Avid Juicy 7

Follow  
AVERAGE RATING
4.33 out of 5
WHERE TO BUY   beta
MSRP: $160
Loading...
I Want One  
Rider Questions
 
Avid Juicy 7 Videos (3)
 
Members' Gear
 
Owner
21 owners
 
  Icyrus Gnarly
 
 
Top Rated Gear From Avid
Avid BB7
Avid X0 Trail
Avid Elixir R
Avid Juicy Ultimate
Avid Code Disc Brake
Avid Rollamajig
Avid Elixir 9
Avid Avid G2CS
+ Add review
 
loonyone on September 6, 2014
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Very nice modulation Great stopping power

Cons: Tricky set up can produce ear-piercing squeal

Recommendation: I'd definitely buy these again and whenever I can find a deal on them. Would recommend to all, as long as patience is given when setting up with new pads.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
beach_boy86 on December 14, 2012
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Model/Year: Juicy 7 2008

Pros: - Great stopping power and modulation
- Pad contact adjustment
- Split clamp design
- Cheap

Cons: - Bleed process can be a pain
- Weight
- Not top loading pads

Recommendation: For the price you can't beat Juicy 7's. Even still these are my go to brakes for new builds. Avid just doesn't make them like they used to!

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
BhamJonathan on July 22, 2011
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Bleeding these brakes with the Avid Bleed Kit makes this process so easy anyone can do it.

Cons: Replacing pads can be pain if the piston gets stuck out.

Recommendation: I replace my hayses hydrolics to these and I've really been happy with the results. Yeah, there are times when the rotors will squell a lot but hey that just lets the deer know that I'm coming their way.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
steve32300 on November 30, 2010
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: I love hydraulic brakes and these juicy 7's work great,once adjusted and set they just keep on working...

Recommendation: These brakes are awsome,price is really good for these awsome performing brake set,would reccomend these to anyone....

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
el_cielo16 on March 30, 2010
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Easy to adjust. Modulate very well when taken the time to set them up right. More then enough strength, without over kill.

Cons: Nothing so far.

Recommendation: I really do love these brakes. They work really well for any dispaline of mtbing.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
bstill30 on June 13, 2009
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Adjustable reach and pad contact dial make personal setup a breeze.

Cons: Noisey at times

Recommendation: I run a 185 rotor front and rear on my trail bike and the stopping power with one finger is outstanding.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
syd on September 15, 2008
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Great feel, good power once aligned work great there are many pad choices for them

Cons: brake hoses are a bit thin and kink easy

Recommendation: recommend for most riders if you want light purchase Ti bolts

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
Guest on September 15, 2008
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Good all around brake system! Great stopping strength!

Cons: Toooo much sqealing from these brakes.

Recommendation: Also try Hayes

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
John Fisch on August 31, 2008
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Good all-around brake system. Not quite the lightest, most adjustable, or most powerful, but possibly the best combination of all three.

Cons: Still can't eliminate all the squealing.

Recommendation: This may be the best brake (that won't break the bank) for the all-around rider. I replaced my worn out Hayes El Caminos with these. They aren't quite as light and don't have the adjustability of the El Caminos, but they are more reliable/trouble free. The tradeoffs have been worth it.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
Sweetlife on October 7, 2007
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Good modulation, good stopping power, easy alignment.

Cons: Hmmm, my brakes take bouts of squealing every now and then, and yes I`ve tried just about everything imaginable to get them to stop.

Recommendation: Even with the occasional squealing, I wouldn`t hesitate to buy these brakes again.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
aabiking on October 7, 2007
0 out of 0 readers found this useful
 
Pros: Great stopping power.

Cons: Using the 07 rotor on the rear wheel makes these brake squeal something awfull.

Recommendation: Find different rotors.

Was this Review helpful? Yes | No
 
 
Avid Juicy 7 4.33 out of 5 based on 11 ratings. 11 user reviews.