Rock Shox Dart 3

Follow  
AVERAGE RATING
3.61 out of 5
WHERE TO BUY   beta
MSRP: $176
Loading...
I Want One  
Rider Questions
 
Members' Gear
 
Owner
13 owners
 
 
 
Product Options (3)
Rock Shox Dart 1
Rock Shox Dart 2
Rock Shox Dart 2
+ Add review
 
RunBikeSwim on July 28, 2014
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Model/Year: 2010

Pros: Great entry level fork, just enough for anything you will encounter on intermediate single track. Lockout is firm on roads so that is also a plus.

Cons: Cant use it for anything crazy

Recommendation: Yes, for beginners or for easy or intermediate riding

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
Seetheworldthroughme on December 19, 2013
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: The Rock Shox Dart 3 is a really durable fork. I have put it through the ringer the past 3 years. As long as you add a little oil to the fork once and a while it will probably last forever. As they say its bullet proof.

Its a great deal for a fork that can handle medium size drops and rough terrain and also be able to lock out and ride hard on the flats.

Recommendation: Yes, of course.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
greateaght on November 19, 2013
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: A decent fork for the price, very smooth, adjustable rebound, and remote lockout

Cons: A bit heavy and not very durable

Recommendation: A good choice if you want something better than the stock your bike came with but not for real heavy use, have had this for 1 and a half seasons and the lockout and adjustable rebound are both shot. I just had it lubed but its starting to bind. All and all a good entry level fork but if you ride hard spend some extra money

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
jtorlando25 on December 13, 2012
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Model/Year: 2009 Dart 3

Pros: -100mm of travel
-coil = no fiddling with air pressure
-Not super heavy
-Out performs most other stock coil forks
-Can fit a fat 2.5" tire

Cons: -Not very adjustable

Recommendation: Fork still works great after a couple years of being abused. What more can I say!?

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
JacksPerson on December 12, 2012
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Product: Rock Shox Dart 2

Pros: - inexpensive
- works as intended
- easy to adjust
- looks good on a bike
- good quality for an entry level fork

Cons: - iexpensive
- coil spring shock
- entry level

Recommendation: As an entry level fork these are nice, but for any serious trail riding these could definatly use an upgrade. I found that they bottom out pretty easily and as most spring forks they are either too hard or too soft.. They come stock on a lot of entry level moutain bike, mine was on a Gary Fisher Advance that i inherited.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
kiltman on March 24, 2012
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Product: Rock Shox Dart 2

Pros: Lite weight.

Recommendation: I haven't had it bottom out om me, but I'm also a smaller rider (150 lbs).

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
jfigel76 on December 24, 2011
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Great lower end shock for the price.

Cons: Heavy, I needed stiffer springs.

Recommendation: Came with my GF bike with G2 geometry 29er. Sold after about 4 months.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
Shootr on July 9, 2011
1 out of 1 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Rugged and Great Bargin

Cons: Weight

Recommendation: I have had these forks for over a year and they a rugged. The Lockout is great for hard pack and pavement.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
saminguz on December 22, 2010
1 out of 1 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Reasonably performing entry level fork. Some adjustability

Cons: Weight

Recommendation: These forks are fitted to some entry/medium level bikes. They perform better than many stock RST, Suntour forks and make a cheap upgrade.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
Greg Heil on December 2, 2010
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Product: Rock Shox Dart 2

Pros: Price tag

Cons: Performance and weight

Recommendation: For an entry level fork on a budget, the Dart 2 performs pretty decently. If you evaluate it on any other criteria though, this fork is pretty shoddy. I would not recommend this unless you are 1. Very new to the sport and are 2. On a budget 3. Very light weight.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
jpo on November 29, 2010
1 out of 1 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Lockout, Easy to Adjust

Cons: Weight?

Recommendation: Love this fork. Love that I can engage lockout while riding, (a first for me), how quickly I was able to dial preload, and how in a year of crashes, I haven't had a single problem with it.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
Forceofwon on July 13, 2010
1 out of 1 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Fully adjustable. But most notable is the ride. I weigh 270lbs and these are awesome forks. I have owned them over a year now, no leaks, no problems

Cons: I dont have any, other than I wanted these black, and the place I bought them from didnt have black in stock, so I got a silver one

Recommendation: I bought these about two months after I bought my Trek 4300 last year. The stock Suntour forks had no adjustments, and just felt like cheap forks. I put on the Rock shox and couldnt believe the difference. I have read people had trouble with these forks leaking, mine never has

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
Guest on November 18, 2009
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Product: Rock Shox Dart 2

Pros: Holds Front Wheel

Cons: Bottoms out very easy. No damping / All spring. Heavy. Preload adjustment does nothing

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
Guest on July 29, 2009
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Product: Rock Shox Dart 2

Pros: It's cheap,it got me back on the trails. It's black.

Cons: HEAVY.No real damping.

Recommendation: I got mine from PricePoint for $80.00. It got me riding again after my Manitou Mars seals gave out and I couldn't get parts for it. Money is really tight so the price was right.The first thing I noticed was the weight,heavy. Almost 21/2 LBS heavier. Installed it and rode. I know why they call it Dart.The bike was darting all over the trail with very little control. Top out clunk is annoying. I changed the oil to a heavier grade but it didn't seem to make any difference. Maybe the turnkey option makes a big difference but this shock just doesn't cut it for intermediate riders on up.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
Guest on June 1, 2009
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Product: Rock Shox Dart 2

Pros: Good entry level forks only for just trail riding.

Cons: Not much improvement from the D-1's. Preload & external rebound works fairly good. Just not built for FR, AM, or DH riding

Recommendation: If entry to mid-level trail riding is what you want, then the Dart series will work for you.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
slap8up on April 21, 2009
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Product: Rock Shox Dart 2

Pros: CHEAP and what I would call a barely borderline decent fork.

Cons: If you take a strong hit cover your eyes!!!!!! Cheaply made from cheap parts.

Recommendation: I've not personally had this happen yet, but I've heard several people say a big hit causes the plastic top caps to strip out turning them and the springs into projectiles. One person almost lost an eye.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
slap8up on April 21, 2009
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Product: Rock Shox Dart 1

Pros: Good all around trail/XC fork. Cheap.

Cons: More or less suck for anything but trail/XC riding.

Recommendation: Great entry level fork. If your aggressive, stay away!!!!

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
Guest on September 15, 2008
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Product: Rock Shox Dart 1

Pros: These are great introductory shocks for the MTB noobie. Fair price for what you are getting.

Cons: Not for DH, FR, or AM, but great for non-aggressive XC riding. No adjustments.

Recommendation: For introduction to MTB'ing (MTB noobs)

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
 
Rock Shox Dart 3 3.61 out of 5 based on 18 ratings. 18 user reviews.