Raleigh XXIX Mountain Bike Review

--
SHARES
  
AVERAGE RATING
****
4.43 out of 5
WHERE TO BUY    MSRP: $1,100
Loading...
By Jeff Barber    on Sep 23, 2009

0 SHARES | 0 COMMENTS
By Greg Heil    on Apr 15, 2013

0 SHARES | 12 COMMENTS
By Greg Heil    on May 17, 2013

0 SHARES | 6 COMMENTS
Rider Questions
 
Member Bikes
 
Builder
7 bikes
 
 
on Mar 26, 2020
on Apr 14, 2018
on Apr 3, 2017
on Dec 24, 2015
on Dec 19, 2015
 
Product Options (2)
Raleigh XXIX G
Raleigh XXIX Pro
 


June 20, 2016
 
Pros: Great price for an entry level rider. Easy maintanace, light, well built frame.

Cons: I feel that the front suspension could be a bit tighter.

Recommendation: Looking to get into some mountian biking buy one! It does look big yet its light and easy to ride.





May 30, 2016
 
Pros: Lightweight, affordable quality 29er

Cons: I am currently looking into a better front fork. Not satisfied with the features.

Recommendation: Love it for the price. It has held up fairly well.





December 17, 2013
 
Model/Year: 2010

Pros: Reliability of single speed. Affordable. Good geometry.

Cons: Heavy as built.

Recommendation: I wanted a single speed bike without breaking the bank. This was the bike i ended up with. In its stock form it is a little on the heavy side (for a single speed) but it handles very well. A few small adjustments of components can get this steel bike down to an acceptable weight. I love the simplicity of this bike.





June 13, 2013
 
Pros: Steel frame, brakes, fork

Cons: Wheelset, narrow bars, tires

Recommendation: After 4 rides, switched to WTB Bronson tires, and race face respond 740mm bars...now an awesome machine! Exactly what a steel hardtail should ride like. After riding a Reynolds 853 26" steel hardtail for 10 years, which i loved, this bike is awesome. Gonna' upgrade wheels to Mavic tubeless this winter.





April 19, 2013
 
Pros: Durability, steel

Cons: Weight, brakes.

Recommendation: For the price, it's a pretty solid bike. Watch for my upcoming full-length review.





December 12, 2010
 
Pros: Steel is real. Decent kit out. Can be had with higher specced kits. Classic geometry.

Recommendation: Used as a high end rental bike in the shop I work at. I've ridden it on a ton of shop rides. Perfect for East Coast riding. The steel soaks up the trail chatter and the fork is perfectly mated to the frame. Dual air fork complements the give in the rear.





December 10, 2010
 
Pros: I've built one of these at the shop. I have to say steel is a making quite a come-back. SRAM XX kit is top of the line and so far bullet proof.

Cons: Expensive. Especially for a bike of this weight.

Recommendation: Classic steel hardtail brought into the 21st Century with XX components and modern suspension fork.





May 15, 2010
 
Pros: great on twisty single track and climbs well - big volume tires

Cons: ebb could be better

Recommendation: mine is an 09 (blue) great training bike





September 29, 2009
 
Pros: SRAM XX components are impeccable. Beautifully constructed steel frame and simple configuration make this a true XC bike.

Cons: Expensive. Steel frame doesn't feel quite as responsive as other 29ers I've ridden like the Spot Longboard.

Recommendation: After riding this bike I definitely see Raleigh in a new light. This bike is sophisticated and classically designed while making use of modern tech (29er wheels, SRAM XX components). Lightweight and beautiful, this bike is a head turner on the trail.