Iron Horse Yakuza 5.1 Mountain Bike Review

--
SHARES
  
AVERAGE RATING
****
4.40 out of 5
WHERE TO BUY    MSRP: $?
Loading...
Rider Questions
 

0

Q: how much are they -Guest

No answers yet.

Answer

 
Member Bikes
 
Builder
9 bikes
 
  Eli_Mc
on Nov 14, 2018
  Eli_Mc
on Nov 14, 2018
on Sep 4, 2017
on Jun 6, 2015
on Jul 30, 2014
 
Product Options (5)
Iron Horse Yakuza Kumicho
Iron Horse Yakuza Aniki
Iron Horse Yakuza chimpira
Iron Horse Yakuza G
Iron Horse yakuza 5.1
 


May 22, 2014
 
Model/Year: yakuza 2014

Pros: Great bike for the cost. Great shifters and derailers, wheels are double wall and decent tires

Cons: Brakes are junk and my crank wobbed loose on day 2.

Recommendation: I installed a set of avid bb7 calipers, shimano hyper drive crank with sealed bottom bracket and oddessey linear cables. $425 including initial purchase of the bike and it takes a beaten then keeps going





November 1, 2013
 
Model/Year: 2008

Pros: This is a beast and is very tough as mentioned previously! It will take some hard beating & hard hits. It shreds and responds best with a 180 Totem fork than a 203 dual crown. All in all, either way it is an awesome beast ready to take on whatever you dish out. No wrenching single pivot simplicity.

Cons: NONE, but if any, it would be the limited room for rear shock replacement.

Recommendation: I strongly recommend this beast to anyone whom loves gravity fed and big hit shredding. It will handle it all and want more, and at a portion of the cost of the majority of DH/FR bikes on the market. Either set up this beast with a Progressive 5th Element cvt5 or Marzocchi Roco RC World Cup rear shock for the best ride. Run either a Fox 40 or Marzocchi 888 for a dual/triple crown or the RS Totem for a beast of a single crown fork. Too bad the son screwed up the Iron Horse company, one if not the best built single pivot frames.





September 2, 2013
 
Recommendation: I bought this bike as a starter bike and it has worked well for me. I am not a serious rider but have rode on popular trails in Illinois, Michigan, Indiana, etc and this bike has performed well. The best part is that it didn't come with a steep price tag (only paid $170 at Meijer). I am not complaining for the price





February 5, 2009
 
Pros: My son has the 24" Yakuza Aniki (14" frame) and his kicks serious butt. Takes a serious beating and medium hard hits. Climbs pretty good for this class MTB. All around great MTB with great components for the price. I love the 8" rotors on the 24" wheels, totally blew my mind away when I saw that. My sons has the Hayes MX-2 mechanical brakes, and they work great.

Cons: A little on the heavy side, but what do you expect from a FR/light DH MTB.

Recommendation: Would recommend this MTB for FR/aggressive AM by all means. All around great MTB for the price!





February 5, 2009
 
Pros: This beast is very tough and will take a hard beating & hard hits. I have a race inspired build with 180mm single crown forks instead of the 203mm double crown forks. Feels smooth and relaxed when casually riding the trails and climbs pretty good for its class of MTB.

Cons: A little heavy in the nose with the stock Marzocchi 888.

Recommendation: I highly recommend this MTB for hardcore FR/DH, especially riders on a tight budget. I do not recommend purchasing for XC unless you lighten some of the weight. All around exceptional MTB!



Iron Horse Yakuza 5.1 4.40 out of 5 based on 5 ratings. 5 user reviews.