Garmin Edge 205 GPS Review

--
SHARES
  
AVERAGE RATING
****
4.43 out of 5
WHERE TO BUY    MSRP: $269
Loading...
By Jeff Barber    on Mar 12, 2007

0 SHARES | 6 COMMENTS
By Jeff Barber    on Oct 3, 2007

0 SHARES | 6 COMMENTS
Rider Questions
 
Members' Gear
 
Owner
owners
Top Rated Gear From Garmin
Garmin GPSMAP 60CSx
Garmin eTrex Legend HCx
Garmin Vivoactive HR
Garmin Base Camp
Garmin Edge 800
Garmin Oregon 400t
Garmin Edge 305
Garmin eTrex Vista HCx
 


January 7, 2012
 
Pros: Easy to set up with maps downloaded from Single Traks, thank goodness because I was lost.

Cons: Takes a while to "figure out" , also, no possibility of downloading maps from Garmin, etc.





June 20, 2009
 
Pros: I like all the info it can give you. easy to use and set up.

Cons: takes a little while to sync with satelites.

Recommendation: I bought this used for $70 and it was well worth it. much more info than a bike computer, much better to ttrack data for training, mapping trails, exporing, etc.





November 17, 2008
 
Pros: I agree with Trek7k......Compact size, easy to configure and use, great reception even in dense tree cover, good software included, rechargeable batteries, rugged.

Cons: Does not have the extras that is available with the Garmin 305, but besides that, none at all.

Recommendation: Great all around GPS unit for bicycling or MTB'ing.





October 29, 2007
 
Pros: Easy to use, altimeter, accuracy, coolness factor

Cons: The altimeter is kind of sketchy in the forest, no elevation profile (available in 305)

Recommendation: What a great little toy! I love this thing. It works as advertised and gives data geeks a bunch of new stats to play with. There is no on-the-fly elevation profile, but you can get that afterwards by uploading to GPS software. Also, the navigation map hasn't really done anything for me yet, but I'm still learning. I love the gobs of info you can put on the two screens though. The Google maps that you can generate from MotionBased.com come in handy too. I haven't used a few of the features on the unit, like loading maps or Virtual Partner, but I plan on trying those out real soon. It's a great inexpensive (relatively) bike computer.





April 20, 2007
 
Pros: If you like to look at numbers, this is for you. I don't train for specific events, but if I did this might be indispensable. But I love to come home and look at my data. With a Motionbased.com account (free or premium) you can really look at data. Also can export to Google Earth (very cool)

Cons: Have had some issues with having to update software to get it to work right. You have to update software on the unit itself and on your computer. A little bit of a pain to use on a Mac, but you can do it.

Recommendation: Overall good. If you like gadgets, this is a good one.





April 12, 2007
 
Pros: I love the elevation chart. I always knew how much each climb was, but I never knew how much up and down I did. Saving previous rides and then racing against them later is an awesome feature,

Cons: So far so good.





March 12, 2007
 
Pros: Compact size, easy to configure and use, great reception even in dense tree cover, good software included, rechargeable batteries, rugged.

Cons: No elevation profile view, cumbersome waypoint addition proces, no GPX export option

Recommendation: This is the fourth GPS unit I've tested on my mountain bike and it's easily the best. Garmin thought about almost everything though I think I'll upgrade to the 305 to get even more features. You can read a more detailed review on our blog: Garmin Edge 205 review



Garmin Edge 205 4.43 out of 5 based on 7 ratings. 7 user reviews.