Trek Marlin 7 Mountain Bike Review

--
SHARES
  
AVERAGE RATING
*****
4.63 out of 5
WHERE TO BUY    MSRP: $649
Loading...
Rider Questions
 

1

Q: About 20-25 psi -Guest

No answers yet.

Answer

 
Member Bikes
 
Builder
146 bikes
 
3 weeks ago
on Sep 26, 2019
on Sep 6, 2019
on Aug 22, 2019
on Aug 20, 2019
 
Product Options (4)
Trek Trek Marlin 7
Trek Trek 2018 Marlin 7
Trek Marlin 7
Trek 2019 Trek Marlin 7
 


May 1, 2019
 
Model/Year: 2019

Pros: For $729, great frame and drivetrain/brakes for the money. XR2 tires are fine for general riding. The Roarange color is awesome. Upgrades make this REALLY nice (listed below)

Cons: Felt like my core was too far over the forks. Stock 80mm stem too long, feel like you are sweeping when steering. Not nuts about flat bars. Stock grips are always lousy, and the saddle is so bad it should never fall into the hands of our country's enemies.

Recommendation: These upgrades made my Marlin a JOY to ride: - Renthal Apex 40mm stem - Renthal FatBar Lite carbon bars, 40mm rise. Bike steers GREAT now. -Race Face Half Nelson Grips (Orange of course) -R.e.Med Memory Foam Bike Seat with Recovery Zone Cutout -I did get an FSA SL-K Carbon SB20 seat post, but that's because my LBS cut the stock one too short, and argued it was OK. Not for this 350lb Clyde rider. So I went with this, has a 20mm setback. Holds me up just fine, love it. Slightly smoother ride feel. -Bought Slime tubes for F&R, lots of stickers on the desert floor in Phoenix, flats abound. Since then, not one flat with Slime! -Black gaffer's tape (NOT duct tape!) from Amazon, put a strip under the bottom tube to protect the frame paint. Pulls right off with no residue. So for $1000 with some carbon upgrades, killer XC bike. Once I get weight off, I'll upgrade way up but for now, this one is rock solid. If you are a heavy rider, this one is a great choice, with the mods.





May 1, 2019
 
Model/Year: 2019

Pros: at $700 its a perfect entry level or step up from an entry level mountain bike. The 29 inch tires make the bike fast on the trail. Rockshock fork has a lot of travel and the shimano drivetrain is responsive an accurate always

Cons: the saddle is brutal. The bottle cage mounts are too high, you can only fit a tiny bottle. At 31 lbs its heavy

Recommendation: absolutely..a whole lot of bike for the money





October 16, 2016
 
Pros: Great entry level bike.

Cons: Uncomfortable saddle

Recommendation: It's been ten years since I've done any real riding. This was the perfect bike to fuel a old hobby.





September 17, 2016
 
Model/Year: trek marlin7 2016

Pros: great value all around for the price climbs , descends, and jumps well my first 29er

Cons: heavy at 31.86 lbs seats grips and stock pedals cheesy does not need 3 ring crank

Recommendation: great value for the price i can upgrade easily





June 3, 2016
 
Model/Year: 2016

Pros: I love the bike and it was great on the trails.

Cons: The bike is fairly heavy.





December 12, 2015
 
Pros: Ride Quality is the main reason I chose this bike it. It feels like a much more expensive bike SR Suntour XCM fork. It's a spring fork with hydraulic rebound adjustment and hyraulic lockout ( new for the 2016 Marlin 7 model) yes I know sr Suntour is not the best thought of name in forks Modern geometry with a classic feel Tektro hydraulic disc brakes stop on a dime even covered in grime This bike gives a lot of ride for the $

Cons: The stock paddle grips slip on the bars- minor upgrade The 3x chainring is unnecessary and the 40 tooth is a little in the way for me - soon to be upgraded to a 1x raceface 30 tooth

Recommendation: Let me start by saying I got the best bike I could afford as a father of 4, my financial priorities have to stay in order. Now for $700 I got a bike that rides amazing, that I can put complete confidence in, and as the oem parts wear out I can upgrade as I go. I've been riding mountain bikes off and on since the late 80's and I grew up on rigid 26'ers and hard tails that were basically bmx bikes with gears and enjoyed them I'm not a beginner but I'm just getting back to serious riding after about a 10 year hiatus and there's a little rust to knock off and this is my first 29er. I researched and narrowed my choices down to 4 bikes in this range, a specialized, a cannondale, a Fuji and this Trek. After a lot of test riding them all, the Trek Marlin 7 won hands down for ride quality and just all around feel. The SR Suntour fork is 100 mm travel spring fork but new this year model is a hydraulic lockout and a hydraulic adjustable rebound that once you dial it in for your weight and riding style helps your handling and control so much it feels like a more expensive fork This bike looks great too in Miami green. I've owned this bike since September and have had plenty of trail time including some difficult ones and the only 2 complaints I have are: I replaced the stock grips with some aftermarket lock ons as the original ones were paddle style and they worked against changing hand positions for steep down hills and would twist on the bar. And 2, I know at this price point some people are looking for a do everything bike and it comes with a 3x chain ring 40/32/22. I really don't need the 22 ( granny gear) and the 40 gets in the way on th trail, I've bashed it on rocks and roots and once on a bad landing, it stabbed my calf pretty good. So I'm going to be replacing it with a deore crankset with a 1x 30 tooth and that will also drop about 2 lbs off th bike too. So I've found 2 things that I'm improving after months of hard trail riding on a hardtail that retails for $769. That's worth a 5 star rating from me. And I base my review off that reality. I've taken it out on real world tests rather than review it the first week I had it



 


December 28, 2015
 
Recommendation: What were the other bikes the, (Cannondale, Fuji, specialized)





March 12, 2015
 
Pros: I enjoy the bike a whole lot. Everything on it works great! Brake system works perfectly.

Cons: Plastic pedals, but I get why trek does this. People all have their preferences. Just switch them out.

Recommendation: Great value for under 700





December 27, 2014
 
Model/Year: 2015

Pros: Alpha Gold frame is lightweight
Bontrager double wall 29er wheelset looks and handles great. Hydraulic disc brakes are strong even covered in mud. 27 speeds is more than enough to climb the tough stuff.

Cons: Coil spring fork works okay for light single track and my smaller size but may upgrade down the road especially since it doesnt lock out.

Recommendation: Great entry level 29er bike with decent components. Looks great and performs very well on intermediate trails. Climbs over everything so far



Trek Marlin 7 4.63 out of 5 based on 8 ratings. 8 user reviews.