Fox Racing Shox 32 Talas

Follow  
AVERAGE RATING
4.72 out of 5
WHERE TO BUY   beta
MSRP: $?
Loading...
I Want One  
Rider Questions
 
Members' Gear
 
Owner
14 owners
 
  theUfan Epic
  dauw Singletrack
  AJ711 Doubletrack
  tarvisg Doubletrack
 
 
Product Options (9)
Fox Racing Shox 36 Talas
Fox Racing Shox 32 Talas RLC
Fox Racing Shox 32 Talas 29 FIT Terralogic
Fox Racing Shox 32 Talas 150 FIT RLC
Fox Racing Shox FOX TALAS 34 CTD 29ER
Fox Racing Shox 34 Talas 26
Fox Racing Shox Talas 34 Evolution 27.5 150
Fox Racing Shox 36 180mm TALAS
Fox Racing Shox 34 TALAS 27.5 160 FIT CTD
+ Add review
 
Greg Heil on August 6, 2014
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Product: Fox Racing Shox 34 TALAS 27.5 160 FIT CTD

Pros: Adjustability, reliability, great bottom out protection

Cons: Harsh on the front end of the travel, price

Recommendation: Stay tuned for my in-depth review for more information.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
herlsy on December 17, 2013
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Product: Fox Racing Shox Talas 34 Evolution 27.5 150

Model/Year: 2013

Pros: Dual travel. Looks good. Tapered steerer. 15mm Thru Axle. CTD.

Cons: Remote

Recommendation: This fork is great for those looking to do their first 650b build. The talas gives you the flexibility to increase/decrease your head angle by adjusting travel, allowing you to take on all conditions thrown at you. The downside is the 2013 CTD remote is a chunky beast on the handlebar that can get in the way.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
DanK_NoCo on December 15, 2013
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Model/Year: 2009

Pros: The travel adjustment from 140/120/100mm helps to balance climbing and descending.

Cons: The frequency of maintenace that all fox products seem to require.

Recommendation: I'd recommend it. During extended climbs I use the travel adjustments to vary my body position just enough to stave off back pain. Of course, the 100mm setting is great for climbing the steep stuff. I use 140mm for pretty much everything else - including climbing big steps that require the extra clearance.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
syd on December 14, 2013
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Product: Fox Racing Shox 34 Talas 26

Model/Year: 2014

Pros: Stiff chassis. Improved dampening rates.
Dials have positive feel and click well.

Cons: A remote would be best suited for this fork. Getting caught in the wrong mode makes for a harsh ride

Recommendation: Although this fork has three modes. Climb, Trail, Descend, I found I stuck most of my riding during the Trail mode and occasionally swapped the Trail tune mode. Rarely going into climb or descend mode.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
beach_boy86 on December 16, 2012
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Product: Fox Racing Shox 36 Talas

Model/Year: Talas RC2 2006

Pros: - Rideable travel adjust settings
- Air sprung
- Plush and smooth
- Stanchion stiffness (thanks to 36mm stanchions)
- Hi/low speed compression

Cons: - Cost of replacement parts
- Low quality stanchion coating
- Premature bushing wear
- Foot nut broke

Recommendation: I love Fox products and the 36 Talas is no exception. In my mind there isn't a more plush fork option on the market today. The Talas RC2 offers great adjustability that can be adapted to any environment with a few turns of a dial or pumps from a shock pump. The benefit of having high and low speed compression really put the RC2 a step above the lower Fox models.

However, I have had multiple Fox forks and the majority of them have had premature bushing wear, to the point of needing to replace them (a $200 install) or replacement of the lowers. I opted for the second option because I found cheap ones online.

I must also say that the coating of the stanchions (pre-Kashima) is rather fragile and you better get used to changing seals every other week or you'll be needing a new upper crown assembly soon.

So its a tough choice whether or not to recommend the Talas. It's performance is exceptional, but it will require top tier maintenance if you want to keep your investment working well.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
AJ711 on December 11, 2012
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Product: Fox Racing Shox 32 Talas RLC

Model/Year: 2009

Pros: Loads of adjustability, excellent damping, soaks up the bumps/roots/rocks/dips/everything with ease, keeps the front tire planted, 15QR thru-axle.

Cons: Can't quickly and easily (on the fly) change fork travel length, need to stop. Refresh work is best left to the pros = costs a bit.

Recommendation: Picked up a new bike and effectively doubled my fork travel. And I moved from a very basic front fork to one that has the ability to adjust all aspects of fork operation. Holy crap was it a huge step up.

I don't have any similar experience to gauge this fork on, but this fork has brought loads of confidence to my riding. I'm no longer slowing down for every root garden out there, and I'm flying down hills with little fear of what the trail will bring to bear. Coupled with the RP2 shock, this fork is amazing on my Trance X2.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
KleinGuy on December 11, 2012
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Product: Fox Racing Shox 32 Talas RLC

Model/Year: Fox Talas

Pros: Very Plush
Great feel
Lots of Adjustability

Cons: None

Recommendation: It's a Fox. I just love Fox forks. Always have great feel and handling from them. It's all I ride now!

