Cannondale Scalpel 29er 3 Mountain Bike Review

--
SHARES
  
AVERAGE RATING
*****
5.00 out of 5
WHERE TO BUY    MSRP: $?
Loading...
I Want One  
Weight: 13,150 grams
Rider Questions
 
Member Bikes
 
Builder
87 bikes
 
on Mar 17, 2016
on Jan 15, 2019
on Dec 22, 2018
on Nov 14, 2018
on Oct 27, 2018
 
Product Options (1)
Cannondale Scalpel 3
 


June 4, 2015
 
Model/Year: 2014

Pros: Light, easy to ride, durable, very balanced, very firm, good components. The brakes are great. I love the modulation control I have with these.

Cons: Bottom bracket creeks a little. Slight shift lag between 3 and 4 while on the small front ring. Seems to go away as I put more miles on it. The seat is like sitting on a board with leather glued to it.

Recommendation: Highly recommend. I changed the handle bars to a 1 inch riser bar. Better feel and control. I changed the seat to an open center to help with the man junk. I would definitely get this bike all over again. It's a great riding bike. I've done a few road rides on it to, but in the dirt it really shines.

ReplyWas this helpful? Yes | No




June 3, 2014
 
Model/Year: 2013

Pros: Climbs very nice as well as handles like it's name, like a "Scalpel" Love this bike for XC riding.

Cons: Could use a little more travel if you like to jump or ride big drops.

Recommendation: Totally recommend this bike for XC riding/racing.

ReplyWas this helpful? Yes | No




May 17, 2013
 
Model/Year: 2012

Pros: This bike does everything well, period. It does exactly what a XC full suspension bike should do. It climbs great with control and takes the downs fairly well. At first the Scalpel was not as plush as I thought it would be until I found the air pressure "sweet spot". The bottom line is, this thing is a way better bike than I am rider!

Cons: Maybe the weight?

Recommendation: I've had this bike for 6 months and the only changes I have made have been switching out the 110mm stem for a 90mm and a carbon bar. Play around with the Lefty to find out what works for you, it took me a little while to get it the way I like it. Treat yourself and buy one!

ReplyWas this helpful? Yes | No


Cannondale Scalpel 29er 3 5.00 out of 5 based on 3 ratings. 3 user reviews.