SRAM X9 Rear Derailleur Reviews

>

SRAM X9 Rear Derailleur

Avg Rating: (4.88 out of 5) 25 gear reviews
MSRP: $72.00
Tags: rear
43 members own this 5 members want this
 

 
Description
* Stylish and Strong! A forged 6061 aluminum B-Knuckle improves stiffness while the X.9 styling exudes our commitment to quality. X.9 is now available in three cage sizes.

* World Cup Proven Composite Cage

* Outside Facing Limit Screws - Intuitive Adjustment

* Sealed Bearing Upper Pulley

* Di.R.T: Direct Route Technology?

* 1:1 Actuation Ratio? Superior Shift Quality

* Weight: Short 212g / Medium 227g / Long 230g
Read more...
 

Questions   [ask a question]

Note: You're not logged in. If you'd like to associate this post with your account, login now.
Ask a question
Notify me when anyone replies

Reviews

trixxer on May 24, 2013
1 out of 1 readers found this useful
 
Model/Year: 2010

Pros: easy shifting
smooth

Cons: None so far

Recommendation: Works well and I have had zero issues with it.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
taletotell on December 21, 2013
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Model/Year: Never fails

Pros: I used mine for 4 years. No problems, always shifts true.

Cons: none

Recommendation: Get it.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
Nick_Zappa on December 12, 2013
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Model/Year: 2013

Pros: smooth shifting under load.

Cons: none

Recommendation: yes

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
bikeit420 on October 15, 2013
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Crisp shifting, light, 1:1 actuation is nice, shift crisp even under load

Cons: None so far

Recommendation: Great rear derailluer

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
beach_boy86 on December 16, 2012
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Model/Year: Short Cage 2009 & 2010

Pros: - Lightweight
- Crisp and quick shifting
- Strong cage spring
- Cost efficient

Cons: - No clutch system... yet

Recommendation: Shifts smooth and works flawlessly. Never had an issue with it. The short cage does have a very strong cage spring which translates into a lot less shifting issues. My X9's have seen a lot of wear and tear and their shifting remains smoother and more precise any any of Sram's lower models.

For my money I don't see the point of upgrading to X0 as it's almost twice as expensive without a significant performance increase.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
blundar on December 11, 2012
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Sturdy, smooth shifts, looks good, inexpensive.

Cons: non yet

Recommendation: This is the derailleur that came on my Airborne Zeppelin Elite. With wrapped up twigs, mud, and some abuse, it still runs strong with no problems so far. Highly recommended.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
KleinGuy on December 11, 2012
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Crisp Shifting
Looks good
Lightweight
Trouble Free

Cons: None

Recommendation: I have put my X9 through 3 seasons of racing and abuse and I haven't touched it! Shifts great all the time. Has a good solid feel when shifting between gears. Great product.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
JRLeyva on April 24, 2012
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Looks good, resistant and precise

Cons: Nothing yet

Recommendation: Itīs an all terrain derrailleur, you can go anywhere and it wonīt let you down.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
treky92 on March 29, 2012
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
sswandal on April 17, 2011
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Medium Cage is much better than long cage. Works much better in technical terrain.

Cons: Nothing yet.

Recommendation: Great product for the price and it appears to be very durable.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
DB4LYall on December 13, 2010
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Is a good all around rear Deraillur. I like the short cage though as you have more clearance in technical terrain.

Cons: Ghost shift.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
jbelmont on December 10, 2010
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Sram 1:1 is always precise and crisp. Stronger than the X0 and more resistant to stick hits.

Recommendation: Dependable durable derailleur. For people who don't like the fragility of the X0 but love its shifting.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
konacoiler on November 30, 2010
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Very strong, accurate shifting.

Cons: Nothing.

Recommendation: Dependable. After owning Shimano derailleurs for years and having to replace broken xts all of the time I am happy with my x-9 and will never go back

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
dustyg314 on November 29, 2010
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: great product at a great price

Cons: last to long,,how can I justify getting a cool new xo if this one never breaks!

Recommendation: mine has been had a hard life beat and bashed most of the logo is gone and it still works like it did when iy was new.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
dubinjs on November 29, 2010
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: works great, as it should

Cons: none yet

Recommendation: smooth and dependable shifting. Mine has taken a beating and still continues to perform the same as the day i got it.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
John Fisch on September 29, 2010
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: This is a great product--everything a RD should be.

Cons: None

Recommendation: 99% of the functionality of an X.0 at 40% of the price.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
Luli79 on September 28, 2010
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Works great, does what it is supposed to. not too expensive.

Cons: None for what it is.

Recommendation: Great rear mech that works well and is crisp shifting and looks clean.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
Asfyxiate on August 23, 2009
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Smooth shifting

Cons: Nothing so far.

Recommendation: To me, this is very close to the X-0. Just not costly. You will not be disapointed in this derailleur.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
mtbgreg1 on June 26, 2009
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: great derailleur, excellent shifting!

Cons: any derailleur can get busted up if you fall on it enough

Recommendation: love it! i need a new one though.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
bstill30 on June 13, 2009
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Quick shifting with the 1:1 action. Tough as nails and looks good too.

Cons: None.

Recommendation: Get this derailer if you like quick, crisp shifts all built into a rugged design.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
TMWJR777 on May 17, 2009
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: works

Cons: none

Recommendation: Good bang for your buck, works well for a reasonable price.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
Paragon1 on April 9, 2009
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: 1:1, Durability, VALUE!!!

Cons: none

Recommendation: Couldnt be happier, as a testament, a couple rides ago saw me pick up a small log that hooked a spoke and made a full revolution around my wheel! It bent the derailer hanger (i didnt notice it till i got to the store) and it was out of position by more than an inch. It still shifted perfectly! Good stuff.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
syd on September 27, 2008
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Nearly all the features of the X0 without the cost.

Cons: nothing

Recommendation: Wonderful shifter works great and very little chain slap with this compared with the shimano line up of derailleur's

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
Guest on September 15, 2008
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Very stylish and strong and hold up very well through my aggressive style riding. Once fine tuned, shifting is top notch & fluent. Great value also.

Cons: None

Recommendation: For anyone

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
tumbleweed14 on December 30, 2007
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Crisp shifting. Great design. Durable.

Recommendation: Going one step higher than this seems ridiculous for the to me, but I understand if you have a ton of money to burn or if you just want the most expensive stuff on your bike, then you would pass up the X-9s and go for the X-0s. The X-9 system is great and I have not damaged, replaced, or been dissapointed with either sets I have owned (one newer, one older). Crisp shifting and very reasonably priced. Great shifting. I can't justify paying mucho $$$ more for a little less weight and a little more show. I've ridden the X0s several times and never have regretting decknig my rides out with X-9 series.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
 

Recommendations

Fox Racing Shox Float RP23 (100%)
Kenda Nevegal (78%)
Fox Head Flux (78%)
* Mountain Bike Action (67%)
SRAM X9 Trigger Shifter (67%)



SRAM X9 Rear Derailleur 4.88 out of 5 based on 25 ratings. 25 user reviews.