Gary Fisher Cobia Mountain Bike Review

--
SHARES
  
AVERAGE RATING
****
4.38 out of 5
WHERE TO BUY    MSRP: $990
Loading...
Rider Questions
 
Member Bikes
 
Builder
24 bikes
 
on May 23, 2019
on Dec 17, 2018
on Jun 15, 2017
on Mar 18, 2017
on Oct 19, 2016
 
Top Rated Gear From Gary Fisher
Gary Fisher HiFi
Gary Fisher Tarpon
Gary Fisher Paragon
Gary Fisher Hoo Koo E Koo
Gary Fisher X-Caliber
Gary Fisher Wahoo
Gary Fisher Roscoe
Gary Fisher Fat Possum XO
 


October 6, 2015
 
Pros: Fast

Cons: Solid

Recommendation: Nice bike to start with





April 14, 2014
 
Model/Year: 2007

Pros: solid bike and components for the money

Cons: heavy, only 80mm travel

Recommendation: This was my first mountain bike that I bought used while living in TX. Great for flat TX, but definitely needed more bike when i moved to the front range CO.





December 11, 2012
 
Model/Year: 2007

Pros: cheap, stability

Cons: heavy, geometry

Recommendation: This is was my first bike. Despite the heavy weight and upright geometry, I really love the bike. It just feels so stable underneath.





October 1, 2012
 
Pros: Everything

Cons: Nothing

Recommendation: First mountain bike I have owned and love it!





April 20, 2012
 
Pros: Fast, durable, tough, great downhill, components.

Cons: Rear derailluer, upgreded to Shimano X9(awesome by the way





April 2, 2012
 
Pros: For the 2010: the tora fork isn't too bad for the price range, frame is stiff, stock wheels are strong and fairly light,

Cons: brakes suck

Recommendation: As an entry level race 29er it is a good buy, especially if you buy it at the end of the year. If you ride a lot you will outride the componentry though





September 11, 2011
 
Model/Year: 2010 Gary Fisher Cobia

Pros: I've got the 2010, deep pearl blue. Love the color.
Corners nicley. The Ranger wheels are surprisingly strong

Cons: The tires are horrible, but easy to replace. The bars are 600mm, 15 deg back sweep. For me being a little bigger I had to swap out and put wider bars on. The bike is a little on the heavy side. The bar was a 25.4, instead of your more common 31.8. So I had to change the stem too

Recommendation: If you ride hard and often you'll probably need to replace or repair parts. Great if you're a beginner. But if you're hardcore, instead of spending $$$ on upgrades, buy a more expensive bike with better components





November 30, 2010
 
Pros: Sitting between the wheels feel so cool. This is a super stable 29er!

Cons: Weight

Recommendation: This is a solid 29er hardtail and the frame can be seriously upgraded. I know this is trivial, but I really love the color of this bike!





July 29, 2010
 
Pros: Bike is rock solid. I have about a hundred miles on mine and haven't had a single issue. The components may not be top of the line gear but they do the job just fine.

The price is right.

Cons: BB5 brakes felt like junk. Upgrading to a better mechanical setup or a hydraulic setup is a must.

Stock tires aren't that great on loose surfaces, especially gravel.

Recommendation: Great bike for the money. I would recommend it to anyone looking to get into a hard tail 29er.





August 24, 2009
 
Pros: Good price for a good bike. You aren't going to get the best components, but you can always upgrade.

Cons: Not the best components.

Recommendation: Beginners bikers



Gary Fisher Cobia 4.38 out of 5 based on 17 ratings. 17 user reviews.