Shimano M540 Reviews

>

Shimano M540

Avg Rating: (4.55 out of 5) 11 gear reviews
MSRP: $0.00
Tags: clipless
23 members own this 4 members want this
 

 
Description
Mud Shedding Compact Open Design

Easy Step-in and Step-out

Lightweight Compact Design

352g (pair)

High performance racing pedal as PD-M959 in affordable price.

The open binding mechanism is designed to better shed mud.

Strong and durable chrome-moly spindle with 8mm Allen key.

Low maintenance sealed bearing cartridge axle.
Read more...
 

Questions   [ask a question]

Note: You're not logged in. If you'd like to associate this post with your account, login now.
Ask a question
Notify me when anyone replies

Reviews

01101010__01101101_ on May 15, 2014
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Model/Year: ?

Pros: always works well and for years at a time.

Cons: little heavy

Recommendation: Get them if you need a pair and aren't weight worried

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
jd41326 on October 27, 2013
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Price, ease of adjustment and use.

Cons: None so far

Recommendation: Great beginners pedal

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
huskydude on April 27, 2011
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Model/Year: M540

Pros: rebuildable, mud shedding design, adjustable tension, easy to clip in and out.

Cons: When you set the tension to the lowest, you can accidentally clip out of the pedal.

Recommendation: I use this in combination with the multi release cleats(SH56) and set the pedal to the lowest tension. Never fell off the bike even as a first time clipless user. really easy to clip in and out of. i might adjust the tension a little bit harder to minimize accidental clipping out.

would recommend this pedal in combination of the multi release cleats if you're a beginner.

BTW, this pedal would require an 8MM allen wrench to install.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
MtnBikeMike on March 31, 2011
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Model/Year: 2011

Pros: The ability to adjust the tightness! Love these!

Cons: I was unable to unclip a couple times and fell pretty hard, this could be due to my lack of experience with this type of pedals or they could be too tight.

Recommendation: Get these, they are awesome!

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
dauw on November 29, 2010
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Great performing, long-lasting pedal. Rebuildable.

Cons: None.

Recommendation: I'd buy these again. Not Shimano's top of the line, but I don't notice.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
joeyjoejoe on April 4, 2009
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Reliable, inexpensive, don't have to think about them. Easy to clip in, even when packed with mud or ice.

Cons: None

Recommendation: I have used these pedals on my past two bikes and will continue. Solid, reliable pedals.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
John Fisch on August 31, 2008
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: This is the epitome of a standard quality/standard price procuct. Nothing fancy or bling, just solid performance in most conditions. Long-lasting and trouble-free.

Cons: Heavier than most clipless. Retains mud.

Recommendation: These came with my first bike. When I bought my next bike, I upgraded. After going through a few pedals, all of which seemed to have some annoying idiosyncrasies, I eventually came back to these un-sexy, but dependable old standbys.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
croscoe on August 20, 2007
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Tuff! Adjustable spring tension, Ease of use.

Cons: None.

Recommendation: I really like these pedals. I have mine on the minimum setting, so I can dab a foot if needed. This is the only clipless pedal I've used. No complaints here.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
gone4a_ride on April 21, 2007
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Easy in, easy out...

Cons: They are difficult to clean, back in by the spring.

Recommendation: They are a very hardy and reliable pedal. The platform is large enough to allow a rider to keep pedaling. even with a failed attempted clip-in.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
Jeepmb on April 13, 2007
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Very Durable Mud resistant lots of adjustability

Cons: Design, odd shape... NONE

Recommendation: Great for Experienced Riders cause they can tune it right to the mark of what they want. Works with the many shimano parts.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
jeff on March 21, 2007
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Simple design, rugged, great at shedding mud.

Cons: A bit boring, especially compared to the Crank Bros stuff.

Recommendation: These are solid pedals and they continue to hold up well after virtually zero maintenance over the past 3 years.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
 

Recommendations

Yeti 575 (100%)
Camelbak M.U.L.E. (100%)
Kenda Nevegal (100%)
* Mountain Bike Crested Butte, Gunnison & Salida Singletrack (67%)
WTB Prowler MX (67%)



Shimano M540 4.55 out of 5 based on 11 ratings. 11 user reviews.