Schwinn S60 DSX Reviews

>

Schwinn S60 DSX

Avg Rating: (3.75) 12 gear reviews
MSRP: $250.00
Tags:
3 members own this 1 members want this
 

 
Description
? Men's 21 Speed Mountain Bike

? 26" Wheel Size Fits Most Adults; Heights Exceeding 62 Inches

? Disc Brakes

? Easy-Fire Shifters

? Made of Aluminum

? Adjustable Seat Height

? Recommended for Ages Adults

? Assembly Required

? Dimensions: 39" x 25" x 67" "
Read more...
 

Questions   [ask a question]

Note: You're not logged in. If you'd like to associate this post with your account, login now.
Ask a question
Notify me when anyone replies

Reviews

Guest on February 8, 2013
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Model/Year: 2011 S60 dsx

Pros: it hAS THE LOOK THAT APPEALS AND SATISFIES THE URGE TO DO SOME HEAVYTRAILRIDING WITH GREAT HANDILING.THE BREAK ON FRONT[DISC[DONT QUITE WORK LLIKE IT WOULD ON A HIGHEREND MT.BIKE...
BUT FOR THE PRICE WHO CAN COMPLAIN?I WILL SELL MY BIKE FOR 125.00$ IF YOU ARE LOCAL.OTHERWISE I CAN DELIVER IT FOR A NEGOTIATED GAS FEE...CALL 360-722-2061 LEAVE A MESSAGE FOR TYSON W/YOUR # SO I CAN RESPOND AFTER I GET OFF WORK...

Cons: NEEDS A MORE COMFORTABLE SEAT AND SOME EXTENDED GRIPS FOR THE HANDLEBARS...ALSO THE PLASTIC PETALS ARE EASY ON THE SHINS BUT GOT NEXT TO no GRIPON THEM.SUGGEST INVESTING IN FENDERS FOR BOTH FRONT AND BACK.

Recommendation: PURCHASE AND ENJOY THIS BIKE FOR A GREAT DEAL THE WHOLE FAMILY FROM TEENS TO ELDERLY WILL THANK YOU!WHY WAIT?

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
Guest on November 10, 2010
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: full suspension, better than other cheap target bikes.in expensive. decent shifters. decent wheels. cheap

Cons: disk brake is a joke! hardly stops.(I put v-brakes on and are much better) front shock sticks, I broke the rear axle on my second trail ride, a few months later the rear derailleur got twisted up on another trail. without hitting anything (on flat double track). freewheel not cassette. heavy!

Recommendation: Not ad bike for a beginner. although heavy, fairly nimble. not the best components. but the frame isn't that bad, and there is room to upgrade and make it a capable trail bike.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
Guest on March 23, 2010
0 out of 1 readers found this useful
 
Pros: This was my first mountain bike and it helped me determine what I really wanted in a bike. The S60 looks cool and despite being heavy it is a lot of fun to ride on tame trails and fire roads.

Cons: The first and largest con is weight. This bike is way too heavy. The second major con is quality of components. After one season of use on medium level trails my S60 fell apart. The wheels bent. The derailleur bent. The fork had to be replaced. It was a hot mess. I spent so much money replacing parts that I should have just purchased a higher quality bike to begin with.

Recommendation: The S60 is a great entry level bike. I do not recommend using it on any technical trails. However the S60 did get me into the sport and it helped me figure out what I really wanted in a bike. I've moved on to a Hard-tail Single Speed 29er, and I haven't looked back :-)

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
Guest on March 12, 2010
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: i work at target in the backroom an i build the bikes. i must say that out of all the bikes that we get that that one is the best one. i bought one myself. i was gonna spend alot more on a bike but this one came with some ok features an i figured i could get some better parts for it but the only problem is is that im having a hard time finding the parts that i would like for it such as sealed bearings an a rear disk brake. if anyone knows where i could get these parts at please let me know!!!!

Cons: it would be nice to have a rear disk brake.

