Cannondale Scalpel 29er 3 Mountain Bike Review

--
SHARES
  
AVERAGE RATING
*****
5.00 out of 5
WHERE TO BUY    MSRP: $?
Loading...
Weight: 13,150 grams
Rider Questions
 
Member Bikes
 
Builder
92 bikes
 
  lhzawd
on Nov 22, 2016
on Mar 17, 2016
5 days ago
1 week ago
on Sep 16, 2019
 
Product Options (1)
Cannondale Scalpel 3
 


June 4, 2015
 
Model/Year: 2014

Pros: Light, easy to ride, durable, very balanced, very firm, good components. The brakes are great. I love the modulation control I have with these.

Cons: Bottom bracket creeks a little. Slight shift lag between 3 and 4 while on the small front ring. Seems to go away as I put more miles on it. The seat is like sitting on a board with leather glued to it.

Recommendation: Highly recommend. I changed the handle bars to a 1 inch riser bar. Better feel and control. I changed the seat to an open center to help with the man junk. I would definitely get this bike all over again. It's a great riding bike. I've done a few road rides on it to, but in the dirt it really shines.





June 3, 2014
 
Model/Year: 2013

Pros: Climbs very nice as well as handles like it's name, like a "Scalpel" Love this bike for XC riding.

Cons: Could use a little more travel if you like to jump or ride big drops.

Recommendation: Totally recommend this bike for XC riding/racing.





May 17, 2013
 
Model/Year: 2012

Pros: This bike does everything well, period. It does exactly what a XC full suspension bike should do. It climbs great with control and takes the downs fairly well. At first the Scalpel was not as plush as I thought it would be until I found the air pressure "sweet spot". The bottom line is, this thing is a way better bike than I am rider!

Cons: Maybe the weight?

Recommendation: I've had this bike for 6 months and the only changes I have made have been switching out the 110mm stem for a 90mm and a carbon bar. Play around with the Lefty to find out what works for you, it took me a little while to get it the way I like it. Treat yourself and buy one!



Cannondale Scalpel 29er 3 5.00 out of 5 based on 3 ratings. 3 user reviews.