Trek 4500

Follow  
AVERAGE RATING
4.80 out of 5
WHERE TO BUY   beta
MSRP: $520
Loading...
I Want One  
Rider Questions
 
Trek 4500 Videos (2)
 
Member Bikes
 
Builder
33 bikes
 
on Mar 23, 2014
2 weeks ago
on Sep 23, 2014
on Sep 7, 2014
on Aug 22, 2014
 
Top Rated Gear From Trek
Trek Fuel EX
Trek Paragon
Trek Superfly
Trek Rumblefish
Trek Remedy 9 29
Trek Stache 8
Trek Scratch Air 8
Trek Pro Pack Quick Cleat
+ Add review
 
cavermatthew on June 28, 2014
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Model/Year: 2000

Pros: light, durable, awesome ride

Cons: front derailleur, suspension is a tad bit mushy but that's it

Recommendation: yes great bike to start mtbing with

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
gingerw00ki3 on May 20, 2013
2 out of 2 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Lightweight, inexpensive, durable

Cons: Cassette went pretty quickly, no disc brakes (it is setup for them... So maybe a used set off Craigslist)

Recommendation: I'd buy it again!. I'm 6'1" and weigh 230lbs... I beat the hell out of mine... And have only had to have a new cassette/chain... I take it up and down falcon trail in co springs every week and it still holds up

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
rangertaylor935 on October 16, 2012
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Frame is light

Cons: All components are cheap, but it is a 500 dollar bike

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
jtorlando25 on June 2, 2010
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: price, strength, component quality

Cons: uncomfortable seat

Recommendation: This was my first mountain bike and I've been riding it hard for a year now. I'm 6 foot tall and not a lightweight at all and it has held up wonderfully.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
Guest on November 14, 2009
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Inexpensive, great componants, lasts a long time
Good bang for the buck

Cons: None

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
xzxsandmanxzx on September 6, 2009
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: its a good bike get me through the tough spots and can take a pretty good beating and its light

Cons: ive owned the bike since may of this year 09 and i have gone through 3 freewheel hubs a cassette one i am still waiting for to be covered under warranty its been three months

Recommendation: its a great entry level bike good for any one just getting into the sport but if you are hard on equipment maybe you need something more expensive

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
xpetey23x on June 26, 2009
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Strong Frame, smooth ride, suspension has adjustment and lock feature, good for price.

Cons: gear change "clunks" as far as seating... I've seen worse, but with padding in shorts, theres no problem.

Recommendation: my first quality bike, you pay what you get for. just proper maintenance and check ups on frame, it should last for a while. But desire to upgrade soon...

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
Guest on March 26, 2009
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Upgraded suspension to a Dart 3 with lockout. Light frame, solid construction.

Cons: Horrible seat, first thing to be replaced.

Recommendation: After upgrading from a ancient Trek 820 this year I can't believe how much easier life is with a aluminum frame. One of my riding buddies had a 4500 from a few years ago so I took the plunge and did a major upgrade. After the first few rides this year I can say its well worth the money. Smooth shifting and a great bike. The lockout feature on the Dart 3 is well worth the extra money if you do any sort of road or paved trail riding. MSRP is now $659 for the '09 year.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
lynchtm on March 26, 2009
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
raleighman91 on April 12, 2007
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: 24 gears good v brakes very light for the price

Cons: Bad Crank uncomfertable seat

Recommendation: buy if u want a hard tail thats pretty light

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
 
Trek 4500 4.80 out of 5 based on 10 ratings. 10 user reviews.