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
AJ711 on December 11, 2012
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Model/Year: 2009

Pros: Loads of adjustability, excellent damping, soaks up the bumps/roots/rocks/dips/everything with ease, keeps the front tire planted, 15QR thru-axle.

Cons: Can't quickly and easily (on the fly) change fork travel length, need to stop. Refresh work is best left to the pros = costs a bit.

Recommendation: Picked up a new bike and effectively doubled my fork travel. And I moved from a very basic front fork to one that has the ability to adjust all aspects of fork operation. Holy crap was it a huge step up.

I don't have any similar experience to gauge this fork on, but this fork has brought loads of confidence to my riding. I'm no longer slowing down for every root garden out there, and I'm flying down hills with little fear of what the trail will bring to bear. Coupled with the RP2 shock, this fork is amazing on my Trance X2.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
Suvacrew on February 6, 2012
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Adjust plenty on the fly, lock out is great if you have blowoff set properly.

Cons: Like all things, they need to be maintained for seals, fluids etc...it starts to add up.
The lock when activated sometimes changes your compression settings too on the back and forth.

Recommendation: I've been roling the 140 RLC for several years now. Great forsk when mated to the proper frame..mine an SC LT2 (updated VPP).The 100mm setting feels like you're plowing. If I drag teh bike for some XC race on more demanding terrain, I rarely click beyond 120mm and usually set it locked with the blow-off dialed medium to let through on the hard ones. One 140 comes in handy on the steeper grounds with bigger hits.
It's a great all around fork for the AM/Trail oriented frames.


Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
crash1 on December 25, 2011
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Product: Fox Racing Shox 32 Talas 29 FIT Terralogic

Pros: Easy to adjust, but very little needed once you get it set.

Cons: None

Recommendation: Simple easy to use, functional.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
syd on November 11, 2011
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Product: Fox Racing Shox 32 Talas 150 FIT RLC

Model/Year: 2012

Pros: Great control over the wheel both in compression and rebound. Super slick Kashima coatings on the stanchions, and the low friction seals both help at keeping this fork feeling buttery smooth.

Cons: a hint of flex when hitting some bigger drops and such

Recommendation: The TALAS 150 is a further improvement on an already good product. The control and confidence you get with this fork really stretches the boundaries a bit more as far as how much a 32mm fork can do. The added TALAS feature with its two steps is perfect for those longer climbs. The lockout threshold is a great tool for tuning out bob if your one who climbs out of the saddle.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
dirtdriver on July 28, 2011
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Product: Fox Racing Shox 32 Talas RLC

Model/Year: Fox Racing Shox Talus RLC FIT 140

Pros: Full adjustability with damping, rebound and travel allow you to customize your ride for any terrain or rider. Smooth action and stiffness from 15mm through axle gives confidence on rough terrain. I rarely use 100mm position. The 140mm position works great on climbs and everywhere else, I guess negating the need for TALUS.

Cons: This fork had reliability issues from the get go. Within first 5 hours of use seals blew, fork seeped oil and action became very stiff. Fox rebuilt this fork for me under warranty 3 times. Third time seems to be the charm and the fork is still working well this year. Kudos to Fox for finally fixing the problem and doing it under warranty. I have not had these problems with Float versions from Fox.

Recommendation: I would like to give this fork 5 stars but can't overlook the reliability issue and I would like to see even more linear feel. I have had similar reliability issues with the TALUS 36 fork. I think the float version is the best option since I rarely find myself reaching for the TALUS adjustment.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
tarvisg on April 6, 2011
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Mine is adjustable 150 and down. I like to drop all the way down for climbs and open all the way for everything else.

Recommendation: I love this fork, great climber and descender. Don't really use the middle setting for anything bu nice to be able to have if needed. Great fork for and all mountain bike.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
theUfan on February 14, 2011
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: I like the adjustability for different riding situations. Nice feel to it.

Cons: none

Recommendation: Great all round fork that will keep you rollin thru most situations. get it

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
DB4LYall on December 15, 2010
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Product: Fox Racing Shox 36 Talas

Pros: The new 2011 Fox Talas has a lock out function which creates the perfect fork. I love this new fork and if you have more than just one type of trail you like to ride this is fork for you.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
Ben_Jones on December 9, 2010
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Product: Fox Racing Shox 36 Talas

Pros: Linear, travel adjustable, stiff as you could ever want a fork to be. It's the fork that I hold all bicycle suspension forks in comparison to (and end up finding most others wanting).

Cons: Others (not me) have had issues with maintenance.

