Bontrager 5mm Bottle Cage Bottle Cage Review

--
SHARES
  
AVERAGE RATING
****
4.10 out of 5
WHERE TO BUY    MSRP: $8
Loading...
Rider Questions
 
Members' Gear
 
Owner
owners
Top Rated Gear From Bontrager
Bontrager Shock Pump
Bontrager Basic Seat Pack
Bontrager Race Saddle
Bontrager Tire Lever
Bontrager Trip 5W
Bontrager Bontrager Flare 1 Taillight
Bontrager Bontrager flat pack pouch
Bontrager Earl
 


April 18, 2016
 
Pros: cheap
light

Cons: bottle falls out





March 19, 2016
 
Pros: Slotted mount system makes install ridiculously easy, bendable, durable, easy to use

Cons: Doesn't look as pro as some may want

Recommendation: I love these cages, moving them around is super easy if you ever need to since they have the large hole to slot over and slide down under the bolt. Great buy if you don't mind the metal cage as opposed to a fancy plastic/carbon thing.





February 25, 2016
 
Pros: Test

Cons: Test





April 4, 2015
 
Pros: Light and many colors to chose from

Cons: None





December 20, 2014
 
Cons: Didn't last very long before breaking.

Recommendation: I had this cage on my kids bikes. They lasted a few weeks before the aluminum wore through.





December 21, 2012
 
Pros: Cheap
Bendable
Cheap
Unbreakable
Cheap

Cons: None

Recommendation: This bottle cage not only holds regular cycling water bottles, but also holds disposable bottles with a little bend of the cage. When I worked for the bike shop, we sold about 100 of these a week because they just worked. It is that simple. Oh, did I mention they are cheap?





December 19, 2012
 
Pros: - light wieght
- standard
- its a classic

Cons: - only holds the plastic waterbottles
- if you are using one of these you dont have a hydration pack!

Recommendation: This is your typical run of the mill bottle cage, nothing exciting. I would definately recommend ditching the bottles all together and get yourself a hydration pack!





August 14, 2009
jpo
 
Pros: Light, inexpensive, holds soft plastic bottles very well.

Cons: Won't hold anything other than "traditional" bottles

Recommendation: Bought on clearance at LBS, didn't really need a cage but figured what the hell. Like has been said, really holds soft plastic bottles well, Nalgenes and the like not so much. Still, usually only wanted to hold the plastic bottles anyway!





March 23, 2009
 
Pros: Holds soft plastic bottles with ease.

Cons: Didn't hold my hard plastic nalgene bottles, frequently dumped them on the trail after sharp turns or bumpy sections. Scratched the hard plastic when riding.

Recommendation: Overall a good bottle cage, my issues are more of a personal choice and I upgraded to the new nylon RL cage and haven't had any of the issues listed above.





October 8, 2008
 
Pros: It works with all my bottles

Cons: Expensive piece of aluminum for you bottle.

Recommendation: I have three of them and so far so good I will end up buying more if needed



Bontrager 5mm Bottle Cage 4.10 out of 5 based on 10 ratings. 10 user reviews.