Shimano XT M785 Disc Brake Brake Review

--
SHARES
  
AVERAGE RATING
*****
4.81 out of 5
WHERE TO BUY    MSRP: $160
Loading...
By Greg Heil    on Sep 19, 2016

2 SHARES | 6 COMMENTS
Rider Questions
 

0

Q: is the brake power instantly there or are they slightly spongy -Guest

A: I think the range of these brakes is excellent. Just make sure you "burn" them in properly.

UneasyRider answered on June 25, 2015. Did you find this helpful? Yes | No

Answer

 
Members' Gear
 
Owner
owners
Top Rated Gear From Shimano
Shimano XT M785 Trail Pedal
Shimano XTR 970 Rapid Rise Rear
Shimano XT Front
Shimano Deore XT M780 Shadow
Shimano M530 SPD
Shimano Saint M820
Shimano Deore XT M780, 10 speed
Shimano Deore LX Hollowtech II
 


March 30, 2017
 
Model/Year: 2015

Pros: Great breaking power. Aesthetics on par.

Cons: none.

Recommendation: BUY





March 18, 2016
 
Model/Year: 2015

Pros: Great stopping power, low noise factor

Cons: none

Recommendation: I recommend these over Avids any day, who needs a bike bell when you have avids...squeak, squeak.





March 18, 2016
 
Model/Year: 2011

Pros: Great shifting, durable.

Cons: none

Recommendation: I have had multiple of these over the years, only had one that malfunctioned which was due to a tiny screw falling out the bottom and the thing flew apart. Other than that they have been great. Always shifts smooth.





March 16, 2016
 
Model/Year: 2016

Pros: - excellent stopping power
- easily adjustable
- durable and reliable

Cons: - modulation

Recommendation: The Shimano XT disc brakes are an easy winner when comparing against other offerings. If you're budget is limited, I rate the Shimano SLX brakes higher in regards to value.





March 15, 2016
 
Pros: Excellent reliability, fantastic quality, looks great and stops you when you need it. Bleeding is fortunately not required very often for mineral oil, and lever stroke adjust is straightforward and easy

Cons: Modulation is not as good as the competition, in fact in comparison it feels like only an on/off. The levers are also encouraging of a two-finger activation, but these are all compromises that are worth the extreme reliability.

Recommendation: If you have the option, buy these. XTs are the best value Hydro set on the market today. I like the modulation of SRAM, but it's not worth the added potential for a lack of reliability.





February 14, 2016
 
Model/Year: 2014

Pros: One finger Stop at all speeds
iSpec

Cons: none

Recommendation: Make sure they are properly bleed





October 2, 2015
 
Model/Year: 2013

Pros: Great stopping power, easy to service

Cons: Nothing

Recommendation: Love em





June 25, 2015
 
Model/Year: 2015

Pros: Smooth braking, great range, sensitive.

Cons: Sensitive to dirt.

Recommendation: I had some trouble when I first got these brakes, because I hadn't burned them in properly. There are many step-by-steps online to tell you how to do this. Also, brake pads contaminate extremely easily. I've had to clean and sand these twice now. I don't mind doing any of these because when these brakes are adjusted and clean, they work phenomenally.





November 4, 2014
 
Model/Year: 2014

Pros: responsive
easy to activate

Cons: nothing

Recommendation: best brakes i've ridden





June 17, 2014
 
Model/Year: 2012

Pros: Stopping Power
Modulation
Smooth
Well Built
Easy to Bleed

Cons: None.

Recommendation: These brakes absolutely rule! They are so smooth that braking is effortless! I used to get hand fatigue pretty bad on long rides with my old BB7's, but never even close with these! They modulate nicely, so I never find myself accidently locking them up either like I used to with my mechanicals. Don't get me wrong though, if you feel like you need to lock them up, you can lock them up, you just don't need to go all Mach Man to get them to stick!



Shimano XT M785 Disc Brake 4.81 out of 5 based on 16 ratings. 16 user reviews.