Fox Head Flux Reviews

>

Fox Head Flux

Avg Rating: (4.69 out of 5) 35 gear reviews
MSRP: $100.00
Tags: best of 2010, camo, gray
59 members own this 15 members want this
 

 
Description
# A deeper rear profile EPS shell offers more comprehensive coverage than a traditional XC helmet.

# In-molding technology molds the outer shell onto the EPS foam. The outer shell covers and protects the EPS from dings and dents, and adds structural integrity with a molded wrap fit.

# Detox retention system.

# Visor and Spoiler.

# 20 strategically placed vents.

# Inset Chin Straps.

# Testing Standards: CPSC, CE: EN 1078, AS/NZS 2063
Read more...
 

Questions   [ask a question]

Note: You're not logged in. If you'd like to associate this post with your account, login now.
Ask a question
Notify me when anyone replies

Reviews

eric.uscg on June 29, 2014
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Model/Year: 2014

Pros: Look
Fit
Protection
Price

Cons: None

Recommendation: I really like this helmet. I bought a S/M (my hat size is 7 1/4) and it fits perfect. I bought it from Performance Bike in Columbia, MD for under $70 plus 30% back in points.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
KyChris on April 3, 2014
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Model/Year: 2013

Pros: Light weight. Looks good. Good price. Decant weight.

Cons: None so far.

Recommendation: After breaking a cheap lid on tree last season. I looked up a bunch reviews for the best one for the price and went with this one. Looks good and I forget I even have it on. Lets see how it does when I bang it on a tree but real happy with it so far.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
sdwill on January 3, 2014
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Model/Year: 2012

Pros: Comfort. Looks. Adjustability.

Cons: None yet. We'll report back if/when crash tested.

Recommendation: This noggin protector is great. Sits lower on your head so you don`t feel like a bobble-head. Also, the visor has been durable even when the helmet is tossed into a box with other gear.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
BUDDAH on March 17, 2011
1 out of 2 readers found this useful
 
Model/Year: 2011

Pros: everything, but if I had to pick one I would say the vent system cause I sweat like a hogg, it really keeps me very cool. I like the lower rear profile protection. It is light and it is also my 3rd helmet in 2 years.

Cons: none yet if any...

Recommendation: definetly happy with my purchase (cosidering I didn't pay full price :})worn it out on 2 rides so far and so far so good. Like it so much I wanna pick up another one in military green to match my camo gear. Definetly a great invesment..

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
zephxiii on December 13, 2013
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Model/Year: 2012

Pros: Good Looking, Great Quality, comfortable, durable.

Cons: Not the Lightest

Recommendation: I've had this helmet for a year and a half now and I have enjoyed it. It looks really nice. I only gave it 4 stars as it could be lighter.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
tyler2728 on December 12, 2013
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Model/Year: 2010

Pros: Great for hot weather riding, super comfortable, and perfect fit with all the adjustments.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
beach_boy86 on December 16, 2012
0 out of 1 readers found this useful
 
Model/Year: Flux 2011

Pros: - Fantastic fit, sits lower on your head
- Helmet drops low for behind the head protection
- Tonnes of vents
- Looks great
- Price, depending on the deal
- Fits big heads (I thought I had a big head and I got a S/M)
- Can be worn with goggles

Recommendation: Down right an awesome helmet. I love how low it sits on your head. As soon as I tried it on I knew it was the right choice. Instead of the traditional helmet that 'sits on top of your head', the flux fits your head.

The Flux offers good protection and drops lower than traditional helmets to offer protection for behind your head

The Flux is priced well and looks good enough that it can be worn for any type of riding. I highly recommend the Fox Flux!

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
rsb201 on December 13, 2012
0 out of 1 readers found this useful
 
Model/Year: 2012

Pros: great looks, very comfortable, price

Cons: none

Recommendation: I found this helmet marked down to $59 online. It has alot of adjustability.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
jtorlando25 on December 11, 2012
0 out of 1 readers found this useful
 
Model/Year: 2010 Flux white

Pros: -Comfy for big heads
-Light weight
-Great venting
-Maximum protection of the back of your dome (for a xc helmet)
-Replaceable padding

Cons: -Visor likes to come unclipped here and there

Recommendation: Anyone with a big head will appreciate this lid. It fits great and is very comfortable. Not restrictive at all. The padding is perfect and the vents do their job well.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
fleetwood on September 11, 2012
0 out of 1 readers found this useful
 
Model/Year: 2012

Pros: Great fit, covers lower portion of back of head, looks cool. I like the tightening mechanism versus my previous helmet (Trek - not sure model).

Cons: a little heavier than previous helmets

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
ChiliDog on April 26, 2012
0 out of 1 readers found this useful
 
Model/Year: 2010

Pros: Deep rear protection, looks cool

Cons: Slides a little, and I have a big head.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
Tfreigant on April 7, 2012
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: I love this helmet! Light and definitely does protect your nogin.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
Zoo1424 on March 31, 2012
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Model/Year: 2010

Pros: Light, well ventilated. Good protection

Cons: None that I can think of.

Recommendation: After serioulsy overheating on a July ride wearing my old 1999 era Specialized helmet, I knew i needed something much better ventilated. Mission accomplished with the Fox Flux. Keeps my melon cool & protected. Liked it so much, I ordered this for each of my daughters.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
John Fisch on March 24, 2012
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Reasonably light, good ventilation, snug and secure but comfy. Durable.

Cons: At just the right speed, there's this wierd low-pitched whistling through the vents, but it doesn't happen often and isn't a big problem when it does.

