Garmin Edge 605 GPS Review

--
SHARES
  
AVERAGE RATING
***
2.83 out of 5
WHERE TO BUY    MSRP: $431
Loading...
By Jeff Barber    on Oct 3, 2007

0 SHARES | 6 COMMENTS
By Jeff Barber    on May 9, 2008

0 SHARES | 0 COMMENTS
By Jeff Barber    on May 2, 2008

0 SHARES | 0 COMMENTS
Rider Questions
 
Members' Gear
 
Owner
owners
Top Rated Gear From Garmin
Garmin GPSMAP 60CSx
Garmin eTrex Legend HCx
Garmin Vivoactive HR
Garmin Base Camp
Garmin Edge 800
Garmin Oregon 400t
Garmin Edge 305
Garmin eTrex Vista HCx
 


April 7, 2011
 
Pros: Fast routing, good tracking, good at creating courses... good at just about everything it is supposed to do.

Cons: Maps are extra.

Recommendation: As the title says. This is a great unit for the price. Presonally I have been using this for GPS for 1 month and I am very happy with it's performance and the simple it is to use it. The package I purchased included the detailed maps for an additional $10 in a 2gig card. The unit is very simply to use out of the box, this is my first GPS unit and I was able to figure out the options and settings pretty quickly. Creating, following and navigating routes is not as simple to do, but once you learn how to do it, it works really well and is not hard to do.

I am amazed with the satelite reception, it works extremel good, the day I received the unit, I charged it and turned it on indoors, to my surprise, it took less than 30 seconds to find enough satelites to move on to the next screen. I have tried it in different places of the house, even the basement and the still manages to find enough satelites to work with at least 15 to 20 feet accuracy.

As far as the routing, I am not a road cyclist, but I took the unit with me to a couple of places and requested routing back home. The unit was actually pretty quick in giving me directions and even those times that I purposedly skipped the next turn, the unit re-routed w/out issues. It does take a bit long to re-route for a car, but I think that if I was on a road bike, it the time it took to calculate would be fine.

On the trail this unit does excellent, it tracks my waypoints, the route, elevation, speed... etc. I am very happy with it. bottom line I think this is a grea unit for those who want to have a GPS unit and don't need all that extra stuff for "training" like heart monitor or candace. Love my GPS unit!





December 1, 2010
 
Pros: Good for tracking your rides and following trails

Cons: Maps extra

Recommendation: Not worth full price, if you can get it cheaper than MSRP go for it





April 11, 2010
 
Pros: Color and brightness of the display. Seems pretty rugged.

Cons: Loaded Map only has major highways. CAn you imagine a bicyle GPS showing only major highways. Spend $399 then another $100 for a map update that comes standard on a $99 NUVI. What a joke.

Way too much worthless crap geared towards riders who do laps all day long - that's not me. 99% of my riding is 1 lap whether it is 8 miles or 80 miles.

Could not get any support over the phone - they even recommended that I hang up and try another time - are you kidding me. You drop $400 and they can't have someone available to answer a question.

Documentation sucks. No manual, they give you a CD and you have to print out the 80 pages of instructions.

Recommendation: Stay away from this. It seems like a prettry sturdy device, but no way should it cost $400 plus another $100 for a usable map.

After 2 days of frustration, I just put everything back in the box and it's being returned.

I went on Overstock.com and bought a bike mount for my NUVI for $12 plus $2.99 S&H and it has all the functionalty I need anyway.





July 29, 2008
 
Pros: Good LORD! So i have started riding a lot of high elevation rides above Kernville, California where you ride all day and not see a single person. We're talking riding above 8,000 feet and at least an hour drive to the nearest town. This also means there is a strong possibility you will get lost. This unit is AMAZING! With the ability to share your rides, upload gps coordinates, and all of the training features, the 605 has far exceeded my expectations. You can customize the screen to just about anything besides pedal for you (Sometimes I wish it would). Overall I have used the 605 twice and have searched through MotionBased and Garmin Connect for hours. The community sistered with the 605/705 is awesome and knowledgable.

Cons: Sure you have to purchse your specific maps- I found a West Coast topo map for under $70.00 using Google, but I am glad it doesn't have memory-filled street maps- The topo version I got for my 605 has street maps loaded as well so I it is good for my road biking too!

Recommendation: I recommendbuying the 605 and utilizing all of the Internet programs associated with training and the community. I didn;t buy the 705 because I could see spending the price of a new bike on a gps unit- I know when my heart is beating out of control and if I am pedaling too fast or too slow I change gears- Not worth the other $300 for me to know that. Overall it is a GREAT product!





July 24, 2008
 
Pros: It is durable. I wiped out in Moab, and it fell right on the GPS face. Still working.....It can get you back to start if you are lost

Cons: THIS GPS DOES NOT EVEN INCLUDE MAPS!! You have to buy an SD card AND a $ 110 map program if you want to know where the heck you are!! RIPOFF!!!This GPS is very hard to use, and does not really have good features for plotting a GPS course on a trail. The waypoint thing is way too limited, and it does not let you enter, say, a right turn marker, more than once...It is geared towards people that want to monitor laps, heart rate, etc.

Recommendation: I think a lot of the problem with this unit is it is very hard to figure out, and the documentation sucks. Even Garmin don't know how to use it. I have never been able to load a GPS map to it, and there are several programs to use to do this, supposedly. I have lost patience. I waited on hold 3 or 4 times to talk to a software specialist and they would never answer after an hour hold time. I finally received an E mail answer after several days. If Garmin would make it specific to biking without all the fitness crap, and maybe design it with some bikers, maybe it's worth it. I can't wait for mine to break so I can buy a Magellan!!!The 705 is the same thing with a wireless function and a better barometer. Whoopee!!!Big deal for $500.00. Hey Trek, if you want a second one, I'll trade you for a Red Bull...





April 28, 2008
 
Pros: Color screen, solid mounting system, small form factor.

Cons: Maps are difficult to read while on the bike; no on-screen elevation plot or even a way to track overall climb; included base maps are so limited they're worthless to bikers.

Recommendation: The Edge 605 is way too limited for the price. If you want to drop $400+ on a GPS, go for the 705; otherwise, stick with the Edge 305. The Edge 605 only adds a color screen to the Edge 305 while deleting important features like elevation plotting and the ability to add optional accessories. If you want roads or topo info you'll need to fork out another $100 and add a memory card.



Garmin Edge 605 2.83 out of 5 based on 6 ratings. 6 user reviews.