Recommendation: i would deffinatly recommend this bike to anyone

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
Guest on February 8, 2013
0 out of 1 readers found this useful
 
Model/Year: 2011 S60 dsx Pros: I HAVE THE BIKE YOU NEED FOR ALL YOUR SPARE PARTS.... Cons: MY BIKE IS NEW AS OF X-MAS,I HAVE LET MY NEPHEW RIDE IT FREQUENTLY SINCE BUT NO DAMAGE ACCURED.POSSIBLY BETTER SHAPE THAN YOURS BUT EITHER CAN COME IN HANDY FOR FIXXING UP THAT CHARM OF A COMMUTER BIKE OR THE WEEKEND LEISURE AND EXERCISE EQUIPMENT... Recommendation: CALL ME SOON BEFORE IT SELLS FIRM 125.00$ BETTER HURRY I HAVE THIS POSTED TOO OTHERS REVEIWS WHOM PONDER THE THOUGFHT OF OWNING SUCH A SPLENDED TRAILBIKE!CALL 360-722-2061 LEAVE A MESSAGE W/YOUR NAME AND NUMBER SO I CAN REACH YOU WHEN I GET OFF WORK.
Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
Guest on February 2, 2013
0 out of 1 readers found this useful
 
Model/Year: 2011s60dsx Recommendation: Buy mine 4254040583 ask for tyson
Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
Guest on September 16, 2009
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Full suspension?, front disk brake,

Cons: Everything is very cheap, expect to replace parts. A bit small for me whom I would call an average adult male.

Recommendation: Given that you could spend hundreds and hundreds more on a bike with like features This bike is not so bad. It is just not in my budget to spend $1500 and get something that would make me truly happy. This bike by the way is not a true Schwinn for those of you like me who grew up thinking schwinn was a quality name, this bike is built overseas by a company called Pacific Cycle, they build pretty much all of the Wall-Mart brands. The first thing about this bike was when dropping off of a 2 foot ledge the rear shock nearly bounced me off of the bike. I examined the rear shock to find out that it is not actually a shock absorber it is just a spring and that metal thing that looks like a shock is not a shock at all, it just acts as a guide for the spring. So I am looking for a new good quality shock, and am finding these to be quite expensive. the front shock has leaked from the first time I rode it. It just seeps a little each time and I can tell by the build up of oily dirt. Eventually I will be replacing that too. the next item to cause a problem was the tires, they are just thin and while riding out where there is thorns I found myself walking it home with 2 flat tires. I knocked the front derailer and now sometimes the chain falls off the sprocket especially when I’m cranking it uphill I have ended up with some testicular trama. I have given up on tuning it up, no amount of adjusting and readjusting will get everything to work 100% perfect. And after spending an hour tuning it was better than the way it came from the store but like magic after the first ride it reverted back to its original state, so I have given up on tuning it and I just try to accept it the way it is.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
kokorozashi on August 3, 2009
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: East to find, inexpensive (roomie paid $200 for Target floor model with a couple of scratches), fairly light, springy suspension.

Cons: Seat isn't great, would prefer rear disc brake (but cantilevered brake works fine), roommate thinks gearing is too low.

Recommendation: First, in the interest of disclosure: this isn't my bike, it's my room-mate's. I commute by bike and only ride off-road once in a while, so I usually ride a light hybrid (a Schwinn Avenue, successor to a GT Arette which got stolen) with 700x38c tires.

However, he commutes by car, so I ride his bike whenever my bike is out of commission, and I do enjoy it.

My roomie wanted a mountain bike that would both suit his frame (he's 5' 7" and around 180 lbs of solid muscle) and let him keep up with me on my hybrid. He's also a bike novice: he hadn't been on a bike since he was a kid. We tried a lot of bikes both at big-box stores and bike stores, but had trouble finding a model that he really liked (excepting a couple that he thought were too pricey, since he wasn't 100% sure he wanted to make a lifetime commitment).

The S60 DSX proved to be a good fit: a comfortable, novice-friendly ride with enough muscle to handle light off-road riding -- exactly what he wanted.

I recently blew a tire on my hybrid, and it took me a couple of weeks to get around to replacing it. During that stretch, I have been riding this bike exclusively.

At first, I was a little worried that the weight would slow me down. However, this the S60 DSX proved surprisingly light, fast, and manoeuverable on the roadways. I did not find my morning commute to be appreciably more difficult, and found the low gearing useful for the long climb on my evening commute.

The S60 DSK is also a heck of a lot of fun off the road. I agree with TheFlyingIguana -- the suspension might be *too much* on a narrow, rocky track -- sometimes, you feel like you're floating, which can be a little nerve-wracking. However, it's great when you're faced with, for example, an unkempt alley full of potholes or a wide, bumpy, not-too-steep bike trail. I've also ridden this thing down stairs (long story), which was ridiculously fun (on my bike, it would be doable, perilous).

My room-mate complains that the low gearing makes it difficult for him to keep up with me on my hybrid. I've never tried to keep up with anyone on his bike, so my only complaint is that the gearing on this bike maxes out at a slightly lower speed than mine. However, the S60 DSX makes up for it when you need to haul your hiney up a steep hill on a sticky-hot Louisville afternoon.

