Salsa Big Mama XT Mountain Bike Review

--
SHARES
  
AVERAGE RATING
*****
4.75 out of 5
WHERE TO BUY    MSRP: $?
Loading...
I Want One  
Rider Questions
 
Member Bikes
 
Builder
5 bikes
 
  GPzGuy
on Jul 24, 2018
  GPzGuy
on Jul 24, 2018
on Jan 16, 2016
on Nov 9, 2015
on Feb 16, 2014
 
Product Options (1)
Salsa Big Mama SRAM
 


October 16, 2011
 
Pros: I bought the Big Mama frame online and transferred my XTR components from my other bike. Avid Elixer brakes and Rock Shox Reba fork...the bike is everything they say it is! Handles great, comfortable on long rides, and climbs like a goat (in pro-pedal setting). Love it!!

Cons: Paint. I bought clear protective film from 3M and applied to the frame in pcs - really worked well but frame still gets scratched up really easy. Chain suck complaints from other reviews has not been an issue (think it happened twice in 2 seasons)

Recommendation: Great bike and super value

ReplyWas this helpful? Yes | No




November 6, 2010
 
Pros: Rigid frame, nimble turns, great suspension, ligthweight for the price.

Cons: Sits a little high and forward.

Recommendation: it's my first 29er and I love it. I've only got 6 rides on it, but find it to be a great bike for the price. Bought it from a guy who fully customized it. I'm sure it's good with stock components though. Better with after market as I have it. Cool to have a good ride that you won't likely find anyone else owns. Great on uphill and handles technical down hill very well and with agility on tight turns.

ReplyWas this helpful? Yes | No




May 25, 2010
 
Pros: The bike is beautiful with great lines and a great color. I have the complete model with XT components and I am very impressed, although I have not had any prior experience with bikes as nice as this. On rough sections of trail, the suspension performs masterfully, yet with pro-pedal on, you can climb like a champ and it feels almost as stable as a hardtail. If you lock out the fork and put the shock in propedal, its totally solid.

Cons: I had some chain suck problems (chain dropping off the small chain ring and getting stuck between the first chain ring and the chain stay) with the Race Face Deus crankset that came with the complete bike, but now that I've installed an XT crankset I have had no further problems.

Recommendation: Go for it. Big Mama rallys.

ReplyWas this helpful? Yes | No




April 6, 2010
 
Pros: Quality, great lines, overall stance and ride is outstanding.

Cons: The paint is beautiful, but thin. You can tell it will become a problem before you even get it home.

Recommendation: Great bike, I really enjoy every moment on it. I just hope to get the gumption to go an buy it. The quality of it really takes center stage though.

ReplyWas this helpful? Yes | No


Salsa Big Mama XT 4.75 out of 5 based on 4 ratings. 4 user reviews.