out of 5 based on 5 ratings. 5 user reviews.