Cateye MC100W Wireless Cycling Computer Review

--
SHARES
  
AVERAGE RATING
*****
4.90 out of 5
WHERE TO BUY    MSRP: $?
Loading...
Rider Questions
 
Members' Gear
 
Owner
owners
 
Top Rated Gear From Cateye
Cateye TL-LD1100
Cateye Velo 2
Cateye Enduro 8
Cateye Micro Wireless
Cateye Cateye Velo 7
Cateye Strada Wireless
Cateye VELO 1
Cateye Cadence
 


December 12, 2013
 
Pros: Good computer, calibrates well, displays information clearly

Cons: black light does not work well in dark conditions





April 28, 2012
 
Pros: Small, large screen, great functionality

Cons: Sensor battery does not last long and light button is difficult to press, especially in gloves.

Recommendation: Good bit of kit, especially the cable free aspect. Lots of functions and provides more than enough information especially for the price.





July 27, 2011
 
Pros: Large readout, 2 year + battery life, Automatic or manual start/stop of ride timer. A/B functions to keep track of overall trip and individual legs. Light. Easy to setup/operate

Cons: Mounts are flimsy and even though I have never lost mine, I worry about it coming off every time I take a minor tumble. Does not register slow walking speed. Spoke magnet needs occasional adjusting (might be normal)

Recommendation: Overall I really like this computer. Considerably better than my old Axiom (it eats batteries for breakfast). I have had mine for 2.5 years on my MTB and it never fails me. Basic and simple to operate. Easy on the wallet.





December 3, 2010
 
Pros: Large speed display.
Instant average speed indication.
Easy menu system.
Wireless for no mess.
Rugged enough for trail riding.
Provides enough information for most riders.
Ability to set for two bikes/wheels is useful.

Cons: Lost my first one after a fall and the latch had worn so didn't retain the head unit. Light is of minimal use and difficult to operate when attached to the stem.

Recommendation: Overall this is an excellent everyday bike computer. The menu system is quite simple and doesn't take long to master. Versatility of two wheel/bike options is useful.
I'm on my third in 7 years and they have been very reliable. Definitely recommended.





November 19, 2010
 
Pros: Keeps most all the stats that you will probably need for a trail ride. Battery seems to last a while.

Cons: More zip ties would be nice with the purchase.

Recommendation: This rig does all the average rider will need for a good cost.





September 22, 2010
 
Pros: Easy to set up. Large numbers make it easy to read while you ride.

Cons: None yet. Wary now of battery life from earlier review.

Recommendation: This does exactly what I need it to do. Easy to set up and mount onto your bike. Highy recommended





May 17, 2009
 
Pros: Works well, no wires

Cons: Batteries die pretty quickly.

Recommendation: Works well once dialed in right, lots of functions. But it will eat batteries, if you wanna keep your odometer milage and do not keep it on file for battery changing you are screwed.





April 10, 2009
 
Pros: Small and versitile. This computer has everything that you need to keep track of your rides and can be used on 2 different bikes. Easily mounts to your bike and easy to read. The system is put together great.

Cons: Once its mounted, dont mess with the mounts, can sometimes be hard to dial in.

Recommendation: go get one, there great.





March 24, 2009
 
Pros: Small and light. Mounts easily to handlebar or stem (my preference). No wires to run or get tangled/snagged. easy to operate. nice display that is easy to read while moving down the trails.

Cons: backlight is a cheap system like on the digital watches from the '80's. You can't see the whole screen. Should have some sort of EL/"indiglo" style light.

Recommendation: Great computer that has been very accurate and hasn'tlet me down in 4 years. recommended since most peoiple don't ride in the dark anyway...





July 28, 2005
 
Recommendation: Great computer. Easy to use. Includes two settings for different sized tires or multiple bikes. Has everything except cadence. Wireless. Directions are only weakness, but still easy setup.



Cateye MC100W Wireless 4.90 out of 5 based on 10 ratings. 10 user reviews.