Raleigh Talus Mountain Bike Review

--
SHARES
  
AVERAGE RATING
****
4.37 out of 5
WHERE TO BUY    MSRP: $?
Loading...
Rider Questions
 

0

Q: How much does the bike go for -Guest

No answers yet.

Answer

 
Member Bikes
 
Builder
21 bikes
 
on Jul 19, 2018
on Jul 19, 2018
on May 15, 2018
on Oct 1, 2017
on Sep 26, 2017
 
Product Options (13)
Raleigh Talus Sport 29
Raleigh Talus 5.0
Raleigh Talus 4.0
Raleigh Talus 3.0
Raleigh Talus 2.0
Raleigh Talus 29er
Raleigh Talus 8.0 2012
Raleigh 2011 Raleigh Talus 29 Comp
Raleigh Talus 29
Raleigh Talus Comp 29
Raleigh Talus 29 Carbon Pro
Raleigh Talus 29 Carbon Expert
Raleigh Talus 29 Expert
 


January 15, 2020
 
Model/Year: 2010

Pros: - good beginner bike - room for additions and improvements

Cons: - not an actual mountain bike - low-end components

Recommendation: I received a 2010 Raleigh Talus 2.0 in 2010 as a gift (keep in mind i was 14 at the time). I rode it around town but never really did too much with it. Around 2018, I started getting into mountain biking and figured I'd try riding the Talus since it is a "mountain bike." First of all, it isn't. The front fork is just a pair of springs with no option to fill or adjust them. The Shimano Tourney derailleurs are decent but the Shimano crank shifters are terrible. If you ever found one of these for under $100, it isn't bad. It's a decent introduction bike that can take you many places and has plenty of room for improvements and additions. As of writing this, I'm investing a couple of hundred dollars in new parts and gear to thru cycle the Erie Canal path with this bike. I've had fond memories of this bike and since it isn't worth a lot, I'll be spending the money to make it better.





October 31, 2018
 
Model/Year: Talus 3.0

Pros: Rugged frame. Great brakes.

Cons: Low-grade pedals, grips and tires.

Recommendation: Spend some time and $100 to upgrade the "cons" and you'll be whipping on the trail quickly.





May 28, 2018
 
Model/Year: 2015 Raleigh Talus 5

Pros: Pretty nice ride with good components. Strong and reliable.

Cons: My biggest complaint is the chainstays are very narrow where they meet the bb shell making it almost impossible to upgrade to a wider tire, and with stock 2.05" tires makes it impossible to go up to even 2.2" tires. You might be able to get away with 2.1" though. The stock honey badger tires aren't the greatest. Not very good tread. The stock weinmann u32 rims are impossible to find out anything about them. The seat is ok, I've rode worse.





July 27, 2015
 
Model/Year: 2014

Pros: Lightweight, Cheap, Drivetrain.

Cons: Tires.

Recommendation: This is a great entry level bike for a beginner like myself for getting into the sport you will definitely get your moneys worth.





March 2, 2015
 
Pros: Great bike for the money. 29 goes easily where 26 has struggles. Disc brakes and light frame offset less agile 29 wheels. Love it.

Cons: Less agile/nimble than 26er.

Recommendation: Took hard enough spill to fold front rim like taco. No damage to frame or components. Actually rode bike off mountain with wobbly wheel. Love climbing and crossing obstacles with the 29" wheels. Makes me feel more confident after seeing 26ers struggle.





July 8, 2014
 
Model/Year: 2013

Pros: Great entry level
Cheap
Shimano drivetrain

Cons: Tires that came on the bike are not for mountain biking. Do not work under any wet conditions

Recommendation: Get this if you're first bike





January 8, 2013
 
Model/Year: Talus 5.0

Pros: Strong and reliable bike, light weight, handles climbing well

Cons: Saddle is weak, tires easily blown and arent't good over different terrain

Recommendation: I have had this bike for a year now and used it on roads and trails primarily. One concern with this bike is the tires. As a starter bike, the tires weren't dependable at all. Living in washington, there was lots of different riding opportunities, but the tires were always unnerving. After the 3rd blown tire i changed wheels and was fine





January 8, 2013
 
Model/Year: Talus 5.0

Pros: Very sturdy frame, light weight, smooth shifting, great for price

Cons: Clip holding cables are weak, tires were not reliable (not good over different terrain).

Recommendation: This was a very good bike and it was a greater starter bike. My only real complaint would be the tires. As an entree level mountain bike, the tires did not allow for use on diverse terrain. I had to change blown tires multiple times





December 14, 2012
 
Model/Year: 2011 XS (child size)

Pros: -Professional components on a child size bike
-Has lasted through a 7 year old and a 9 year old beating it up

Cons: -none

Recommendation: Anybody looking to buy their child a mountain bike but don't want to waste coin on a walmart special. I was able to buy this bike in size xs which is made for children. It's a super small mtb using 26" wheels and higher grade components than the walmart junk.





September 26, 2012
 
Model/Year: 2012

Pros: This bike is Awsome! Tried alot of high dollar bikes and NONE of them felt as well built as this frame! Tires grip great.And It just plain FLYS!!

Cons: I switched out the shock. the factory one was cheap.

Recommendation: 100mm shock on the front.