Giant Trance X3 Mountain Bike Review

--
SHARES
  
AVERAGE RATING
*****
4.50 out of 5
WHERE TO BUY    MSRP: $2,050
Loading...
Rider Questions
 
Member Bikes
 
Builder
23 bikes
 
on Jun 2, 2013
  Guest
on Jul 28, 2019
on Jun 10, 2019
  Guest
on Apr 24, 2019
  Guest
on Jan 16, 2019
 
Top Rated Gear From Giant
Giant Trance
2017 Giant Talon 3
Giant Contact Switch Remote Seatpost
Giant Giant Trance 27.5 2
Giant Trance
Giant Giant Trance Advanced 27.5 2
Giant Fathom 2 27.5
Giant Anthem X 29er 1
 


August 20, 2012
 
Model/Year: 2011

Pros: An extremely versatile whip. Great balance between the durability and strength of all-mountain and light weight of cross-country rigs. A very good introduction to full-suspension riding.

Cons: Heavy. Not much way around it. (Though for a low- to mid-range full-suspension rig, it's definitely not bad.) Not a fan of the stock tires.

Recommendation: If you're looking in the low $2k range, this is the way to go. It's tough, reasonably priced, and very versatile.





February 19, 2012
 
Model/Year: 2010

Pros: 5" of travel, decent weight, bike sits good and is comfortable, great brakes, makes climbs seem easy

Cons: switched to the kenda small block's, changed the stem and handlebars to stronger azonic shorty stem and azonic world force bar. grips could be a little better too.

Recommendation: You get some real high quality components for a good price. Great bike for someone who is just starting, you will go outside of your comfort zone on the trails if you ride this bike.





November 9, 2011
 




September 9, 2011
 
Model/Year: giant trance x3 2010

Pros: I liked everything about this bike until about 2 weeks after purchasing it when it's particular problems first started to show.

Cons: Both wheels ( I can only guess it is the rims) continually destroy tubes - the tubes ALWAYS tear open in exactly the same spot(where the valve joins the tube) and can't be repaired. I've tried replacing the rim-tapes, altering pressures, buying different brand tubes from different shops, not screwing down the circular valve nut, etc). Eventually I took it back to the bike shop but they just said they'd never heard of this problem and suggested maybe my pump was faulty (!!). I've had maybe 2 dozen tubes blow out - sometimes they last 2-3 days, sometimes a week or 3. I've ridden for 10 years (I'm a daily commuter) and have never had a problem like this. In desperation I'm probably going to have to replace both rims and hope that that works unless someone can suggest something I haven't tried yet. This bike has cost me approx $200 in tubes over the 12 months I've owned it and if I replace the rims it will cost me a lot more. I'd like to sell it but don't want to pass the problem on to someone else.

Recommendation: I don't wish to condemn this model as all I've ever read about it is positive. But the one I bought is a lemon - maybe made on a Monday morning or Friday afternoon. I have always bought Trek in th past and in coparison they have always been bomb proof - my next bike will be a Trek and I'm afraid I'll never go near a Giant ever again.





June 3, 2010
 
Pros: Awesome bike! Climbs like a goat. I'm 155 lbs and I have Medium frame, it is super light. This bike is fast

Cons: none

Recommendation: I have told all my friends about it and yes I would recommend it. I can only imagine how the Trance xo performs.





November 9, 2009
 
Pros: Rides Great! 5" of travel, nice geometry, great components for the price..

Cons: none so far

Recommendation: bought as a 09" close-out. great bike in this price range. had a Specialized FSRxc Pro and this bike is hands down better in ride and overall feel. Suspension is killer.



Giant Trance X3 4.50 out of 5 based on 6 ratings. 6 user reviews.