Sette Reken Mountain Bike Review

--
SHARES
  
AVERAGE RATING
*****
5.00 out of 5
WHERE TO BUY    MSRP: $350
Loading...
I Want One  
Rider Questions
 
Member Bikes
 
Builder
8 bikes
 
  Guest
on Apr 21, 2019
  Guest
on Jan 11, 2019
  tvdog
on Jan 26, 2017
on Dec 12, 2013
on Dec 12, 2013
 
Top Rated Gear From Sette
Sette Element
Sette Hook-It Vertical Bike Mount
Sette ST-020AG
Sette Phantom Vexx
Sette Razzo SC X7
Sette Quick Release Front Fender
Sette Reken
Sette Ace
 


April 21, 2011
 
Pros: Fun geometry, stiff, light, matte black looks good, crazy cheap

Cons: Head angle is so slack if you try to go above 100mm fork travel, it's like riding a chopper. Stick with 80-100mm and it's great.

Recommendation: The Reken has been good to me for 3 years as my main bike. Parted out a cheap Raleigh with a cracked BB - mostly deore components - and have been slowly upgrading every time something fails me. The Reken has stood up to all the abuse I can give it. I recommend it to anyone who wants an aluminum hardtail and cares more about the ride than the name on their bike.

ReplyWas this helpful? Yes | No




September 23, 2009
 
Pros: Sette Reken Hardtail 18" frame
RockShox Recon Race 100mm fork
Mavic Crossride Disc Wheels
Race Face Evolve XC crankset w/ RF chain rings
Race Face Evolve XC flat bars 24"
Race Face Deus XC 120mm stem
Race Face Evolve XC seatpost
Shimano LX Disc Brakeset
Shimano Deore shifters
Shimano LX Front Derailleur
Shimano XTR Rear Derailluer
Sram PG-990 cassette
ODI lock-on grips

Cons: None for now.....

Recommendation: Very lightweight & smooth riding.....very happy to have this MTB as a second backup ride.

ReplyWas this helpful? Yes | No




August 1, 2009
 
Pros: Cheap. Fun geometry.

Cons: Paint chips. No way to attach the included cable stops to the frame (but they're not necessary).

Recommendation: I finished the build, hopped on the bike for a ride around the neighborhood, and couldn't stop grinning. Slack headtube angle, low-ish bottom bracket, shorter chainstays, feels like riding my old BMX. It's a $90 hardtail frame that's a lot more fun than the FSR I parted out to build it. If you've got some old parts you want to give a second life, the Reken is an excellent option.

ReplyWas this helpful? Yes | No


Sette Reken 5.00 out of 5 based on 3 ratings. 3 user reviews.