Trek Fuel EX 6 Mountain Bike Review

--
SHARES
  
AVERAGE RATING
****
4.20 out of 5
WHERE TO BUY    MSRP: $1,430
Loading...
Rider Questions
 

-1

Q: How much does it weigh? -Guest

No answers yet.

Answer

 
Member Bikes
 
Builder
11 bikes
 
on Jan 24, 2019
on Jul 4, 2018
on Jan 27, 2016
on Nov 12, 2015
on Nov 12, 2015
 
Top Rated Gear From Trek
Trek Fuel EX
Trek Fuel EX 8
Trek 2016 Trek Top Fuel 8
Trek 4500
Trek X-Caliber 6
Trek Trek x caliber 8
Trek trek remedy 7 27.5
Trek Stache 8
 


May 13, 2011
 
Pros: GEOMETRY, REAR SUSPENSION, GRIPS

Cons: WEIGHT

Recommendation: I bought this bike practically new for $600 so I might be a little biased, but I love this bike. Handles well uphill and downhill and rides very smooth. Derailleurs are responsive and the rear supspension locks out well enough to climb like a hardtail. You'd be hard pressed to find more comfortable handle grips. I have definitely put this bike through its paces and I don't really have any complaints other than that it's a bit on the heavy side and that I, personally, prefer Shimano shifters.

ReplyWas this helpful? Yes | No




May 22, 2009
 
Pros: Nice and Smooth, the SRAM components.

Cons: Brakes (I think they were Juicy 3's)

Recommendation: This bike is ok.... however if you are buying a FS bike, I'd just spend an extra $200-300 to get the EX 7. If you look at the difference, you are getting WAY more for your money. However this bike will stand up to it's name, with the RockShox suspension how could you go wrong? Anyways I'm not positive, but I don't think you can get the EX 6 anymore. I think it's now the 6.5, in which case I don't know the difference in components.

ReplyWas this helpful? Yes | No




March 11, 2009
 
Pros: Smooth ride, handles well on tight tracks, SRAM equipment is top notch, shocks are great!

Cons: Brakes are a little difficult to adjust properly, the Bontrager bars are a bit uncomfortable

Recommendation: This was my first FS bike; I have a Trek 4300. I got this bike for a steal, so I couldn't pass it up. I immediately swapped out the Bontrager bars with my old 4300's, since I did not like the riding position; this made a world of difference. The stock saddle is suprisingly comfortable, and the SRAM X7 shifters and rear derailleur ROCK...crisp shifts, and no adjustments necessary! The bike looks sharp, and the ride is smooth and this thing carves real well. I noticed the brakes are a bit sluggish, and are a bit difficult to get adjusted properly for optimal performance. The shocks are pretty good, and this bike definitely absorbs the bumps like it should.I'm also very impressed with the tires that came with the bike; they ride real well and bite good for climbing. Although this bike is a tad on teh heavy side, it feels much lighter under normal use, and is well balanced.

ReplyWas this helpful? Yes | No




April 15, 2008
 
Pros: This is my second full suspension mt. bike in 8 years. It's a good bike for the money especially for beginners and moderately advanced.

Cons: I don't know if it was a package of where I purchased the bike, but I upgraded the brakes.

Recommendation: Great Mt. Bike for the money!!!!

ReplyWas this helpful? Yes | No




April 12, 2007
 
Pros: It's way smooth over rocks and roots. Keeps me from going over the handle bars. Not as bouncy as some others that I test rode.

Cons: Weight. It's right around 32 pounds.

Recommendation: This is my first full suspension bike, so I'm probably biased. I'm sure that the higher up models in this line are great, but for under $1500, this bike seems to have everything that you need. I just got it, so I haven't really dialed in all of the adjustments to make it perfect, but so far it's 100 times a nicer ride than my old hard tail.

ReplyWas this helpful? Yes | No


Trek Fuel EX 6 4.20 out of 5 based on 5 ratings. 5 user reviews.