Specialized Rockhopper Expert Disc 29er Mountain Bike Review

--
SHARES
  
AVERAGE RATING
****
4.25 out of 5
WHERE TO BUY    MSRP: $1,300
Loading...
Rider Questions
 
Member Bikes
 
Builder
59 bikes
 
2 weeks ago
  Guest
on Apr 23, 2019
on Feb 25, 2019
on Dec 7, 2018
on Nov 25, 2018
 
Top Rated Gear From Specialized
Specialized Stumpjumper FSR
Specialized Stumpjumper
Specialized Align
Specialized Enduro
Specialized S-Works
Specialized Air Tool Sport
Specialized Enduro SL Comp FSR
Specialized Hotrock
 


October 29, 2016
 
Model/Year: 2015

Pros: Lightweight, smooth gear selection, handles well, front air suspension lockout

Cons: cheep pedals, a must to upgrade





December 13, 2013
 
Model/Year: 2009

Pros: Good entry level bike, components are pretty good for the price.

Cons: Needs different fork, and stem set up





August 17, 2011
 
Pros: Pretty light considering the price. Rolls over everything. Fast

Cons: Wish it had an air fork and I plan on cutting about 1/2" off each side of handlebars. A little wide for my liking.

Recommendation: 2011 Model. Bike is smooth shifting, feels great, climbs like a beast. I went 29r and will never go back. I cant even get on my 26" anymore.





April 2, 2010
 
Pros: The bike is light, well equiped for the price and holds up great to the terrain in this area.

Cons: I'm not a big fan of the Dart shock. I got what I paid for.

Recommendation: This was my first serious off road bike. Great entry level ride to improve the skills. Well worth the money and the customer service is excellent.





February 3, 2009
 
Pros: Light weight frame, Tektro Auriga Comp hydraulic disc brakes, geometry of frame, Shimano Deore shifters and derailleurs. Fastrack LK Control 29 x 2.0 tires.

Cons: Specialized RHD 29" stout rims, but they have replaced them with 29" Swiss DT 470's. The complete wheelset not just the rims!!! This ends up being a plus after the factory's customer service!!!

Recommendation: Great ride! I can't say enough good about it! Other than the rims issue, which I just got the call from my LBS to say my Swiss DT 470 rims are in. I understand it to be a $500.00- $600.00 upgrade on my wheelset at NO Charge to me, the customer. Wow! Great customer service to boot! This is my first bike in thirty years. I am new to Mountain Biking. Middle-aged, pushing 50 (Hard), six and a half foot tall rider under two hundred pounds. So I am hardly a Clydesdale. I went 29 inch because of my height & very long legs. Wheelbase of the bike and height of it are not affected much compared to a 26 inch wheel. This bike blows the theory that a 29'er doesn't handle as well as a 26 to bits. I have ridden both and any difference in handling is between the riders ears. There is none. Other than it handles small obstacles much easier. Really i cannot say enough about this bike. Thank you to the folks at specialized and my LBS (B&B Bicycles) in Cedar Hill, Tx. Now I just need to improve my riding skills more. Pactice, practice, practice. Just means I have to suffer and endure more time on the trails to get the most out of this bike...:) :) :)



Specialized Rockhopper Expert Disc 29er 4.25 out of 5 based on 5 ratings. 5 user reviews.