Shimano M540

Follow  
AVERAGE RATING
4.55 out of 5
WHERE TO BUY   beta
MSRP: $?
Loading...
I Want One  
Rider Questions
 
Members' Gear
 
Owner
23 owners
 
  jeff World Champ
  dauw Singletrack
  JSF Gramcounter
 
 
Top Rated Gear From Shimano
Shimano XT Hollowtech II
Shimano Shimano XT M785 Disc Brake Caliper and Levers
Shimano XTR 970 Rapid Rise Rear
Shimano XT Front
Shimano Deore LX Hollowtech II
Shimano Deore XT M780, 10 speed
Shimano Deore XT M780 Shadow
RD-M786 (XT Shadow Plus )

Reviews

01101010__01101101_ on May 15, 2014
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Model/Year: ?

Pros: always works well and for years at a time.

Cons: little heavy

Recommendation: Get them if you need a pair and aren't weight worried

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
jd41326 on October 27, 2013
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Price, ease of adjustment and use.

Cons: None so far

Recommendation: Great beginners pedal

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
huskydude on April 27, 2011
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Model/Year: M540

Pros: rebuildable, mud shedding design, adjustable tension, easy to clip in and out.

Cons: When you set the tension to the lowest, you can accidentally clip out of the pedal.

Recommendation: I use this in combination with the multi release cleats(SH56) and set the pedal to the lowest tension. Never fell off the bike even as a first time clipless user. really easy to clip in and out of. i might adjust the tension a little bit harder to minimize accidental clipping out.

would recommend this pedal in combination of the multi release cleats if you're a beginner.

BTW, this pedal would require an 8MM allen wrench to install.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
MtnBikeMike on March 31, 2011
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Model/Year: 2011

Pros: The ability to adjust the tightness! Love these!

Cons: I was unable to unclip a couple times and fell pretty hard, this could be due to my lack of experience with this type of pedals or they could be too tight.

Recommendation: Get these, they are awesome!

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
dauw on November 29, 2010
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Great performing, long-lasting pedal. Rebuildable.

Cons: None.

Recommendation: I'd buy these again. Not Shimano's top of the line, but I don't notice.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
joeyjoejoe on April 4, 2009
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Reliable, inexpensive, don't have to think about them. Easy to clip in, even when packed with mud or ice.

Cons: None

Recommendation: I have used these pedals on my past two bikes and will continue. Solid, reliable pedals.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
John Fisch on August 31, 2008
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: This is the epitome of a standard quality/standard price procuct. Nothing fancy or bling, just solid performance in most conditions. Long-lasting and trouble-free.

Cons: Heavier than most clipless. Retains mud.

Recommendation: These came with my first bike. When I bought my next bike, I upgraded. After going through a few pedals, all of which seemed to have some annoying idiosyncrasies, I eventually came back to these un-sexy, but dependable old standbys.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
croscoe on August 20, 2007
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Tuff! Adjustable spring tension, Ease of use.

Cons: None.

Recommendation: I really like these pedals. I have mine on the minimum setting, so I can dab a foot if needed. This is the only clipless pedal I've used. No complaints here.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
gone4a_ride on April 21, 2007
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Easy in, easy out...

Cons: They are difficult to clean, back in by the spring.

Recommendation: They are a very hardy and reliable pedal. The platform is large enough to allow a rider to keep pedaling. even with a failed attempted clip-in.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
Jeepmb on April 13, 2007
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Very Durable Mud resistant lots of adjustability

Cons: Design, odd shape... NONE

Recommendation: Great for Experienced Riders cause they can tune it right to the mark of what they want. Works with the many shimano parts.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
jeff on March 21, 2007
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Simple design, rugged, great at shedding mud.

Cons: A bit boring, especially compared to the Crank Bros stuff.

Recommendation: These are solid pedals and they continue to hold up well after virtually zero maintenance over the past 3 years.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
 
Shimano M540 4.55 out of 5 based on 11 ratings. 11 user reviews.