Recommendation: Was a big Giro E2 fan for the fit and lost of ventilation, but the snaps kept breaking and they were too expensive to replace every few months. This fits just as well, has almost as much ventilation, costs less and doesn't break. Highly recommended.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
kiltman on March 24, 2012
0 out of 1 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Makes you ride better!

Cons: This helmet makes me look too much like a professional mTn biker.

Recommendation: I would recommend it to anyone. Great melon protection.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
Scotteg on February 24, 2012
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Light weight and protective back.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
lorin on February 14, 2012
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: comfortable, vented, have owned it for over a year absolutely not complaints

Cons: none

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
treky92 on February 7, 2012
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Great protection, light weight, adjustable easily

Cons: Straps are difficult to set up, visor isn't adjustable

Recommendation: Great helmet with great ventilation at a pretty decent price ($60) for what you get

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
pinkmtb on May 13, 2011
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: great fit, good ventilation

Recommendation: great helmet!

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
tarvisg on April 1, 2011
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Best fit for my nogin. Removable visor and ease of adjustment

Cons: None

Recommendation: All helmets fit different and if this one fits its a great helmet.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
MtnBikeMike on March 31, 2011
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Model/Year: 2010

Pros: Lightweight, good air flow, looks awesome, fits right

Cons: Nothing

Recommendation: Get it!

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
LMA on January 6, 2011
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: I did a fly-over-the-bars-and-clear-off-the-bike endo several months back and the edge of my Flux helmet (just above my right brow) was the first part of me to hit the ground! Other than the nifty scar (when you're a 47 yr old female and your most prominent scar is from mountain biking and not a plastic surgeon, I think you should be proud of it) my head -- and brains -- are unharmed. Really, this is what *really* matters in a helmet -- you can crash-land on your head and walk away intact.

Cons: Front visor could be a little longer in order to better block sunlight. Unless that would interfere with the performance, which I wouldn't want!

Recommendation: Buy it, wear it. Always.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
dustyg314 on November 29, 2010
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: looks great,fits great,lightweight

Cons: none

Recommendation: liked it so much i bought two

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
monkyboy_ on August 16, 2010
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
Grizenchen on March 30, 2010
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Fit, comfortable, and looks pretty awesome.

Recommendation: Very comfortable. Almost forget that it's on.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
scout_about on March 17, 2010
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Very comfortable, great ventilation, well made, light, great looks.

Cons: None

Recommendation: I ordered it online for $59 and am very happy with the decision to get it. The vents are great and it is very comfortable to wear all day. I am consistantly impressed with Fox's quality of their products and design. For those riders looking for a new quality helmet I think you will be very happy with your decision.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
joetutt on November 24, 2009
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Everything

Cons: Nothing

Recommendation: Love this helmet! It's super comfortable and really easy to adjust. It fits snug on your head without having to really tighten the chinstrap. Good coverage on the back of the head as well. All around great helment.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
Colorado_Yooper on November 11, 2009
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Coverage, fit, and style

Cons: Does not shed sweat very well, retention system

Recommendation: Two things that standout about this helmut is that if fits like a glove and that it vents your head extremely well. However, on the flip side it sheds sweat down my face and glasses and I have had to replace the detox retention. having said that the positives far out weigh the negitives. I now wear a head band when I ride and after I replaced the retention band I have had no issues with the fit. I play hockey during the winter and the helmut fits and feels like my hockey helmut...Put it on and forget it.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
Guest on September 6, 2009
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Saved my skull!

Cons: Nothing

Recommendation: I took a nasty head hit a few days ago. My CT scan was negative. The helmet saved me! I lost consiousness breifly, but made the ride down the 1mountain. Thanks, Fox Flux

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
bstill30 on June 13, 2009
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: This helmet has a snug fit that stays in place, even over the roughest terrain. I looks sweet and is built tough.

Cons: None.

Recommendation: If you want to protect that brain of your's, get this helmet.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
Luli79 on March 9, 2009
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Fit, venting

Cons: The visor isn't adjustable.

Recommendation: Great trail helmet, Fox raised the bar on trail helmets on this one.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
ejk226 on February 22, 2009
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: color stlye coverage

Cons: I bought the biggest size and it was to small. Why dont they make MTB stuff for the larger bikers out there?????

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
Reserverockhopper on November 7, 2008
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Looks, very cool. Big vents, keeps you cool in summer. Easy adjustments. Full coverage of protection.

Cons: Bigger than many helmets. Looks a little big on your melon. Full contact points all the way around your head. Visor does not come low enough to really help block the sun, with or without it on.

Recommendation: This is a cool lid. I actually could not decide on which color so I ordered 2, the sand camo and the grey/black camo. When I race I don't wear it but go with my smaller, lighter Specialized lid.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
syd on September 27, 2008
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Super comfortable and not so heavy. Great protection and if you do crash Fox has a crash replacement program

Cons: nothing

Recommendation: Great helmet fits wonderfully and runs cool.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
mudnsavy on May 30, 2008
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: This thing is sweet, it fits great and I don't get has hot like with my old one.

Cons: nothing

Recommendation: none

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
 

Recommendations

Kenda Nevegal (100%)
SRAM X9 Rear Derailleur (88%)
Camelbak M.U.L.E. (75%)
SRAM X9 Trigger Shifter (63%)
Park CN-10 Cable Cutter (63%)



Fox Head Flux 4.69 out of 5 based on 35 ratings. 35 user reviews.