Gary Fisher HiFi Plus 29 Mountain Bike Review

--
SHARES
  
AVERAGE RATING
*****
5.00 out of 5
WHERE TO BUY    MSRP: $2,089
Loading...
I Want One  
Rider Questions
 
Member Bikes
 
Builder
10 bikes
 
on Jul 16, 2016
  dbg94
on Jun 23, 2016
on Sep 11, 2015
on Jul 30, 2015
on Apr 5, 2015
 
Top Rated Gear From Gary Fisher
Gary Fisher HiFi
Gary Fisher Tarpon
Gary Fisher Paragon
Gary Fisher Hoo Koo E Koo
Gary Fisher X-Caliber
Gary Fisher Wahoo
Gary Fisher Fat Possum XO
Gary Fisher Big Sur
 


May 12, 2011
 
Model/Year: HiFi Plus 29 2010

Pros: The geometry of this bike is awesome. A lot of people think 29ers are clunky and harder to hendle than 26ers but this bike is more maneuverable than any bike I've ridden. Fairly light too.

Cons: The design of the frame makes it hard to mount on some bike racks and only small water bottles fit in the space for the cage but these are very minor issues.

Recommendation: I would recommend this model as opposed to the deluxe or higher because it a good balance between price and performance. I don't think the others are particularly worth the increase in price.

ReplyWas this helpful? Yes | No




November 25, 2010
 
Pros: Excellent bike for both hardcore technical single track and wide open fast and flowy XC. This is a Gary Fisher 29er. Need I say more?

Cons: Tires and brakes needed to be upgraded. The Bontrager Jones tires just couldn't handle hard climbs up the singletrack. The brakes were also surprisingly short-lived and needed replacement three times this season (although it has been brought to my attention that I tend to ride the brakes too often!)

Recommendation: This was my first mountain bike and I wanted something I could grow into and not grow out of - boy was I in for a surprise!
I have been absolutely blown away by the bike's performance over the past year and she has helped me grow into a much more confident rider. The value is amazing. Highly Recommended!

ReplyWas this helpful? Yes | No




April 2, 2010
 
Pros: I like the geometry of this bike. It is very comfortable on epic rides. The balance of the bike allows for good handling. not front heavy at all and the Fox fork and shock compliment the set up. The Duster is a great wheel. Nice wide rims and tubeless ready.

Cons: I replaced the derailleurs and the brakes within the first year. Juicy 3's are not good brakes for intense off road use. The Sram X.7 rear derailleur was fine but I prefer low normal shifting so I replaced both with XT. Carbon seat stays are fine if you never crash. I taped them up with bash guard to protect them.

Recommendation: It took me a year to dial this bike in because its my first full suspension bike. The travel is perfect for XC and now that its tuned proper I love the riding experience. It makes me more confident in the saddle. I like this level of bike because its ripe for upgrade and that allows me to persoanlize the ride. If you're not into that the Pro version comes well equiped.

ReplyWas this helpful? Yes | No




April 4, 2008
 
Pros: Sweet suspension, sweet frame, sweet drivetrain, Sweet G2 handling, light for a 29" dually in it's price range.

Cons: mediocre brakes

Recommendation: A fantastic allrounder. Great value and components, a must buy for '08.

ReplyWas this helpful? Yes | No


Gary Fisher HiFi Plus 29 5.00 out of 5 based on 4 ratings. 4 user reviews.