* Mastering Mountain Bike Skills Book Review

--
SHARES
  
AVERAGE RATING
*****
4.82 out of 5
WHERE TO BUY    MSRP: $22
Loading...
Rider Questions
 
Member Bikes
 
Builder
12 bikes
 
  Guest
on Jul 24, 2019
  Guest
on Apr 21, 2019
on Jan 27, 2019
  Guest
on Jan 11, 2019
on Jul 13, 2017
 
Top Rated Gear From *
* Decline
* Sport Legs
* RWC Seal and Wiper Press Tool
* Bike
* Switchback - Fuel for the trail
* Front Range Single Tracks: The Best Single-Track Trails Near Denver & Boulder
* Mountain Biking Southeastern Wyoming: Downsized!
* BV Bicycle Strap-On Saddle Bag
 


June 11, 2018
 
Pros: Very well written and organized. Great information that will help you ride better.

Cons: None

Recommendation: Yep, a good read. Got my copy on eBay for $3.98! That has to be the deal of the century on such a great book. Get a copy. You will likely enjoy reading it.





December 18, 2013
 
Model/Year: 2012

Pros: Easy to follow. Good pictures. Very informative.

Recommendation: I picked this book up when I started to get into mountain biking. I found it to be very helpful and easy to understand.





December 16, 2013
 
Model/Year: 2012

Pros: Great. Funny.

Cons: none

Recommendation: Buy it. Read it. Do it. Read it again. Do it again.





December 15, 2012
 
Model/Year: second edition

Pros: Great advice and photos. Who better to speak to you about bike handling and riding skills than the great Brian Lopes. The trials moves section was a real eye opener.

Cons: A couple of videos breaking down some of the movers would really have helped visualize the process.

Recommendation: After hearing that there is an E-reader version of this book in existence I would probably rate it a 5 of 5. If they have incorporated some short vids of some of the techniques it would be one the best instructional tools out there.





December 10, 2012
 
Model/Year: 2011

Pros: Awesome advice, pictures, knowledgable author

Cons: none

Recommendation: This is a must read for every new AND experienced mountain biker





May 26, 2012
 
Model/Year: 2005

Pros: Inexpensive, full of advice and knowledge, includes pictures, interesting

Cons: None

Recommendation: I got this for my kindle; the eBook is even cheaper than the new version, and powered through it. I have started working on my skills as the book suggest, one at a time. I am using this book to slowly increase my skills and increase my fun factor. I recommend everyone, who does or wants to mountain bike, take a look at this book for a wealth of knowledge.





January 10, 2010
 
Pros: Covers all mountain bike disciplines, thorough, easy to understand, tons of step-by-step pictures and peppered with a little humor.

Cons: Nope!

Recommendation: Great book for little tips and pointers here and there. It's a book you just need to open a couple times a week and read a few paragraphs. You will learn how to improve your riding little bits at a time.





June 16, 2009
 
Pros: Helps you avoid the Trial and Error..which can be painful on the error end. It will take seconds if not minutes off your rides..get you home in one piece and add a mountain of confidence.

Cons: Zilch

Recommendation: A great book that covers a wide swath of riding types and skill sets from XC..Free..DH etc. Hoping it will help out on the desire to pump more speed out of the turns on race day.





June 1, 2009
 
Pros: Just as GG & Bomb posted! Great book covering everything with great pics. Great book for riders of all skill levels and disciplines.

Cons: None

Recommendation: Pick up a copy and let it help you improve your skills and riding disciplines.





May 22, 2009
 
Pros: Nice pics to help describe the topics covered. Many riding styles covered. Sections on bike setup and handling.

Cons: Nada

Recommendation: My girl bough this book for me about a year ago and it definitely instilled confidence in my riding abilities. It not only makes you want to go out and ride but gives you ideas for a goal to accomplish on your ride as well. Pick up a copy and enjoy.



* Mastering Mountain Bike Skills 4.82 out of 5 based on 11 ratings. 11 user reviews.