Avid BB7 Brake Review

--
SHARES
  
AVERAGE RATING
*****
4.63 out of 5
WHERE TO BUY    MSRP: $90
Loading...
Rider Questions
 

0

Q: Do you remove steel spring on top of pads after install -Guest

No answers yet.

Answer

 
Members' Gear
 
Owner
owners
Top Rated Gear From Avid
Avid X0 Trail
Avid Juicy Ultimate
Avid Elixir CR (X9)
Avid Code Disc Brake
Avid Elixir R
Avid Rollamajig
Avid Elixir 9
Avid Avid G2CS
 


July 21, 2018
 
Model/Year: 2009

Pros: Easily adjusted. Simple to maintain. Very reliable and long-lasting. Solid stopping power - especially if you have large rotors. Seem to be the best mechanicals out there. Very affordable.

Cons: Obviously not as powerful as hydraulics or have as much modulation.

Recommendation: If you don't want the price and hassle of hydraulics, these are a good option. Steer away from the BB5s by Avid, though. They are less-expensive, but very difficult to adjust. BB7s will work for years and years.





January 19, 2016
 
Pros: Looks good Stops great Low maintenance Simple setup

Cons: None

Recommendation: Been Rollin on BB7's since 2004. Bulletproof performance and value





January 17, 2016
 
Model/Year: 2015

Pros: Easy installation and set up. Great stopping power for a mechanical disc brake.

Cons: None so far.

Recommendation: I purchased as an upgrade when installing new forks. They were very easy to set up and I've experienced no rubbing. Easy to modulate. I would recommend to anyone that wants great stopping power without the hassle of hydraulics.





June 25, 2015
 
Recommendation: Best mechanical disc brake I have ever used.





March 10, 2015
 
Model/Year: MTB version

Pros: Easy adjustments
Good pad choices
Low maintenance

Cons: Less modulation than hydros
Less max power than hydros

Recommendation: Very happy with them, but just upgraded to a downhill brake.





January 7, 2015
 
Pros: Easy adjustment from either side of caliper.
Great stopping power.
No hydraulic fluid to mess with.

Recommendation: Love them! Super easy to maintain and adjust.





December 20, 2014
 
Pros: Hands down the best mechanical break out there

Cons: Constant adjustment

Recommendation: I ran these on my SS for a bit , just got tired of the constant break rub especially on the front. The stopping power is excellent but I opted for shimano hydraulic.





September 6, 2014
 
Pros: Super simple set up Great stopping power Dependable

Cons: My only con here is constant adjustments required due to cable stretch and pad wear... You're going to have that with any brake.

Recommendation: Buy 'em, ride 'em, love 'em





May 30, 2014
 
Model/Year: 2014

Pros: easy to install
easy to adjust
great stopping power

Cons: squeaky pads

Recommendation: great for someone that doesn't wan't to mess with hydraulic brakes





May 20, 2014
 
Pros: Simple to adjust

Cons: Pads squawk easy

Recommendation: Best brakes I have ever owned. We'll worth the money and excellent stopping power!



Avid BB7 4.63 out of 5 based on 42 ratings. 42 user reviews.