Gary Fisher Mamba Mountain Bike Review

--
SHARES
  
AVERAGE RATING
*****
4.60 out of 5
WHERE TO BUY    MSRP: $930
Loading...
Rider Questions
 

0

Q: what year was gary fisher mamba made? -Guest

No answers yet.

Answer

 
Member Bikes
 
Builder
16 bikes
 
on Jul 18, 2018
on Jul 19, 2017
on Jul 16, 2017
on Jun 3, 2017
on Sep 1, 2016
 
Product Options (2)
Trek Trek Gary Fisher 29er Mamba
Mamba 29'r
 


May 30, 2015
 
Model/Year: 2011 Trek Mamba

Pros: 29er, Rolls Over Everything
Nice RockShox Tora TK front suspension
Decent components (Sram X3, Shimano Deore)

Cons: Disc Breaks could be a little better, still stops well
Tread could be more grippy

Recommendation: I would recommend this bike for anyone wanting to upgrade their basic bike. It gets the job done up to some pretty rooty trails, it rolls over most things in the trail but downhill objects could throw you around if you're not ready





August 24, 2013
 
Pros: Rides over anything.

Cons: No back suspension





December 3, 2012
 
Model/Year: 2013 Mamba Black/White/Gray Color Combo

Pros: The 29" rims are great. I can't possibly imagine going back to my 930's 26 inchers.

The hydraulic brakes are smooth and effortless (but the disks need to stay clean for best operation).

The shock is excellent and allows a fair amount of customization for a hard or soft ride.

Cons: Every bike, like every car, comes equipped with cheap parts from the factory. Here, the Mamba is no different, but since I was already planning to upgrade a few things, it doesn't much matter to me.

So far, I've replaced the grips and tires, and plan to replace the saddle and crank set in the future. I've also added a saddle bag and a frame-mounted air pump.

For a bone stock bike, I think everything is fine as-is, but these were born to be modified.

My only complaint would have to be the shifting is a little odd and takes some getting used to. The upshift/downshift uses a thumb/forefinger style, but is different between the right and left shifters.

Recommendation: I would absolutely recommend this bike, and I already have, several times, in fact.

Once modified to my own personal taste and style, this will be the best bike I could ever hope to own. The more expensive bikes offer no better quality, value, or features. Why? Because you're just paying for the name.

This bike is most certainly the worthy successor to my battle-weary 930 and while I got a solid 16 years out of the 930, I expect to get at least 20 out of the Mamba.

Overall, I'm a very happy buyer in Colorado.





October 27, 2011
 
Model/Year: 2010 Red

Pros: Price, value, color.

Cons: Heavy, and handlebar, Shimano Centerlock.

Recommendation: I basically stripped everything off this frame and put it together with nicer parts.





July 18, 2010
 
Pros: for the price, i don't think you can ask for much better. i'm a female, and although the frame is small, it doesn't feel like a "shrunk" bike, it fits great and the geometry is perfect. a really comfortable ride!

Cons: the fork could be lighter, but i can always upgrade.

Recommendation: great bike, and a wonderful intro 29er.



Gary Fisher Mamba 4.60 out of 5 based on 5 ratings. 5 user reviews.