Santa Cruz Heckler Mountain Bike Review

--
SHARES
  
AVERAGE RATING
*****
4.92 out of 5
WHERE TO BUY    MSRP: $2,400
Loading...
Rider Questions
 

3

Q: what year is this bike -Guest

No answers yet.

Answer

 
Member Bikes
 
Builder
100 bikes
 
6 days ago
on Aug 7, 2019
on May 28, 2019
on Feb 17, 2019
  danwrw
on Jan 12, 2019
 
Product Options (1)
Santa Cruz Heckler 5.0
 


May 1, 2015
 
Model/Year: 2013

Pros: Climbs well and is awesome on the DH. Great bang for the buck!

Cons: none weight maybe a little.





February 15, 2012
 
Pros: Everything

Cons: None yet

Recommendation: Got the frame online from bike junkie for an amazing deal, built it from there. That was a few years ago and have not looked back since. I do believe I'm going to ride this bike until well hopefully forever....





January 15, 2012
 
Pros: Pedaling, climbing, descending, confidence inspiring and always looking to jump back on the saddle. The only bike you need!!!

Cons: I have a 08 and the head snapped off the pinch bolt for rear triangle. I have 1200 miles on it and no other complaints.

Recommendation: Some whine and say it is heavy. Its an ALL mountain bike and it does have balls. If your a weight weinie then go get your carbon XC bike and enjoy. As for me weight is not an issue and i run a fox 36 Van (coil) and coil rear with dhx 5.0. Can't run it much heavier than that. I love this bike so much that i also have a bullit and a superlight.





November 17, 2011
 
Model/Year: heckler 2011

Pros: Almost Everything. Function, Price, durability, handling, build options, simplicity. It's all good

Cons: nothing!

Recommendation: This is a great bike. You can build this bike into a freeride beast or an XC sprinter. It handles all terrain with ease and is pretty much bomb-proof. It's affordable, works in any situation, has great geometry, and looks fantastic.





February 28, 2010
 
Pros: the geometry is good for my size, strong bike for trail and perfect for all xc track, trail or just fooling around.

Cons: non so far........the weight is not a big deal for a big guy like me.

Recommendation: this is the FS for big boys like me im 6'4" 275lbs and no complain this big is a true do it all bike for trail, xc track and any thing else you can think off doing with it.





October 9, 2009
 
Pros: bike does it all.

Cons: weight and continully hit calves on bottom triangle.

Recommendation: awesome bike. heavy bike but if you can afford it, you probally are serious about biking and have the fitness to overcome bkes weight





July 10, 2009
 
Pros: Everything - handling, simplicity, downhill fun, durability, price, looks

Cons: Nothing

Recommendation: An incredible bike. Just recently upgraded to this from a Fisher hardtail 29er, and it took me about 4 miles to get feeling comfortable on it (after never having owned a dualie). The 6" of travel are great, just smooths out the entire trail, floating over everything. Handles amazingly. I guess it's a little heavy, but my answer to people that ask that is "Quit being a p****y." Climbing sucks no matter what bike you're on, might as well have an awesome time on the downhill. Just point this hog downhill and let it fly, you hardly have to do anything. Confidence-inspiring, riding sections of trail I've never been able to (even climbing). Buy this bike!! Unreal bike at a great price





December 26, 2008
 
Pros: Handling,acceleration,cornering,bomb proof frame.

Cons: bottle cage do not fit in small frame

Recommendation: very strong bike be carefull with paint you can apply a layer of clear to protect finish





September 30, 2008
 
Pros: Well built simple suspension with very little to go wrong with it.

Cons: Tends to feel heavy when ridden and built up with longer travel components.

Recommendation: A great bike but choose wisely the components you put on this rig, the weight can pack on quickly. The bike i rode had a mix of X.9, raceface atlas, fox float 36 and mavic crossmax st with 20mm up front...It was 30lb on the "fish scale"...It took hits great but a bit of effort on the climbs.





July 14, 2007
 
Cons: Are You Kidding!!!

Recommendation: If you want a NO BS single pivot(read -hassle free!!) xc trail bike that can be raced-both xc and dh- or just for farting around on the trails,be they in your backyard or Whistler!! This is the bike to have!!!



Santa Cruz Heckler 4.92 out of 5 based on 12 ratings. 12 user reviews.