Fox Racing Shox 32 Talas

Follow  
AVERAGE RATING
*****
4.72 out of 5
WHERE TO BUY    MSRP: $?
Loading...
I Want One  
Rider Questions
 
Members' Gear
 
Owner
14 owners
Product Options (9)
Fox Racing Shox 36 Talas
Fox Racing Shox 32 Talas RLC
Fox Racing Shox 32 Talas 29 FIT Terralogic
Fox Racing Shox 32 Talas 150 FIT RLC
Fox Racing Shox FOX TALAS 34 CTD 29ER
Fox Racing Shox 34 Talas 26
Fox Racing Shox Talas 34 Evolution 27.5 150
Fox Racing Shox 36 180mm TALAS
Fox Racing Shox 34 TALAS 27.5 160 FIT CTD
+ Add review
 
Greg Heil on August 6, 2014
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Product: Fox Racing Shox 34 TALAS 27.5 160 FIT CTD

Pros: Adjustability, reliability, great bottom out protection

Cons: Harsh on the front end of the travel, price

Recommendation: Stay tuned for my in-depth review for more information.

Was this helpful? Yes | No
 
herlsy on December 17, 2013
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Product: Fox Racing Shox Talas 34 Evolution 27.5 150

Model/Year: 2013

Pros: Dual travel. Looks good. Tapered steerer. 15mm Thru Axle. CTD.

Cons: Remote

Recommendation: This fork is great for those looking to do their first 650b build. The talas gives you the flexibility to increase/decrease your head angle by adjusting travel, allowing you to take on all conditions thrown at you. The downside is the 2013 CTD remote is a chunky beast on the handlebar that can get in the way.

Was this helpful? Yes | No
 
DanK_NoCo on December 15, 2013
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Model/Year: 2009

Pros: The travel adjustment from 140/120/100mm helps to balance climbing and descending.

Cons: The frequency of maintenace that all fox products seem to require.

Recommendation: I'd recommend it. During extended climbs I use the travel adjustments to vary my body position just enough to stave off back pain. Of course, the 100mm setting is great for climbing the steep stuff. I use 140mm for pretty much everything else - including climbing big steps that require the extra clearance.

Was this helpful? Yes | No
 
Syd Patricio on December 14, 2013
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Product: Fox Racing Shox 34 Talas 26

Model/Year: 2014

Pros: Stiff chassis. Improved dampening rates.
Dials have positive feel and click well.

Cons: A remote would be best suited for this fork. Getting caught in the wrong mode makes for a harsh ride

Recommendation: Although this fork has three modes. Climb, Trail, Descend, I found I stuck most of my riding during the Trail mode and occasionally swapped the Trail tune mode. Rarely going into climb or descend mode.

Was this helpful? Yes | No
 
beach_boy86 on December 16, 2012
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Product: Fox Racing Shox 36 Talas

Model/Year: Talas RC2 2006

Pros: - Rideable travel adjust settings
- Air sprung
- Plush and smooth
- Stanchion stiffness (thanks to 36mm stanchions)
- Hi/low speed compression

Cons: - Cost of replacement parts
- Low quality stanchion coating
- Premature bushing wear
- Foot nut broke

Recommendation: I love Fox products and the 36 Talas is no exception. In my mind there isn't a more plush fork option on the market today. The Talas RC2 offers great adjustability that can be adapted to any environment with a few turns of a dial or pumps from a shock pump. The benefit of having high and low speed compression really put the RC2 a step above the lower Fox models.

However, I have had multiple Fox forks and the majority of them have had premature bushing wear, to the point of needing to replace them (a $200 install) or replacement of the lowers. I opted for the second option because I found cheap ones online.

I must also say that the coating of the stanchions (pre-Kashima) is rather fragile and you better get used to changing seals every other week or you'll be needing a new upper crown assembly soon.

So its a tough choice whether or not to recommend the Talas. It's performance is exceptional, but it will require top tier maintenance if you want to keep your investment working well.

Was this helpful? Yes | No
 
AJ711 on December 11, 2012
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Product: Fox Racing Shox 32 Talas RLC

Model/Year: 2009

Pros: Loads of adjustability, excellent damping, soaks up the bumps/roots/rocks/dips/everything with ease, keeps the front tire planted, 15QR thru-axle.

Cons: Can't quickly and easily (on the fly) change fork travel length, need to stop. Refresh work is best left to the pros = costs a bit.

Recommendation: Picked up a new bike and effectively doubled my fork travel. And I moved from a very basic front fork to one that has the ability to adjust all aspects of fork operation. Holy crap was it a huge step up.

I don't have any similar experience to gauge this fork on, but this fork has brought loads of confidence to my riding. I'm no longer slowing down for every root garden out there, and I'm flying down hills with little fear of what the trail will bring to bear. Coupled with the RP2 shock, this fork is amazing on my Trance X2.

Was this helpful? Yes | No
 
KleinGuy on December 11, 2012
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Product: Fox Racing Shox 32 Talas RLC

Model/Year: Fox Talas

Pros: Very Plush
Great feel
Lots of Adjustability

Cons: None

Recommendation: It's a Fox. I just love Fox forks. Always have great feel and handling from them. It's all I ride now!

Was this helpful? Yes | No
 
AJ711 on December 11, 2012
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Model/Year: 2009

Pros: Loads of adjustability, excellent damping, soaks up the bumps/roots/rocks/dips/everything with ease, keeps the front tire planted, 15QR thru-axle.

Cons: Can't quickly and easily (on the fly) change fork travel length, need to stop. Refresh work is best left to the pros = costs a bit.

Recommendation: Picked up a new bike and effectively doubled my fork travel. And I moved from a very basic front fork to one that has the ability to adjust all aspects of fork operation. Holy crap was it a huge step up.

I don't have any similar experience to gauge this fork on, but this fork has brought loads of confidence to my riding. I'm no longer slowing down for every root garden out there, and I'm flying down hills with little fear of what the trail will bring to bear. Coupled with the RP2 shock, this fork is amazing on my Trance X2.

Was this helpful? Yes | No
 
Suvacrew on February 6, 2012
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Adjust plenty on the fly, lock out is great if you have blowoff set properly.

Cons: Like all things, they need to be maintained for seals, fluids etc...it starts to add up.
The lock when activated sometimes changes your compression settings too on the back and forth.

Recommendation: I've been roling the 140 RLC for several years now. Great forsk when mated to the proper frame..mine an SC LT2 (updated VPP).The 100mm setting feels like you're plowing. If I drag teh bike for some XC race on more demanding terrain, I rarely click beyond 120mm and usually set it locked with the blow-off dialed medium to let through on the hard ones. One 140 comes in handy on the steeper grounds with bigger hits.
It's a great all around fork for the AM/Trail oriented frames.


Was this helpful? Yes | No
 
crash1 on December 25, 2011
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Product: Fox Racing Shox 32 Talas 29 FIT Terralogic

Pros: Easy to adjust, but very little needed once you get it set.

Cons: None

Recommendation: Simple easy to use, functional.

Was this helpful? Yes | No
 
 
Fox Racing Shox 32 Talas 4.72 out of 5 based on 29 ratings. 29 user reviews.