Fox Racing Shox 32 Talas

Follow  
AVERAGE RATING
4.92 out of 5
WHERE TO BUY   beta
MSRP: $?
Loading...
I Want One  
Rider Questions
 
Members' Gear
 
Owner
14 owners
 
  theUfan Epic
  dauw Singletrack
  AJ711 Doubletrack
  tarvisg Doubletrack
 
 
Top Rated Gear From Fox Racing Shox
Fox Racing Shox 32 Talas
Fox Racing Shox Float RP23
Fox Racing Shox 40
Fox Racing Shox DHX RC4
Fox Racing Shox 36 Float
Fox Racing Shox 32-F Series
Fox Racing Shox 36 Talas
Fox Racing Shox Float R Air Rear Shock

Reviews

DanK_NoCo on December 15, 2013
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Model/Year: 2009

Pros: The travel adjustment from 140/120/100mm helps to balance climbing and descending.

Cons: The frequency of maintenace that all fox products seem to require.

Recommendation: I'd recommend it. During extended climbs I use the travel adjustments to vary my body position just enough to stave off back pain. Of course, the 100mm setting is great for climbing the steep stuff. I use 140mm for pretty much everything else - including climbing big steps that require the extra clearance.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
AJ711 on December 11, 2012
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Model/Year: 2009

Pros: Loads of adjustability, excellent damping, soaks up the bumps/roots/rocks/dips/everything with ease, keeps the front tire planted, 15QR thru-axle.

Cons: Can't quickly and easily (on the fly) change fork travel length, need to stop. Refresh work is best left to the pros = costs a bit.

Recommendation: Picked up a new bike and effectively doubled my fork travel. And I moved from a very basic front fork to one that has the ability to adjust all aspects of fork operation. Holy crap was it a huge step up.

I don't have any similar experience to gauge this fork on, but this fork has brought loads of confidence to my riding. I'm no longer slowing down for every root garden out there, and I'm flying down hills with little fear of what the trail will bring to bear. Coupled with the RP2 shock, this fork is amazing on my Trance X2.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
Suvacrew on February 6, 2012
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Adjust plenty on the fly, lock out is great if you have blowoff set properly.

Cons: Like all things, they need to be maintained for seals, fluids etc...it starts to add up.
The lock when activated sometimes changes your compression settings too on the back and forth.

Recommendation: I've been roling the 140 RLC for several years now. Great forsk when mated to the proper frame..mine an SC LT2 (updated VPP).The 100mm setting feels like you're plowing. If I drag teh bike for some XC race on more demanding terrain, I rarely click beyond 120mm and usually set it locked with the blow-off dialed medium to let through on the hard ones. One 140 comes in handy on the steeper grounds with bigger hits.
It's a great all around fork for the AM/Trail oriented frames.


Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
tarvisg on April 6, 2011
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Mine is adjustable 150 and down. I like to drop all the way down for climbs and open all the way for everything else.

Recommendation: I love this fork, great climber and descender. Don't really use the middle setting for anything bu nice to be able to have if needed. Great fork for and all mountain bike.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
theUfan on February 14, 2011
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: I like the adjustability for different riding situations. Nice feel to it.

Cons: none

Recommendation: Great all round fork that will keep you rollin thru most situations. get it

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
steve32300 on November 30, 2010
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: I like the travel adjust,helps to be able to adjust down to 100mm for climbing and 140mm to go downhill and then ride trail in the 120mm.

Cons: like element says,it is a complicated fork and takes the right tools,would love to be able to work on it myself as I keep having lock out issues and nobody seems to be able to fix..

Recommendation: this is the fork I wanted when I bought my stumpjumper,I would reccomend if you want travel adjust....

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
syd on September 30, 2008
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: The adjustability, plush feeling and sold construction.

Cons: When it comes to re-building be careful it is very tough....the tools required to fix it are really expensive...Leave this one to the pros..

Recommendation: All and all a great fork a bit heavier than the float...If you need a fork that can change its travel this is one good choice...

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
John Fisch on August 31, 2008
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Adjustability. All round performance. Durability and reliability.

Cons: None.

Recommendation: This is a great all-purpose fork. I've abused mine for 3 seasons and it shows no signs of slowing down. It's not as plush as my old 'zoke coil, but its clearly superior in every other way and I always feel like I have the right fork, regarless of what I encounter.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
tumbleweed14 on July 12, 2007
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Cons: hard to change the lockout without accidentally changing the low speed compression. could be better placed (separated)

Recommendation: Fantastic fork!

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
raleighman91 on June 28, 2007
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Cons: hard to reach controls when climbing

Recommendation: If you can afford it buy it

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
mtbkr123 on April 20, 2007
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Plush travel, quality of materials (no plastic knobs!),looks,light weight.

Cons: nada

Recommendation: I use this on my XC cross country bike (dakar pro) and have had no problems at all, this is a great fork.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
hardmtnbiker on April 12, 2007
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Easy to set up. Plush bottomless feel without brake dive.

Recommendation: I set this fork up in one ride. There is no need for the lock-out in the low or medium setting. This fork is great! Now I realize that the stable platform fork that was replaced was good technology but not needed and too much hassle for a fork.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
 
Fox Racing Shox 32 Talas 4.92 out of 5 based on 12 ratings. 12 user reviews.