Overall, I'd say that this is a good entry-level bike: the quality is pretty solid, and it has the bells and whistles that make riding in rough terrain comfortable. An experienced mountain bike rider would probably want something a little higher-end, but if you want to get your feet wet on a good bike without breaking the bank, the S60 DSX is a good choice.

Oh, and people apparently think it's one good-looking machine, as well. Even older fellows in their 60s and 70s seem to like it.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
Rawdawg on December 31, 2008
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: I got it from Target in May of 2007 for $150. The Blue and Silver one.. It was a return from somebody who disliked it. I saved over $100 on it.! I like the front disc brake and the looks and full suspension.

Cons: The sticker on the bike that states that it is not for off road use. Gears are way low. Front forks clunk when extended. Even though I am only 5'7", handlebars are too low and cant raise neck or bars up enough to keep excessive pressure off arms. Seat was Red along with Red grips, which did not match and seat was not ergo enough.

Recommendation: I hoe this "new" one will be better than the older model.......Ride one before you buy it.. Most stores have no problem letting you "check it out", so dont be shy .. I dont I would have been happy paing $250 for it due to performance..but dont try to buy a cheapo cause they will take the "fun" out of riding..

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
califcamper on December 21, 2008
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: CHEAAAAP!

Cons: TOO CHEAAAP!

Recommendation: just to let you know before you buy one of these go and buy a used s-20 for like a hundred bucks, its so much more worth your money. This is just to cheap of a bike and with an s-20 you'll get alot of pro parts like deore etc... check it out

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
NIGHTHAWKRSX on November 4, 2008
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: This bike is so sexy!!!!! I sold my DS Mongoose Omnicron ST that I have owned for 5 years just to get this bike. Sure I could have dropped more cash on the more expensive brands but what for I'm not a pro. I got this bike for 299 at target and love everthing about it. The suspension needs to be broken in otherwise its extremely well built. There are so many options that are present on this MTB that aren't on other bikes for the same price range. The shimano EZ fire shifters are smooth as butter. The bike was pre-assembled at TARGET so I had to make minor adjustments to the front and rear derallieurs.

Cons: Nothing yet, it would have been nice to have a rear disk brake to complement the front one but that's all.

Recommendation: Don't get the blackcomb get the DSX S60 trust me its a better bike.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
Tim-bob on September 18, 2008
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: I love the bike becuase of the fact that it has dual suspension and a front disk break. The weight... I really dont fully understand what the borders of a light and heavy mountain bike are, but it's not to heavy. Also all of my other friends like my bike becuase it simply looks so cool. Most importantly... It's CHEAP!

Cons: I'm no pro at mountain biking... in fact this is the first mountain bike ive had to take care of. The manual showed me how to fix problems with the derailears. The front derailear wouln't go into 3rd gear when i got the bike. Not hard to fix but there was a few other small things that was wrong with it. Actually another major problem was that the rear tire poped four times in a row in around 2 months. I kept it at the correct PSI and put the replacement tubes in. It was very wierd though, when I'd try to patch the tubes I'd usually find more holes int hem then what i knew what to do with. My latest innertube is guarenteed to work though and has lasted so far.

Recommendation: If it's your first mountain bike, or if your low on cash... get this bike!

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
mtbikeaholic on August 22, 2008
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: solid frame, affordable, somewhat light, decent components

Cons: the front derrailleur sucks-always getting out of adjustment, front shock is sub-par

Recommendation: i bought this bike because i'm a college student with a small budget. i ride a lot of trails on the way to class, but i wanted a cheap bike that i didnt have to worry about locking up on campus (like my specialized s works). its a great bike for the price and can easily be upgraded with parts laying around the garage. but remember, you do get what you pay for. great for those who are on a tight budget but still want a solid bike.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
TheFlyingIguana on May 26, 2008
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Only cost a little. Picked it up at Target. Looks cool. Light, Double Suspension, Disc Breaks, Trigger fire shifters, Gears that'll get a beginer like me up a 45 grade. Great tires that throw mud everywhere and have yet to be punctured though I knew I'd be walkin' out once our twice.

Cons: The suspension seems like it disconnects me from the trail. That's good sometimes (when I'm takin' a beatin'), and bad somtimes (Flyin' down a rocky, skinny singletrack).

Recommendation: Great beginer bike. It's allowed me to discover a sport that will continue to beat the crap out of me for years. If I hadn't liked it I'd have only been out $250 and would still have a pretty cool bike to ride to the store every now and then.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
 

Recommendations

Haro Flightline 3DX (100%)
Specialized Carve 2013 comp (100%)
Haro Flightline Two (100%)
Pivot Firebird (100%)
Shimano xtr m985 shadow plus (100%)