Shimano Alivio Derailleur Review

--
SHARES
  
AVERAGE RATING
****
4.07 out of 5
WHERE TO BUY    MSRP: $?
Loading...
Rider Questions
 

2

Q: which one is better alivio rd or altus rd -Guest

A: Alivio is better than Altus however both of these derailleurs are not high end.

Jon C answered on May 22, 2019. Did you find this helpful? Yes | No

Answer

 
Members' Gear
 
Owner
owners
Product Options (1)
Shimano Alivio SL-M410
 


January 3, 2018
 
Model/Year: 2015

Pros: Shifts smooth. Durable. Don't have to adjust very often. Cheap. I purchased this derailer several years ago to replace the shimano tourney that my bike came factory with. It was a huge improvement.

Cons: None that I have found for the price

Recommendation: If you are looking for a inexpensive derailer this is worth a look. I have been using this one for 2 or 3 years with a mix of commuting and trail. Had to replace the jockey wheels once but Thats just normal wear





March 26, 2017
 
Model/Year: 2015

Pros: Mostly set it and forget it Deals well with mud Durable springs and pivots

Cons: Keeps missing 8th gear no matter how much i tune it

Recommendation: Buy this on your way up to Deore SLX or XT





October 10, 2016
 
Model/Year: 2015

Pros: Smooth, simple, relatively inexpensive. I really like this shifter.





January 4, 2015
 
Model/Year: 2013

Pros: -Very smooth shifting
-Great durability
-Long lasting

Recommendation: I like this rear derailleur very much. It shifts very well going up hills, and performs well. Just BTW, it will work much better and last a lot longer if you keep it cleaned and greased.





December 13, 2013
 
Pros: Smooth shifting
Ability to fine tune

Cons: It takes some time to fine tune it
Not very effective after riding on bumpy singletrack after a while. Frequently requires adjustment

Recommendation: The derailleur is not bad if you have it stock on your bike. It takes some time to fine tune it. If you want better performance than spend some more money on the higher end models.





December 12, 2012
 
Pros: - inexpensive
- durable

Cons: - shirt cage
- needs a lot of adjusting
- needs a lot of feathering to find the gears.

Recommendation: This derailuer came stock on a Gary Fisher I aquired. It worked well enough for lite road and logging road/ rails trails riding, but when it comes to real trails it performs subpar to other models available. An upgrade would do wonders for your riding.





January 6, 2012
 
Pros: Cost effective, durable, and works well.

Cons: Needs frequent adjustment.

Recommendation: Works well enough for what I do, but it needs tuning fairly often. When it becomes dirty or muddy you can feel it working harder.





December 7, 2010
 
Pros: Cheap.
Works ok.

Cons: Cheap.
Nothing really bad. It worked fine for me.

Recommendation: This came stock on my Specialized Rockhopper and gave me no issues. I ended up with an 'extra' XT when I built my full suspension bike and gave this to a friend. It is still chugging along on his bike, several years later now.





November 30, 2010
 
Pros: Cheap

Cons: Not as durable as some nicer derailleurs

Recommendation: This derailleur provides reasonable performance in an affordable package, but isn't as durable or as crisp as a nicer XT derailleur





August 16, 2009
 
Pros: shifts fast cheap

Cons: nothing

Recommendation: great shifts very well for a lower end rear derailleur



Shimano Alivio 4.07 out of 5 based on 16 ratings. 16 user reviews.