Cannondale Prophet Mountain Bike Review

--
SHARES
  
AVERAGE RATING
****
4.43 out of 5
WHERE TO BUY    MSRP: $?
Loading...
Rider Questions
 

0

Q: What year did the first Prophet come out? -Guest

A: I got mine the year it came out (ish), 2004

Will Stone answered on October 22, 2019. Did you find this helpful? Yes | No

Answer

 
Member Bikes
 
Builder
26 bikes
 
on Oct 8, 2019
  Guest
on Jul 25, 2019
on Jul 22, 2019
  Guest
on Apr 21, 2019
  Guest
on Jan 12, 2019
 
Product Options (4)
Cannondale Prophet 2
Cannondale Prophet 3
Cannondale Prophet 4
Cannondale Prophet 5
 


August 22, 2012
 
Model/Year: prophet 5/2007

Pros: Sturdy frame,lefty fork rocks, good travel, awesome switching between xc & fr

Cons: Little heavy by current standards above 30lbs lefty fork having to have bearing reset often.

Recommendation: Love it would buy again.





April 19, 2012
 
Pros: It's a beauty in the way down. My bike has a Fox Fork instead the Lefty

Cons: the weight, maybe changing some parts for a lighter ones could be helpful

Recommendation: Despite the weight, this bike really can climb and is amazing in the way down. Strongly reccomended





July 29, 2011
 
Model/Year: 2006

Pros: Good travel, nice comps, light, solid frame. Great all mountian bike.

Cons: The lefty, it's a good shock but it makes the bike unbalanced and hard to use with any fork mount bike rack.

Recommendation: All and all I have had it 4 years now and still rides great. Next a 29er hard tail





August 24, 2009
 
Pros: Stout frame, good components, the Lefty absolutely ROCKS, the single pivot suspension works great. This is the perfect bike for me for all-mountain, trail riding.

Cons: Not really a product weakness, but more of a user setup issue: I initially set the rear shock to 200psi to match my body weight (like on my previous bike), and suffered from too much rebound. I went OTB on a downhill and taco-ed my front wheel, and also banged up my knee (and ego). I took the air pressure down to about 180 and it is perfect. Figure the rear air at about 85-90% of your body weight, and you'll be all set.

Recommendation: I did my research and decided Made-In-USA is important to me (I'm a Veteran), and Cannondale's integrated system approach makes total sense to me (I'm also a Mac freak). I wound up taking a few weeks deciding between the Cannondale Rush and Prophet, and visited a Cannondale dealer twenty miles from home to ride both, but they couldn't get either bike in stock without me committing to buy one. Scott's Cycle in Salem OR (40 miles away) had both models in my size, so I rode both in one day (plus some other comparable models), and made my decision, which I am 100% happy with. Let me put it another way: If something happened to my Cannondale Prophet, I would not hesitate to get another one.





February 25, 2008
 
Pros: This bike handles about anything you want to throw at it, if you just put minimal effort into tuning your suspension accordingly. I've ridden it on everything from the sandhills of east Carolina, to some of the gnarliest trails and rock gardens in the west end of the state. Obviously some trails favor a hardtail, but this bike climbs very well, too. It is undoubtedly perfect for "eastern" style riding. The more mud, roots and rocks you have, the more you'll appreciate the Prophet.

Cons: the stock rotors gave me some problems at first, with chattering and the like... Maybe those aren't crucial issues, but when paying as much for a bike as I did this one, I fully expect everything to work fine, out of the box. On the bright side, Cannondale (via my dealer) straightened it all out to my satisfaction, and at no cost to me. One other note: Ensure when ordering this bike, you specify which spring you need in the fork. I'm a little heavier and ended up upgrading to the heaviest spring.

Recommendation: Obviously this is an expensive bike, so you're likely already an experienced rider if you're even shopping around in this category. But my recommendation is anyone who is capable enough to put this bike trough its paces, in some all-day epic rides, or thrash-fests. It's like the AK-47 of bicycles; it handles everything, and works even better when it's filthy.





May 3, 2007
 
Pros: Great feel for the trail, many super components, and almost affordable.

Cons: Avid Juicy 7 brakes might be a good XC race brakes, but they are the only weakness to this bike.

Recommendation: With 5.5 inches of SVP ìsquishî the Prophet 3 is more than a fully capable trail bike that can dabble in Black diamond, free ride arena. Do not let the ìLeftyísî complex appearance fool you, this is a complication free do it all trail bike that is just plain fun to ride! Before you buy another bike you have to try this thing out. The other prophet models 4-6 will get you same frame but the bike works best in the 3 model and better, do to the suspension set up.





April 30, 2007
 
Pros: This is my first Full Susp. bike so everything about it right now is a pro. Hydro breaks work very well. Lefty is cool, I had to purchase a heavier spring though. After the spring replacement the pedal bob was gone. I can sleep through more technical trails because of how easy it is to maneuver, even at high speeds.

Cons: started to make a funny noise after second time out. But i am not worried about it, i guess its somewhat normal.

Recommendation: I think the sizing chart is off a bit. Make sure to test ride acouple of sizes before making a purchase. REI was kind enough to exchange my bike. FYI. they had a couple of Prophet 600's for $1150 which is a steal. I purchased my prophet 4 for $1700, which is also a great price. Wait for the store wide %15 off sale. REI let me purchase the bike at full price then bring my recpt. back in for the refund.



Cannondale Prophet 4.43 out of 5 based on 7 ratings. 7 user reviews.