Recommendation: Every bike would come with this fork if I had it my way.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
steve32300 on November 30, 2010
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: I like the travel adjust,helps to be able to adjust down to 100mm for climbing and 140mm to go downhill and then ride trail in the 120mm.

Cons: like element says,it is a complicated fork and takes the right tools,would love to be able to work on it myself as I keep having lock out issues and nobody seems to be able to fix..

Recommendation: this is the fork I wanted when I bought my stumpjumper,I would reccomend if you want travel adjust....

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
konacoiler on November 30, 2010
0 out of 1 readers found this useful
 
Product: Fox Racing Shox 36 Talas

Pros: Everything

Cons: Nothing

Recommendation: Sweet fork. Best of the best. I use it for xc, its lightweight, and downhill, its super stiff and has lots of travel.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
dubinjs on November 29, 2010
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Product: Fox Racing Shox 32 Talas RLC

Pros: amazingly smooth reaction. easily adjusted for rebound , travel levels, and lockout.

Cons: like it was stated before. A cockpit remote would be nice

Recommendation: I love this fork. I am coming from a Factory Forks shock that i thought was great until I felt this one. WOW! its truely amazing to ride on. Eats up whatever you throw at it. Mine is the RL adjustable to 150mm

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
syd on July 8, 2009
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Product: Fox Racing Shox 36 Talas

Pros: 2010 TALAS III model is great super plush and great control over the travel as well as dampening

Cons: none

Recommendation: Great fork for those of you who want to do a little more than just all mountain however this unit is so light for its travel and capabilities that it can be used easily for 15 foot drops with transitions.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
Suvacrew on June 16, 2009
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Product: Fox Racing Shox 32 Talas RLC

Pros: bstill30 nails it down. I'd only add that the lockout is easy enough to hit on the fly and the adjustable "bleed off" on the lockout is great. Preventative Maint..is pretty easy and cheap at the LBS.

Cons: Cockpit mounted remotes would be handy....that's it..no negatives. not the lightest but I'll stop drinking beer for a week to solve that problem

Recommendation: I use this to race XC and 12/24hrs on an SC Blur LT2.In 100mm it feels like it plows on the flats...rarely set it there unless it's a long rocky technical climb. 120mm is perfect for XC racing...140 is wide open and perfect for AM trails like Downieville. When set in conjunction with a tuned RP23...it's like hand in glove.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
bstill30 on June 16, 2009
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Product: Fox Racing Shox 32 Talas RLC

Pros: I can't say enough about this fork. It's plush, easily adjust from 140-120-100mm. It can be adjusted for rebound, dampening and just about everything else.

Cons: Price, but 2008's are still available for almost 40% off.

Recommendation: It's a Fox, so ride one for yourself and you will see.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
syd on September 30, 2008
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: The adjustability, plush feeling and sold construction.

Cons: When it comes to re-building be careful it is very tough....the tools required to fix it are really expensive...Leave this one to the pros..

Recommendation: All and all a great fork a bit heavier than the float...If you need a fork that can change its travel this is one good choice...

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
John Fisch on August 31, 2008
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Adjustability. All round performance. Durability and reliability.

Cons: None.

Recommendation: This is a great all-purpose fork. I've abused mine for 3 seasons and it shows no signs of slowing down. It's not as plush as my old 'zoke coil, but its clearly superior in every other way and I always feel like I have the right fork, regarless of what I encounter.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
aabiking on August 8, 2007
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Product: Fox Racing Shox 36 Talas

Pros: I love the ability to lock this fork out at 160,130, and 100 mm strokes. It helps on long climbs and with the set lever you can set this will riding. you just have to reach down to the crown to adjust then bounce on the bike and your off flying up the hill or just flip the lever to a higher setting and the fork extends and your ready to go. This fork is very plush and has taken everything that i have given it and could take so much more. i doubt that I will ever punish this fork.

Cons: None as of yet.

Recommendation: I recomend this fork to anyone take drops over three feet.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
tumbleweed14 on July 12, 2007
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Cons: hard to change the lockout without accidentally changing the low speed compression. could be better placed (separated)

Recommendation: Fantastic fork!

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
raleighman91 on June 28, 2007
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Cons: hard to reach controls when climbing

Recommendation: If you can afford it buy it

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
mtbkr123 on April 20, 2007
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Plush travel, quality of materials (no plastic knobs!),looks,light weight.

Cons: nada

Recommendation: I use this on my XC cross country bike (dakar pro) and have had no problems at all, this is a great fork.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
hardmtnbiker on April 12, 2007
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Easy to set up. Plush bottomless feel without brake dive.

Recommendation: I set this fork up in one ride. There is no need for the lock-out in the low or medium setting. This fork is great! Now I realize that the stable platform fork that was replaced was good technology but not needed and too much hassle for a fork.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
 
Fox Racing Shox 32 Talas 4.72 out of 5 based on 29 ratings. 29 user reviews.