Garmin Edge 520 GPS Review

--
SHARES
  
AVERAGE RATING
****
4.33 out of 5
WHERE TO BUY    MSRP: $299
Loading...
By Aaron Chamberlain    on Nov 29, 2016

0 SHARES | 4 COMMENTS
By Jeff Barber    on Jan 25, 2017

0 SHARES | 13 COMMENTS
By Aaron Chamberlain    on Apr 20, 2017

0 SHARES | 0 COMMENTS
Rider Questions
 
Members' Gear
 
Owner
owners
Product Options (2)
Garmin garmin edge 520 plus
Garmin Garmin Edge 520 Plus
 


March 4, 2020
 
Pros: Pretty accurate most of the time Buttons to navigate when wet Easy pairing Controls most Garmin accessories Customizable Pairs with Strava

Cons: Struggles in the city with turn by turn directions

Recommendation: Great computer if you can catch it on sale or clearance





April 18, 2019
 
Pros: GPS map. Accident detection, Bluetooth sync, phone notification, syncs with strava,

Cons: Slow to acquire position when rerouting sometimes. Have to manually pair hear rate sometimes.

Recommendation: I upgraded from my Garmin 500 for the navigation maps. I wanted the maps but did want to pay for the 1000. This was a great compromise. When the phone is hooked to the computer the maps are automatically downloaded. I have been to three different land masses with no issues. If you pay for a Strava subscription, the segments will show live on your ride. I am trying to find a person with a computer so I can test the Garmin IQ portion.





February 10, 2019
 
Model/Year: 2018

Pros: Easy to see the display, connects to phone so I can see messages when I stop if I want to. Decent map.

Cons: Sometimes I have trouble connecting to sensors HR or cadence. Have trouble connecting phone to computer sometimes but always get through it.

Recommendation: If you use wahoo trainer you might want to stick to that brand. I use garmin activity monitor and scale therefore I bought garmin computer so I could stay in the same app. Connect app has its problems too.





August 3, 2017
 
Model/Year: Garmind Edge 520 2017

Pros: Bright screen, customize all of your screens, flawless integration with Strava and live segments

Cons: it is fragile and expensive, on my second unit already after laying the bike down.

Recommendation: Great way to log in some data in a compact unit without bringing the phone. I love seeing where the segments start and stop with info on where you are vs. your pr and/or the kom/(qom).





October 19, 2016
 
Pros: Bright color screen Small size Light Durable Good battery life

Cons: Setup can be tedious

Recommendation: Great if you're looking for a training GPS. If you need something for navigation, it's best to look at one of their touring models.





March 28, 2016
 
Model/Year: 2015

Pros: Build quality, garmin connect, simplicity, Strava integration. Iphone messaging notifications. ability to connect with all sorts of sensors.

Cons: lack of memory card slot limits map size.

Recommendation: first and formost, this device is a bit overkill for someone like me, a beginner with mountain biking. but I am also a tech geek and I love to play with gadgets. This is really more a fitness device and not a mapping device for guys with power meters and heart rate monitors etc. I just wanted something to track my rides and upload them to strava, garmin connect, and now, singletracks. I could have gotten by with a much simpler device or even an app on my iphone. if you are in to tracking your rides and fitness, this is a good one, but it is overkill for me.





February 29, 2016
 
Pros: - Size is perfect. Easy to see but not too large. - Well constructed. - Strava integration - long battery life

Cons: - Setup. Lack of touch screen or phone ap setup makes setup a bit cumbersome. - Map it comes with inadequate but free ones are online. -No bluetooth sensor support. - Screen has some glare. Get a screen protector with antiglare.

Recommendation: I'm very happy with the purchase! After using phone apps to track workouts the garmin is a big improvement. May be overkill if you don't dig into your cycling data.





February 28, 2016
 
Pros: Cool to connect to strava

Cons: No turn by turn nav

Recommendation: Not for mountain biking by my opinion





February 10, 2016
 
Model/Year: 2016

Pros: light, works well, easy to use

Cons: price

Recommendation: excellent all around device, even at its price.